$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Winds Resort

3 stars
310 East First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
10 reviews
Great getaway!

Much more than you get at a hotel and in an awesome location right on the beach. Property is a... See full review

  • Miles to go
  • Mar 10, 2014
Perfect place to relax

The Winds was a very relaxing spot by the ocean to get together with family and friends. The rooms... See full review

  • mbluth
  • May 14, 2013
A Tropical Escape... Closer than you think. With hints of the Caribbean and the charm of the South -a unique oceanfront paradise is no further than the southernmost North Carolina Coast. Simple to fly to from many major cities -shorter to drive to than tropical feeling resorts much further south feel a million miles away from everything you want to escape. The exotic and cozy setting of The Winds offers a variety of accommodation choices. Overlook the seven mile island -breathtaking un-crowded powder sand beach and or palm trees and lush gardens. The Thirsti Tiki -on the oceanfront pool deck -has the premier view on all of Ocean Isle Beach for light dining and beverage enjoyment. A stay at The Winds includes *daily housekeeping *free in room wireless high speed internet *a complimentary hot breakfast buffet *three pools *one indoor* *whirlpool spas *complimentary bikes and more. The mild -subtropical climate is ideal for year round golf and tennis. The Winds offers golf packages with play on over one hundred courses. The Winds is the highest rated accommodations on Ocean Isle Beach -according to AAA and Mobile. Perfect for romantic getaways -weddings -retreats and small meetings. Paradise is closer than you think.

Hotel Map

33.8943 -78.41
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/International Airport, (MYR), 41.00, MI, NE; New Hanover International Airport, (ILM), 45.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Winds Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Winds Resort Rooms

Jasmine Guest Room Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed, wet bar,microwave,coffee maker,frig,DVD player,wireless Internet,oceanfront deck.
Hibiscus Single Suite 2 Double B
Living room with a queen sleeper sofa DVD player wireless high-speed Internet
Magnolia Double Lower Suite
Magnolia Dbl Ste Has Liv Rm Wifi,Kit,2 Bathrm,2 Bdrms W/2 Dbl Beds 1 King,Garden View Balcony
Magnolia Double Island Suite 4 D
Magnolia Dbl Suite Has Liv Rm Wifi,Kit, 2 Bathrm,2 Bdrms W/2 Dbl Beds Each,Island View Balcony
Jasmine Guest Room King Bed
1 King Bed, wet bar, microwave,coffee maker,frig,DVD player,wireless Internet,oceanfront deck.
3 Bedroom Combo Upper
Combination Triple Suite sleeper sofa full kitchen living room and patio
Azalea Petite Suite King Bed
Suite has a living Room w/Q Sofabed,DVDplayer,Compact Kitchen,bdrm w/1 King,Oceanfront deck.
Hibiscus Single Suite 2 Queen Be
Living room with a queen sleeper sofa DVD player wireless high-speed Internet
Magnolia Double Suite 4 Double B
Magnolia Dbl Ste Has Liv Rm Wifi,Kit,2 Bathrms,2 Bdrms W/2 Dbl Beds Each,Ocnfrnt Balcony
3 Bedroom Combo Lower
Combination Triple Suite sleeper sofa full kitchen living room and patio
Island Side Garden View Camellia
Room with 2 Dbl beds fridge microwave garden-view deck Hot Brkfast Bar
Magnolia Double Suite King Bed
Magnolia Dbl Ste Has Liv Rm Wifi,Kit,2 Bthrms,2 Bdrms W/2 Dbl Beds 1 King,Ocnfrnt Balcony
Island Side Garden View Camellia
2 Queen beds fridge and microwave garden view deck Hot Breakfast Bar
2 Bedroom Combo Lower
Qceanfront Combination Double Suite
Jasmine Guest Room 2 Double Beds
2 Double Beds, wet bar, micro,coffee maker,frig,DVD player,wireless Internet,oceanfront deck.
Orchid Spa Room King Bed
King bed DVD player wireless high-speed Internet
Gardenia Single Suite King Bed
Living room with queen sleeper sofa a DVD player wireless high-speed Internet,
Canary Island Double Suites
Living room DVD player wireless high-speed Internet
Azalea Petite Suite 2 Double
Suite has a living Room w/Q Sofabed,DVDplayer,Compact Kitchen,bdrm w/two Dbls,oceanfront deck.
Azalea Petite Suite King Bed w W
Ste has Living Rm w/Q Sofabed,DVDplayer,Wifi,Cmpct Kit,Bdrm w/King,In-RmWhirlpool,Ocnfrnt Deck

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Winds Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Winds Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miles to go
North Carolina
Mar 10, 2014

Great getaway!

