$70 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Comfort Inn University

2 stars
View map of 151 S. College Rd., Wilmington, NC 28403

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
25 reviews
Great for the family mini vacation to the beach

Could not be more pleased with the stay. Will Definitely book again. See full review

  • Jones family NC
  • Jul 5, 2012
Overall good experience

Booked a non-smoking room, then arrived and all they had were smoking-they fixed it and all was... See full review

  • shannon super traveller
  • Aug 20, 2012
Centrally located between historic downtown Wilmington and beautiful Wrightsville Beach, our hotel is located only 10 minutes from most major sites in the area. Also located 3 blocks from the UNCW campus. Free Gold's Gym passes, free local calls, free deluxe continental breakfast, free in-room coffee and in-room irons all help to make one's stay feel like home away from home - true Southern hospitality. Rooms have limited availability of Fridge-Microwave so please check with front desk if you need one. Fridge-Micro are subject to availability so we might not be able to meet every requests. Must have at least one guest age 21 or older to rent rooms. Pet accommodation: 30.00 USD per night, per pet. Pet limit: 2 pets per room, maximum of 75 pounds. Unattended pets must be confined to cage or pet carrier. Hotel has a cash deposit policy for EVERY cash paying guests. Please check with the hotel directly for deposit amount. Hotel DOES NOT RENT local residers within the 35-miles radius of the hotel. Hotel wll refuse reservations coming from within the 35-miles radius.

Top hotels

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn University

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.6

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wise when Traveling
Business
From Tennessee
Dec 3, 2014

Thanksgiving Stay

I must say, I had a very good experience in staying at this hotel this past Thanksgiving holiday week. Not only did I stay, but several of my siblings as well. The price was very fair for our room. The staff was excellent. Shalinda and the entire front desk staff were always ready to be of assistance. The breakfast hostess was friendly and always kept the area well stocked for everyone. The others patrons we met there were equally frendly and seemed to have enjoyed their stay as well. I would stay here again at the rate I recieved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The desk clerks were knowledgeable in explaining the attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Expr World Traveler
Business
North Carolina
Sep 8, 2014

Very Messy

I saw that this hotel was under renovation a couple of months back and was told by management staff that the renovations where finishing up and should be complete by the time of my arrival. A Big Wrong. Many parts of the hotel had not been completed nor had they been start in their project. Construction contractors where living at the hotel in hotel rooms and seemed to work every day from sunup to late into the evening. The pool and patio area had not been cleaned in weeks even though staff swore that it had done a major cleaning just 2 days before our visit. It did not show at all. Their Idea of a hot breakfast needs some improvement. and they need to keep track of expiration dates on food because some of the food was spoiled or soured. In our visit we thought that we would enjoy the pool and patio but they were unacceptable to use. I have stayed at Comfort Inn's and will not choose this particular one again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
larrypnhrst
Business
Pinehurst, NC
Aug 11, 2014

Hotel

THe hotel was to be renovated by March 2014 but was still under repair. Our room was supposed to done but had several items that where missed on any punch list of a reputable renovator. Too many items to mention. Save your time and money on this cheap re-due. Also vessel sink is a bad idea especially for short people or children on a std height cabinet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Reel House in downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UNCW Student Relative
Business
Northern Virginia
Jun 22, 2014

Close to the University

I came to this hotel to attend a university event and stayed two night. The place is still undergoing renovations and it still needs a lot of work. The location is a little tricky to navigate, and the parking lot left a lot to be desired, and as a single woman, I did not find it secure to walk in at night. I wish the hotel was smokefree. A lot of people congregate around the front door and smoke, and the elevator reeked of smoke. On the plus side, the bed linens were deluxe, and it's always welcome to have a refrigerator in the room. And the sodas cost only a dollar in the machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travels on a Whim
Business
Virginia
Apr 20, 2014

Served the purpose for my trip

Just needed a place to stay while visiting for one night. It served this purpose. I likely wouldn't have chosen this site if planning to stay for more than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SMFY
Business
NYC
Mar 31, 2014

Super average.

Nothing special, but not bad. The only major problem was that the wifi is hot garbage and wavers from barely functional to not working at all for hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FaridH
Business
Abilene TX
Oct 26, 2013

Do not make this mistake!

The hotel is very dirty My last night I was called around midnight and told by the management that The travel agent had not paid for my last night there and that I had to repay for the night or leave immediately. I had to get dressed and go down and confront them. After an hour on the phone with the travel site, they accepted that I had paid. The next morning they tried to charge me again. They are rude, disorganized, and apathetic. I asked for the owners name. They refused to give me any information. Don't do it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BusinessTraveller89
Business
North Carolina
Oct 26, 2013

Work in Process

The hotel is currently undergoing a much needed face lift. The price and location were right, the facelift is overdue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LTCRET
Business
H8pkinton, MA
Oct 15, 2013

Hotel Sub-standard

Shower head, faucet and spigot in tub all loose. Carpet throughout hotel dingy. Wall boards hanging off wall and laying on floor...at least on 3rd floor. Breakfast was a wreck. Milk in refrigerator was outdated and sour. Micro-waveable breakfast sandwiches. TV in Magnolia Room, where breakfast served, no reception. Coffee, tea in a separate room down the hall. In their defense, they are renovating, but honestly, they should charge no more than $25 per nite for that expeerience. I have had a better experience at no-name hotels along the interstate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DNel
Business
New Jersey
May 13, 2013

Bed Bugs

I stayed here with family. We traveled from New Jersey. The room was ok it was not a five star - you get what you pay for! On our last night there, my cousin noticed bite marks on her legs, we couldn't figure out where they came from. Later on that night we spotted a bed bug in the bathroom! YUCK! We left right after!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top