$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
View map of 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse Trudy
Business
Asheboro, NC, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Pretty Good

We went 4 a college visit & didn' t want 2 b 2 far away from anything. We were happy where we were. The staff was very, very pleasent & helpful. We will return 2 them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Always hit the beach first

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flip Flop Summer
Business
Apex, NC
Sep 9, 2011

Small but Quaint

This HoJo lite was centrally located and provide a good place to sleep. No work out room, no pool, but beach and shopping is 15 min away. Continental breakfast was a bust; make plans to hit a local spot. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were small but clean and as usual the TV had 57 channels but nothing on. So if you go to the beach to hit the gym, pool or watch TV, find another place, if you are looking for a quite place to sleep - HoJo Lite is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsboro, NC, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Comfortable for a weekend geaway

rooms are clean, breakfast was low key, Overall was ok for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close proximity to Shopping, Dining and the Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point NC
Aug 4, 2011

business trip

Business trip. Working in wilmington nc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love Wilmington NC. Lots of restaurants near the hotels. Cheap rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown, NY
Jul 28, 2011

[...]

The wrong hotel was NOT in a very nice area, I would never had stayed there even if it was the right location. It smelled awful. Horrible stench of cigarette smoke and god knows what else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sanford, NC
Jul 27, 2011

Extremely basic

Friendly people at front desk. Room was pretty small and old. Kitchenette is not what expected. Restroom cleanup needs to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I traveled with my 3-year old daughter and had lots of things to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston Salem, NC
Jul 22, 2011

Howard Johnson Express Inn Wilmington NC

Not a four star hotel but I would definitely stay there again. Very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Five minutes from downtown Wilmington....short, easy, straight shot from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AEC
Business
Columbia, MO
Jun 29, 2011

Would NOT recommend!

Not a good place to stay. Location is central, but that's it. The box spring on my bed had tape on the side of it, there were hairs in the bath tub, no pool, etc. I only put up with it because it was a package deal. It did no make my trip enjoyable. The place needs to be completely redone. The staff that checked me in was nice, but the hotel is horribly out of date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake City, Florida
Jun 24, 2011

Great location

We could not have found a better place with regard to location, price, and most of all the kindness and the helpfulness of the staff. Our room was clean but the motel was old and well used. It was under outside renovation, so the motel is being renovated. We enjoyed our stay for two days, instead of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

USS North Carolina was a great attraction to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
winston salem nc
Jun 5, 2011

great weekend

I believe it was family owned. Everyone was so helpful and nice. Our room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top