Much more than you get at a hotel and in an awesome location right on the beach. Property is a tropical theme both in the units and outside. We felt like we were in the Caribbean. Hot buffet breakfast was a nice addition although the full kitchen does allow you too prepare your own meals. Our stay was a great getaway...away from the crowds. Short drive to a few good restaurants. Spent a day in Southport...just a shirt drive away. Unit was clean and had all we needed for our stay! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Giggling Marlin - outside seating that allows for a view of the setting sun!

Review of Winds Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dr c.
wilson nc
Aug 26, 2013

so so

no ice, no bottle water on site, breakfast food good. room location not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

dine at sharkey's

Review of Winds Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mbluth
Pacific Northwest
May 14, 2013

Perfect place to relax

The Winds was a very relaxing spot by the ocean to get together with family and friends. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and there were lots of smaller spaces where friends could gather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Winds Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
go to heaven
greensboro NC
Mar 31, 2013

stephen sims

fantastic. very close to the beach. employees were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Winds Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silk Hope, NC
Jul 20, 2010

Awesome relaxation

We wanted very much to do absolutely nothing except hit the beach or sit by the pool....and visit the Thirsti Tiki every now and then....and that's what we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Winds Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenwood, SC
Jun 15, 2010

Beach Trip 2010

It was a very memorable trip for me and my family. I would love to stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Winds Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bakergirl
Greensboro, NC
Oct 12, 2009

Peaceful Getaway

This hotel was not what we were accustomed to, but it was nice. We usuallly stay at Myrtle Beach so this location was quiet in comparison. It was a great place for adults looking for some relaxation. The beach was a lot nicer and cleaner than Myrtle Beach. My husband and I would go back again. I do not think that teenagers or older children would enjoy it as much as Myrtle Beach- not enough activities. The breakfast was an extra treat. All of the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Winds Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Jul 27, 2009

Perfect

The beach was not crowded, the pool was refreshing, maid service was timely, the breakfast buffet was tasty and the free use of a beach bike was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Free concert on island located in the local Museum parking lot.

Review of Winds Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jul 25, 2009

Great Price

Was wonderful visit for the price. Pictures are a little misleading, our room was nothing like the one pictured, small room with just enough room for 2 full beds with a very small balcony that barely fit two plastic chairs. The breakfast buffet was fantastic, the pools were nice and the service was excellent. Resort provided free bicycles and ping pong & a fun dj at the pool one night. We were not oceanfront as depicted but across the street. Not many places to dine on Ocean Isle, only a couple of small restaurants with limited menus. Not a luxury resort, a little outdated but we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring your own food, not many dining options around, our room did NOT have a refrigerator as advertised, but did have a microwave and toaster.

Review of Winds Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
May 23, 2009

Great Place!

By a few touch-ups I am specifically referring to some torn and peeling wallpaper in the bathroom...very minor. Room had a wetbar, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, real glasses, plates and utensils. Free hot breakfast buffet included with room: scrambled eggs, grits, biscuits and gravy, waffles, hash, bacon, sausage, fruit, and muffins and sweet rolls, plus cold cereal. Buffet seating area was large and there was an outside garden seating area also. Two outdoor pools (one 'on' the beach with a small bar and food service) plus an indoor. Rooms with balconies and some with a screened porch; many types of rooms. A large complex of buildings with 3 right on the beach; my room was on the top floor directly across the street from the beach, with a small balcony with ocean view. Family accomodating (play and barbeque areas), very friendly staff, exceptionally clean rooms, and quiet (at least the night I stayed). Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Ask the staff for dining recommendations or even other resort guests (I was guessing there were a lot of repeat people there). Resort also gave out a whole bunch of 10% off coupons for eating, rentals, etc. I had been to Ocean Isle before so was familiar with the area.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search