$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Islander Inn

3 stars
View map of 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Islander Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Islander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hope Mills, NC, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Romantic views

Very cozy accomodations and breath taking views of the ocean with a very clean beach. Affordable and well recommended for couples who are looking for a peaceful weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Islander Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 30, 2011

Not impressed

We booked a room that was supposed to have two queen beds and a balcony for a last minute trip to the beach. We got a call from [...]explaining they could only give a room with a king sized bed and a pull out sofa. Since it was last minute, we agreed. Not only was there no balcony, there was also only a king sized bed - not great since there were three of us. The hotel staff blamed it on [...]. The rest of the hotel was fine I guess. Had an indoor and outdooor pool and hot tub with beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Islander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Apr 22, 2011

Friendly, family atmosphere

Our room was very cozy and quiet. We had a great view and fantastic maid service. We ate the continental breakfast every day and met many other families around the pool areas. The atmosphere was so nice, we liked to stay close to home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Islander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Mar 22, 2011

Best Hotel on the Island!

Last weekend my girlfirends and I went on our annual trip to Ocean Isle Beach, NC. We stayed at The Islander Inn the oceanfront hotel on the island. Our stay couldn't have been more perfect! There are these cute cats that live under the outdoor pool deck of the hotel that you will see time to time roaming the property...we would sneak them a treat every now and then. The rooms were nicely decorated, the staff was very friendly, and the continental breakfast was literally the best I have ever had! I had a bowl of grits, a sausage biscuit and a waffle...yum yum yum! Next year we are planning our annual girls weekend trip for later in the year so we can take advantage of the outdoor pool and tiki bar at the hotel. Thank you Islander Inn for a great weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Islander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte,NC
Jul 5, 2010

Great location and hotel

We loved this hotel. It was right on the ocean and not your typical box hotel. We found it very quaiint and family oriented. There are many restaurants and things to do on the island. It is close enough to Myrtle Beach if you want to see some of what that area has to offer and then come back to a quiet hotel. We will definately book this hotel again. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is not a thing we did not like. It was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are many restaurants and gift shops within walking distance. Also, you can rent a golf cart when you book your stay and tool around the island. That is the best way to see the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Islander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool Queen
Business
Small Town, North Carolina
Jun 23, 2010

Beach the way it should be

Relaxation for the mind! The view from the private balcony was awesome and you can actually hear the ocean lapping the beach. No traffic noises. Just peaceful! Couples could easily take a private midnight stroll. I loved it and I can't wait to go again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sharky's and the Giggling Mackerel were a short bike ride away. Great seafood! But if you want a good and inexpensive burger try the Ocean Isle Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Islander Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
finally relaxed
Business
chicago, IL
Jun 5, 2010

good for a quick getaway

The staff was really nice, and the short getaway was great. Our stay matched our low expectations--our first trip in 5 yrs--all we wanted was a beach and a place to sleep. The rooms had everything we would need-small fridge, microwave, and coffe maker-TV was nice too. The hotel was booked, but you would never know it-it was still so quiet.I think by saying newly renovated, they meant that they added new TV's and thats it! The carpet still looked older, and our towel bar in the bathroowm never stayed up. IT even fell on the housekeeper and she put it back up, and it fell again. Then in the middle of the night our closet rod fell down --we utilized the closet because there were only 4 small drawers to put our clothes in. We discovered they had used a plastic cap from a hairspray can and nailed that to the wall instead of going to the store and buying the appropriate piece. when we called the front desk, they said someone would be up to fix, and no one ever came. The website said the Tiki hut opened May 8th, and when we got there the last week in May they were working on it--not open yet! Definitely have to take advantage of the continental breakfast--there are no close breakfast places in OIB. Great lunch and dinner places right in town, and the shops are great! This area definitely seems to be up and coming. Very nice area, very quiet, and that is all we really wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The dining is great! There are a couple of restaurants right on the waterway as soon as you come into OIB off the bridge that were just wonderful! Shopping was great too, alot of surf shops within walking distance. Only a handful of places to eat in OIB, if staying longer you may have to go outside of OIB. We went to Broadway at the Beach one day in Myrtle. Not a long drive, nice getaway-lots of shopping and more chain restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Islander Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cary,nc
Apr 5, 2010

Great location

The breakfast was a little croudy and not so great, a little hard to find some places to have dinner without waiting a long time but otherwise great location, rooms and pools clean and nice...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Islander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Oct 19, 2009

Wonderful place for a retreat

Great trip to the beach with my daughter to attend a friend's wedding. The scenery was beautiful. Loved the quietness of the area. Enjoyed the Oyster Festival. Great service from the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Sharkey's, the food is wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Islander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Aug 24, 2009

Great hidden gem

Went for a short trip and was pleasantly surprised by the accomodations. Room was clean and very cool upon arrival. There was a big flat screen TV located in the room and a private balcony with some chairs set up. Bed was comfy. I did notice some paint peeling in the shower but everything looked great otherwise. Access to the beach was just a few steps away. Breakfast consisted of a variety of different cereals, muffins, biscuits and juices. I would definitely recommend again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sharky's is a great place to pick up dinner. Prices are a bit high but quality is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top