$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
144 reviews
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Inexpensive Wilmington hotel near airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.2413 -77.8981
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
supdog
Business
Raleigh
Nov 12, 2012

Howard Johnson

Meet my expectations for the price, remote control didnt work and was awaken each night by a train! Overall, I sept good and would stay again for the money saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many dining loacations to choose from!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrettS
Asheville, NC
Oct 22, 2012

Just as expected!

Nice location and fairly priced. Wish I had known about the train and train whistles that pass right behind the hotel all night long. Bring your earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Japanese Fusion/Sushi restaurant a couple blocks west of the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goodmanjr821
Business
quaker city ohio
Oct 20, 2012

work

hotel was ok pretty close to a train track and the toilot ran non-stop room was clean free brekfast was really cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Linds
West Virginia
Aug 25, 2012

college dropoff

Fine for the price. Good location to get to UNCW and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Madam Ruthie
pennsylvania
Aug 18, 2012

quick beach trip

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, gave me more towels upon request and anything I needed. I was really impressed with the service and smiles :) unfortunately my only complaint is that my room smelled really awful. I just bought some deodorizer and made the best. I was really only in the room to sleep and shower anyway. For what I paid it seemed fair. And I can't express enough how friendly the staff was :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Indochine restaurant was fantastic! Great service! Felt like I was at home, great good, wonderful atmosphere, higher end dining at a decent price!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moving Kelly
Pennsylvania
May 23, 2012

Just another aging motel

No refridge in room,was put in room next day after prompts to staff. Wi-fi a problem to connect to, had to ask staff for help and finally someone got it done. Language - difficult to understand some staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good eats close by ie. the Goody Goody

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M Couple
Wisconsin
May 23, 2012

1 night stay

We stayed here for one night on our way to Virginia. I am glad it was only one night! It was dingy and not very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse Trudy
Asheboro, NC, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Pretty Good

We went 4 a college visit & didn' t want 2 b 2 far away from anything. We were happy where we were. The staff was very, very pleasent & helpful. We will return 2 them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Always hit the beach first

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flip Flop Summer
Apex, NC
Sep 9, 2011

Small but Quaint

This HoJo lite was centrally located and provide a good place to sleep. No work out room, no pool, but beach and shopping is 15 min away. Continental breakfast was a bust; make plans to hit a local spot. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were small but clean and as usual the TV had 57 channels but nothing on. So if you go to the beach to hit the gym, pool or watch TV, find another place, if you are looking for a quite place to sleep - HoJo Lite is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flip Flop Summer
Apex, NC
Sep 9, 2011

Small but Quaint

This HoJo lite was centrally located and provide a good place to sleep. No work out room, no pool, but beach and shopping is 15 min away. Continental breakfast was a bust; make plans to hit a local spot. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were small but clean and as usual the TV had 57 channels but nothing on. So if you go to the beach to hit the gym, pool or watch TV, find another place, if you are looking for a quite place to sleep - HoJo Lite is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top