$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 8, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

2 stars
2501 South Saunders St, Raleigh, NC 27603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
14 reviews
very convenient for my needs

The room was clean and the staff was cooperative. The motel was convenient for my travel needs. ... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2007
fun getaway

The hotel was comfortable, clean and spacious. I wish the lights would have been a little brighter,... See full review

  • your average woman
  • Mar 18, 2013
Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South has Easy Access On/Off I-40 and is 1.5 miles from Downtown Raleigh and the historic sites. We offer a complimentary Super Start Breakfast, Free High Speed Internet and are Convenient to Restaurants, Shopping and Fuel Stations. N.C. State University is 1/2 miles, Shaw University 1/4 miles, Lake Wheeler 5 Miles, RGA Golf Course 0.25 miles. All Rooms Feature Microwave, Refrigerator, Hair Dryer and 27-inch Cable TV. No pets allowed.

Hotel Map

35.7504 -78.6489
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control

Nearby points of interest

  • Reynolds Coliseum: 2.6 mi
  • Carter-Finley Stadium: 5.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
your average woman
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Mar 18, 2013

fun getaway

The hotel was comfortable, clean and spacious. I wish the lights would have been a little brighter, but all together it was a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The pack house bar is about 10 minutes from the club. If you ever hear that deejay butterworth will be there, you WANT to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Upset Parents
Asheville, North Carolina
Aug 13, 2012

The Dump

Me and my husband were taking our daughter for her freshman year at NCSU. We were very shocked at how the outside of the building was run down, dirty and just plain nasty. The location was not very safe if our opion. The room needed some updating and the floors to be cleaned better. The outside door looked like someone had tried to break in and it was not flush with the wall. It looked bent and not square. We will NEVER stay there or at a Super 8 again. We were extremely upset and disappointed with the condition of the WHOLE complex. We wanted to leave early but we would have lost our $ so we stayed anyway. The complimentary breakfast was a joke and they only served from 6 to 9. The first morning when we came down after 9 we found out that they only serve for a short period of time. Not a good way to win customers for return visits. Their was not much food out when we come the 2nd morning so we just left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
r. hall
Wilmington, NC, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Okay for overnight

Very close to downtown at about 1/3 the price. Front desk clerk was friendly. Hotel was average. Not bad for overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sushi Blues on Glenwood South has delicious food at very reasonable pricing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
N C
Mar 22, 2011

great location

Great location, it was in the heart of everything. The breakfast could have been better ( I would have liked some eggs,sausage, beacon) All and All it was good. I loved the refrigerator, microwave and Internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCAErocks
NC
Mar 20, 2011

I'd stay there again

This hotel was much cheaper than most of the other places around. We were in town for one night for a conference and it suited our purposes perfectly. The continental breakfast was pretty wiped out when we went to check it out, but other than that I was pleased. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Oxford has a hip atmosphere and wonderful food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orrum, NC
Oct 25, 2010

Just O.K.

TV Remote Control and the Microwave did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Article 1 Daddy
Boston Mass
Oct 4, 2010

All Good ;)

If your looking for the pampered ritzy touch then this spot is not for you but if you are looking for the biggest bang for your buck the ritz has nothing on this spot. The front desk staff was very delightful. The maid service not the best customer service don't expect any light conversation but if you want to be left alone you'll have a good experience with your stay there!! Average to Good overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
raleigh, nc
Sep 2, 2010

OKAY FOR OVERNIGHT STAY...THATS IT!

We asked for non-smoking, but it smelled like smoke anyways. Doublebed room was okay size...it was only for an overnight visit, so it was ok for the money spent. Two Problems we had that night was: 1)the shower handle broke off and the maintenance man was gone for the evening. The staff was NOT helpful at all 2)and outside of the hotel was ant infested...these tiny red ants were all over the place! I put my baby's car seat on the ground for a minute so i can open up our car door...by the time i picked it back up, i noticed over a dozen ants climbing all over her car seat. So, i took the baby out immediately and searched the rest of the car seat. I found over 20 ants in her car seat!! I got bit in the foot 3 times by those ants JUST BY WALKING TO MY CAR...BE CAREFUL!! I wouldnt recommend this motel to someone with young children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aries23
Fayetteville, NC
Jul 18, 2010

I got what I paid for.

There was a complimentary breakfast so that was nice. I also liked that there was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The constant odor was very bothersome throughout the night. It was quiet but the beds were so uncomfortable. I got what I paid for and I probably won't be staying there again. It was a last minute decision.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Zydeco was an excellent restaurant and great live jazz singer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Raleigh Downtown South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xpxmom
Greensboro NC
Apr 29, 2010

Simple and inexpensive

Needed convienient location to two conference sites and easy access from the highway. Inexpensive, clean and near several food choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top