$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
View map of 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big GMo
Business
So Orange County, California
Mar 25, 2014

Smoke out!

My stay was average to less than avg. Even after requesting Non-smoking room, I checked in to a fairly vacant motel complex, only to be greeted by a cloud of stink/smoke upon opening room. I called front desk, and nite clerk appeared argumentative about being in a "smoking room", as this was a "Non-smoking" room. I could understand that perhaps last guest didn't obey "non-smoking" policy, but to have clerk argue?? At any rate, he did switch us to adjacent room later that eve. (A no brainer, given that there was vacancy galore? I only saw one other room being occupied during stay) Also, Ck In clerk wanted to charge for extra person even though there was no availability to extra cot/bed. (for my military son) until the next day, as "personnel was not avail to get bed..." Really? W/no one but one more room being used, he couldn't have gotten his butt out to get it himself? He appeared to be a self serving bleep. ! The next few nites, the clerk (She) was far more friendly, and receptive to requests (fresh towels, etc) unlike the first one. (Pakistani/Indian male?) The manager also appear to be more receptive, and friendly at checkout. And appeared to be thankful that I'd mentioned the "smoke" debacle? The couple that went around cleaning rooms were nice, but couldn't communicate all that well? Or perhaps playing dumb? Jury still out on that one.... Only reason I'd recommend this Hotel/Motel, is for the central location, and for the fact that the Mgr did convey that there are long term cheaper rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daisy777
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 13, 2013

HOTEL WAS DIRTY AND FRONT DESK STAFF WAS RUDE

The lady at the front desk who checked me in was the rudest I have ever encountered during travelling. She would not even acknowledge my questions and rolled her eyes when I asked about the area and the drive to the airport. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandondeener
Business
Maryland
Aug 27, 2013

For the price okay

For the price it's a good deal, don't expect a good breakfast and be prepared for 1 or 2 roaches but like I said for the price it's okay for a one night fast stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Mom x too
Business
North Carolina, USA
Aug 9, 2013

Not what I expected

I booked this hotel online. The online pictures are not like the actual hotel, which is somewhat deceiving. Overall I was not happy so I left the same day and checked into another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nanita
Business
Charlotte
Jul 30, 2013

You can do better

forget about the continental breakfast or wi-fi. Cell phone reception is horrible there are no amenities Hotel is fairly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LorraineMarie427
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 24, 2013

Not great

This hotel is a little worn and old. It's not horrible, but I would not stay there again. I really didn't like the location except that it was close to the Wilmington airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Voyageur Gaia
Business
Orleans, France
May 23, 2013

Cannot expect much more for the price

Just regular motel. Rooms are quite old and need to be refreshed. But price is cheap so there is nothing special to complain about. We got a very simple breakfast. Internet was working well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jodie S
Business
brookeville, MD
Apr 28, 2013

decent room

good for a college visit, nice staff, good clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

beach is only a ten minute drive

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not sunburned
Business
West Jefferson, NC
Apr 3, 2013

Worked for us

We were looking for an affordable room at the last minute near enough to the beach. This was affordable and had what we needed without much in the way of extras. We slept well and spent our days at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooksniki
Business
Wilmington, nc
Apr 1, 2013

Good hotel for price.

Good hotel for price. Decent rooms, pretty clean. Located in convientient area of Wilmington that's pretty close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top