$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
View map of 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JGW
Business
CH, NC
Feb 22, 2011

Great Price!

A quiet place to stay if you need to get away for one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Helen, FL
Jan 16, 2011

January Trip

I brought my daughter up to see One Tree Hill filming and to meet some of the actors. Hotel is conveniently located to travel around the town to different locations. Didn't spend much time at the hotel but for the cost, it was well worth it. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Inexpensive but comfortable.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Dec 21, 2010

Howard Johnson Express Inn Wilmington NC

it is ok, clean. very close to shopping ceter and about 2 miles from downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jacksonville nc
Nov 30, 2010

Great price and clean rooms

Good price, big room, great location, cant go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 13, 2010

Howard Johnson- Wilmington

We were there to visit a TV show set.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hickory nc
Nov 5, 2010

good stay

i worked nights and they let me check in when i needed because i was saying the week so that in in my book gives them an a+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California girl who loves Wilmington!
Business
California
Oct 1, 2010

Satisfied returning customer

This is our second time staying here and we have been satisfied both times. Location is centralized, price is right. Only thing is that we put the do not disturb sign up til noon when we left for the day and they never came back later in the afternoon to clean the room. Other than that, we are totally satisfied once again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
myrtle beach
Sep 27, 2010

Clean room at a great price

The staff was very friendly and the room was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Helen, FL
Aug 14, 2010

Summer Wilmington Trip

Basically used room as home base as we traveled throughout the city during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Aug 6, 2010

The Price Isn't Right

Booked the room for a couple days at the beach. I was freaking out when we pulled into the parking lot because the hotel looked really shabby from the outside (not how it looked in the pic. on the website). I was relieved when I opened the door to the room b/c it was ok. Reasonably clean with nice carpet and decent bedding. The price was a bit high b/c it looks so bad on the outside, there isn't a pool and the continental breakfast is PITIFUL!!My husband, inlaws and I joked and joked about that breakfast. The room they serve bfast in is a drab dump. No decoration, dirty blinds & no TV. Just ICKY. Food wise, no waffles, stale cereal, milk and OJ in dirty glass pitchers. Luke warm "hot" water both days so so much for even oatmeal. Then there's this hilarious tall clear plastic cabinet with 2 empty bottom shelves and the top shelf has some plain old Dollar General looking white bread. Lets not forget the napking are stored in a lovely Christmas basket. The best part is the handwritten sign that says "Dine-in Only." Please... I'm sorry but that breakfast just killed me! So don't think you're gonna save a buck on bfast b/c you will be eating out!! I would have felt better if I had paid 20 bucks less for this room. Oh, and don't sit on that rickety old picnic table either. Especially with a cup of coffee in your hand. On the up side, I felt safe, it was a quiet place and the owners smiled a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hieronymous is a seafood restaurant on Market Street that is just awesome. Sit on the back porch, play ping pong and drink a Southern Weekender while you wait on your awesome seafood (blackened scallops are killer). Also, Wrightsville Beach is more flat than Carolina Beach so there isn't a sudden drop off & the waves are just right, especially for kids!

Back to menu Return to top