$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

2 stars
5040 Market Street, US 17 & US 74, Wilmington, NC 28405
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
124 reviews
Room decent, staff friendly, bed comfortable

This is a decent hotel at a good rate. The front desk staff were very nice. It has a really nice... See full review

  • Toni Rex
  • Oct 13, 2014
Two night stay

I was pleased with this Days Inn. Check in was fast and the gentleman who helped us was nice. Our... See full review

  • Family on a budget.
  • Aug 8, 2014
Affordable Wilmington hotel close to beach, airport with free Wi-Fi
Five-Sunburst, Chairman Award-winning Days Inn Wilmington – Market Street is located just off Route 76 in Wilmington, N.C. Convenient to Wilmington International Airport and five miles from Wrightsville Beach, Days Inn Wilmington – Market Street puts guests within easy reach of local attractions like University of North Carolina, Wilmington, Screen Gems Studio and Cape Fear Museum. Guests swim in the outdoor pool and can catch up with email using free high-speed wireless Internet. Jeanette's Family Restaurant and lobby gift shop are on-site.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • Guest laundry room
Rooms
Rooms at the Days Inn Wilmington – Market Street are clean and quiet, and offer smoking or nonsmoking options. Accommodations include a queen or two double beds, free Wi-Fi, refrigerators, microwaves, dressers, coffee-makers, free local calls and television with expanded cable, including HBO. Bathrooms come with full-size tubs, toiletries, hair-dryers and ample counter space. Pets are accepted for a nightly fee, and rooms with recliners and desks are available.
Features
Days Inn Wilmington – Market Street offers tons of value for its location off Route 76. The hotel is convenient to a variety of shopping and dining options in addition to popular attractions like Wrightsville Beach, Screen Gems Studio and UNC Wilmington. After a day at the beach or sightseeing, guests swim in the refreshing outdoor pool. Guests take care of cleaning their wardrobes in the coin-operated laundry room and buy souvenirs from the lobby gift shop.
Dining
Days Inn Wilmington – Market Street guests dine at Jeanette's Family Restaurant on-site for American and Southern classic dishes.
Transportation
  • Wilmington International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
Attractions
  • UNC Wilmington (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Screen Gems Studio (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Cape Fear Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Bellamy Mansion (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Wilmington Riverwalk (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Jungle Rapids Family Park (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Children's Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Wrightsville Beach (5 mi/8 km)
  • USS North Carolina (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Carolina Beach (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
  • On-site business center
Policies and fees
Pets are allowed for a $15 USD per night fee. Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Rollaway beds, cribs and infant beds may be available and should be requested at the time of booking, and fees may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required upon check-in for incidental charges. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via the web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, N.C.
Oct 1, 2009

Stay Some Where Else

Loud,drunken people outside rooms and parking lots. Complaints to management was no help. Do yourself a favor; stay somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Taebolily
Business
Casselberry, FL
Apr 7, 2010

You Get What You Pay For

My husband and I traveled from Orlando to Wilmington, NC. This was a long drive and was excited that we were able to get a room close to my brother's address. I booked this room on the Internet. It was for one night only, how bad could it be? Famous last words. We asked for a NON-SMOKING room. We were "given" was a non-smoking room. Unfortunately, not the case. Because the A/C was cranked up, only a faint smoke smell could be detected. (My husband is allergic to cigarette smoke. I get a slight roughness in my throat, but nothing to the coughing that my husband experiences.) We turned the A/C down to see how bad the smell was. As soon as the A/C wore off, you can smell the smoke, loud and clear. Unhappy with that room, we returned to the front desk and asked for a different room. [...] the front desk person apologized and accommodated us with a another room. He confessed that when people check in and they're close to filling the whole hotel, they do rent the room out to smokers who "promise" to mot smoke in the room. Walking back to the new room, we noticed a family in room 213 who was smoking in a non-smoking room. Some stood outside with an ashtray and others stayed in the room. My hopes for the new room was not very encouraging. Sure enough, when we opened the door, there was that faint smoke smell. My husband thought he'd be alright, so we stayed. Bad choice. We turned the A/C down because it was too cold inside. As the night went on , the smoke smell got worse, My husband coughed continuously. By 7:30am the next day, we were checked out of the hotel room. We went and told the Front Desk Manager. She truly seemed sorry. But because we reserved the room via Internet through a 3rd party, I was not going to get a refund. She did promised in the future, to police the non-smoking rooms for smokers and have them pay a fine if they are caught smoking. That's nice and all, but with us facing another trip to Virginia Beach, Virginia we hoped we were able to sleep in a little bit before hitting the road. There are many other choices. Stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an IHOP just down the street (10mins) that is fast, courteous, and very inexpensive. The food is good and if you happen to be there on a Tuesday night kids under 12 eat free. There's so many restaurants and bars so you have a big selection but if you are looking for something fast and off of I-40, IHOP is for you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don R
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Hotel was in an area that was not safe.

