$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

2 stars
3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Everything was fine

The room was nice and clean, the location is good, so we were really satisfied! See full review

  • Sassenach
  • Jan 5, 2010
Great Value

The Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington is a small one level motor court that is very well... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2008
Inexpensive Wilmington hotel near airport with free breakfast, Wi-Fi
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is located on busy Market Street in Wilmington, N.C. The hotel features free continental breakfast each day, free high-speed wireless Internet, and clean guest rooms with HBO, microwaves and refrigerators. Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington is within easy reach of such popular North Carolina attractions such as Wrightsville Beach, Carolina Beach, USS North Carolina, University of North Carolina Wilmington and Wilmington International Airport, less than four miles away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Close to popular attractions
Rooms
Clean guest rooms at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington offer one or two double beds with floral bedspreads and neutral furnishings. Rooms also provide refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers, cable TV with HBO, hair-dryers, toiletries and free local calls. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Select rooms feature kitchenettes and work desks.
Features
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests chat online, surf the Web and keep up with email on free Wi-Fi. Couples, families and business travelers staying at the hotel often visit television sound stages at nearby Screen Gem Studios. Guests also shop and dine downtown on Wilmington Riverwalk, or relax on white sands at Wrightsville Beach, only minutes away. The University of North Carolina Wilmington, is less than three and a half miles from the hotel.
Dining
Howard Johnson Express Inn – Wilmington guests eat free continental breakfast each morning consisting of pastries, coffee, tea and juice over their free copy of USA Today. From the hotel location on bustling Market Street, guests can walk or drive to nearby restaurants include Goody Goody Omelet House, Lucky Star Chinese, Taco Bell and Hookah Cafe.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Screen Gems Studio (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • UNC Wilmington (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • USS North Carolina (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Carolina Beach (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Copy and fax service
  • Free local calls and USA Today newspapers
  • Select rooms feature work desks
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.2413 -77.8981
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travln man
Business
RALEIGH NC
Jun 24, 2014

needed a place for the night

It was fairly cheap, but it was a little dirty. breakfast was sub-par. But I did sleep well, so it's ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chic Summer Mom
Wilmington, NC
Jun 16, 2014

Father's day Weekend

The "motel" is very old and ugly, looks cheap. Nothing like the pictures on the website, which were probably taken when the motel was new (a couple of decades ago). The "breakfast" was a disaster. The bed covers were dirty (or stained). The place did not look nor smelled clean. The carpets have not been vacuumed in a while. There was hair on the shower. Paid 2 nights, but only stayed 1 night... Will not recommended...You can find nicer places for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jon13
Pittsburgh pa
Jun 2, 2014

visiting family

Very unkept. The hotel staff were very rude and unhelpful while checking in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big GMo
So Orange County, California
Mar 25, 2014

Smoke out!

My stay was average to less than avg. Even after requesting Non-smoking room, I checked in to a fairly vacant motel complex, only to be greeted by a cloud of stink/smoke upon opening room. I called front desk, and nite clerk appeared argumentative about being in a "smoking room", as this was a "Non-smoking" room. I could understand that perhaps last guest didn't obey "non-smoking" policy, but to have clerk argue?? At any rate, he did switch us to adjacent room later that eve. (A no brainer, given that there was vacancy galore? I only saw one other room being occupied during stay) Also, Ck In clerk wanted to charge for extra person even though there was no availability to extra cot/bed. (for my military son) until the next day, as "personnel was not avail to get bed..." Really? W/no one but one more room being used, he couldn't have gotten his butt out to get it himself? He appeared to be a self serving bleep. ! The next few nites, the clerk (She) was far more friendly, and receptive to requests (fresh towels, etc) unlike the first one. (Pakistani/Indian male?) The manager also appear to be more receptive, and friendly at checkout. And appeared to be thankful that I'd mentioned the "smoke" debacle? The couple that went around cleaning rooms were nice, but couldn't communicate all that well? Or perhaps playing dumb? Jury still out on that one.... Only reason I'd recommend this Hotel/Motel, is for the central location, and for the fact that the Mgr did convey that there are long term cheaper rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daisy777
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 13, 2013

HOTEL WAS DIRTY AND FRONT DESK STAFF WAS RUDE

The lady at the front desk who checked me in was the rudest I have ever encountered during travelling. She would not even acknowledge my questions and rolled her eyes when I asked about the area and the drive to the airport. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandondeener
Maryland
Aug 27, 2013

For the price okay

For the price it's a good deal, don't expect a good breakfast and be prepared for 1 or 2 roaches but like I said for the price it's okay for a one night fast stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Mom x too
North Carolina, USA
Aug 9, 2013

Not what I expected

I booked this hotel online. The online pictures are not like the actual hotel, which is somewhat deceiving. Overall I was not happy so I left the same day and checked into another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nanita
Charlotte
Jul 30, 2013

You can do better

forget about the continental breakfast or wi-fi. Cell phone reception is horrible there are no amenities Hotel is fairly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
runnergal
nc
Jul 16, 2013

less than impressed

We were extremely unimpressed. The promised wifi only worked if you were sitting in the lobby, I found a roach crawling across my tv screen the first night. Wallpaper is peeling off the walls. The microwave took 30 minutes to heat a 3 min dinner. The refrigerator buzzed all night and barely kept anything cold. The sheets were clean. That is the only positive thing I have to say. We decided not to stay the last night and they refused to refund our rate for the last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

flaming amy's burrito barn is a fun, quirky little place with kid friendly games and a unique alternative to the big chain restaurants.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LorraineMarie427
Pennsylvania
Jun 24, 2013

Not great

This hotel is a little worn and old. It's not horrible, but I would not stay there again. I really didn't like the location except that it was close to the Wilmington airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search