$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
View map of 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goodmanjr821
Business
quaker city ohio
Oct 20, 2012

work

hotel was ok pretty close to a train track and the toilot ran non-stop room was clean free brekfast was really cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob397
Business
Tennessee
Mar 25, 2013

Great Staff, but run down and dirty...

First room smelled like urine. 2nd room - no odors, but run down and in need of a good cleaning. Bed was comfortable and bedding was clean, but rest of room's condition and lack of cleanliness made you wary of "what you were going to leave with" when you checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike Wilmington
Business
Wilmington, NC
Mar 17, 2013

Good for what you pay

The people at the front desk were nice and helpful. The room was clean. Only stayed for one night but it was fine for 56 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Wrightsville Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just3bells
Business
Goldsboro,NC
Jan 13, 2013

Birthday runaway

It was cool... Just what I needed... I will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
V.T.X.
Business
San Jose, California
Jan 13, 2013

Good spot a little sketchy

The wifi was slow. HBO WAS NOT ON THE TV AS PROMISED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy beer and hole up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
supdog
Business
Raleigh
Nov 12, 2012

Howard Johnson

Meet my expectations for the price, remote control didnt work and was awaken each night by a train! Overall, I sept good and would stay again for the money saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many dining loacations to choose from!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrettS
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 22, 2012

Just as expected!

Nice location and fairly priced. Wish I had known about the train and train whistles that pass right behind the hotel all night long. Bring your earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Japanese Fusion/Sushi restaurant a couple blocks west of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goodmanjr821
Business
quaker city ohio
Oct 20, 2012

work

hotel was ok pretty close to a train track and the toilot ran non-stop room was clean free brekfast was really cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Linds
Business
West Virginia
Aug 25, 2012

college dropoff

Fine for the price. Good location to get to UNCW and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Madam Ruthie
Business
pennsylvania
Aug 18, 2012

quick beach trip

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, gave me more towels upon request and anything I needed. I was really impressed with the service and smiles :) unfortunately my only complaint is that my room smelled really awful. I just bought some deodorizer and made the best. I was really only in the room to sleep and shower anyway. For what I paid it seemed fair. And I can't express enough how friendly the staff was :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Indochine restaurant was fantastic! Great service! Felt like I was at home, great good, wonderful atmosphere, higher end dining at a decent price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M Couple
Business
Wisconsin
May 23, 2012

1 night stay

We stayed here for one night on our way to Virginia. I am glad it was only one night! It was dingy and not very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top