The worst hotel experience I've ever had. It was located in a very bad part of town. More restaurants and businesse were boarded up. It was a scary experience. This is in street gang territory. Most businesses have left. I had to wait until it was day light to leave my room. The rooms were way in the back of the hotel. NOT GOOD!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tina may
Business
Georgetown de
Jul 2, 2012

Rude staff

The staff at the front desk was very rude. The room was not ready by check in time. Staff was not helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WILLLIS
Business
Gainesville, GA
Dec 28, 2012

handicap access needs MUCH improvement

still has tub in handicap room; 2 older persons (over 80 years); both with mobility problems, had great difficulity with bath. bed small & hard. with the rain handicappped parkikng was big puddle. added a $15 daily charge for a 10 pound dog that spent ALL his time in the room in his travel box. THIS WAS ONE OF OUR WORST MOTEL EXPERIENCES!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lsherr01
Business
Salisbury, NC
Apr 19, 2010

not thrilled

first of all, did not realize that this was a motel instead of a hotel, room was to be non-smoking, but as soon as I opened the door, I could smell that someone had been smoking in this room; a large gap in the front door let in too much sun, so I used the dry cleaning bad to stuff into it, room was to be wifi also and was not, very noisy patrons beeping car horns very early in the morning and being loud all hours of the night and early morning, had someone knocking on our door at around 10 on Friday night. I was traveling alone with my Autistic son and did not feel safe, the desk staff was friendly enough except the 2 times I called on the phone, the attitude was more sarcastic. The first time I called was to inquire about the wifi and the man said to find a strong signal, well I have been in many hotel rooms and usually there is a wifi # to call to get connected or at least an RJ45 port to plug in a computer, this room had neither. The 2nd call was to ask where the vending machines were and the lady was rather sarcastic telling me they were around the corner from my room (which they were actually down the hall and around the corner.) When I checked out and complained that random people were knocking on our door, the lady at the desk stated that they may be looking for friends... well, couldn't they pick up the phone and call the front desk to inquire what room their friends were in? This stay did not leave me with a good impression of Days Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Feb 21, 2011

Family Visit

Hotel was very noisy, and TV/Remote did not work. Overall, not a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

To one of the nicest beaches on the east coast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Islip, NY
Apr 8, 2008

Sorry

I checked in with the small window that was provided. I want to my room were I found my tub full of water?? There was a odor and a large gap under the door. I woke in the morning with some type of bug bites and asked the front desk if I could cancel my room. I then spen the next two night else were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sticky Fingers next door had great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Klondike
Business
Benson, NC
May 14, 2012

One night Stay

Hotel is old fashion, simple room, cold A/C and clean. Ok for a quick fix but it is not a real budget saver. Has a restaurant on site that had nice breakfast menu, but no complementary service. We stayed here for UNCW graduation services because we waited to late to make other arrangements. It will due in a pinch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Wilmington - Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stephentoher
Business
Virginia Beach
Sep 30, 2013

Stay in Wilmington, NC

We were disapointed. We specifically requested a non smoking room, but were told that our request hadn't come through on the site we booked the hotel through. We were given a choice of 3 smoking rooms, two which we couldn't even walk into. All our clothes and bags smell like smoke. The room was clean, but clearly in need of updating. Rug had holes in it. The bed was comfortable, but we wouldn't choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top