$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

4 stars
3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
252 reviews
Cozy room, superb staff

The in room dining is excellent and the warm, professional staff could not be more attentive. I... See full review

  • Tarheel610
  • Mar 14, 2014
Very nice

Fancy and nice hotel; staff friendly; location convenient; did not have much time to check out... See full review

  • DadMomandKids
  • Feb 18, 2014
A master’s course in elegance and comfort -- and golf too

Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club is an award-winning hotel built in the style of an Old English country inn. The inn, nestled on a 300-acre site in the heartland of North Carolina, features elegant guest rooms and suites, highly regarded dining, and superb meeting facilities. All are surrounded by spectacular landscaping and the challenging Duke University Golf Course.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond Award-winning luxury hotel on the Duke University campus
  • 271 guest rooms and suites offering premium amenities
  • Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Course
  • Top-flight meeting facilities
  • 20 minutes from Raleigh-Durham International Airport, 15 minutes from Research Triangle Park
Rooms

Each room and suite offers comfortable yet elegant décor. The welcoming ambience was inspired by traditional English country inns. King or double beds feature extra thick, 100 percent cotton linens and plush coverings. Bathrooms include Gilchrist & Soames of London products, a lighted makeup mirror, and hair dryer. Workstations provide Wi-Fi and wired Internet access.

Features

Nestled amid North Carolina's distinctive pine trees and stately hardwoods, "the Inn" -- as guests have come to call it since it opened in 1988 -- makes a magnificent impression at first sight. The Old English ambience and impeccable service help instill memories that last a lifetime.

 

The inn offers guests complimentary transportation to Duke University campuses, the Duke University Medical Center, and the Ninth Street entertainment area.

 

Guests are invited to play the beautiful, 18-hole Duke University Golf Course, the only Robert Trent Jones-designed course in the region.

 

The Fairview Dining Room is renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list, and glorious vistas of the golf course.

Transportation
  • Raleigh-Durham International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)
  • Amtrak, Durham (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke University main campus (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Durham Performing Arts Center (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Durham Bulls Athletic Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center with concierge service, computer, and printer
  • Executive Conference Center offers an array of flexible meeting space
  • 20 elegant meeting rooms

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club Rooms

Fairview Suite Golf View
The Fairview Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by french doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Fairview Suites provide a stunning view of Duke Golf Course. The Fairview Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.
Deluxe King
The room offers 1 King Bed with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Deluxe Double
The room offers 2 Double beds with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Junior Suite
This Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by French doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Junior Suites provide a beautiful view of Duke forest. The Junior Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.9935 -78.9474
Area served
Durham.
Nearby airports
RDU International Airport (RDU) - 17 miles.
Area description
Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club is a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning luxury hotel like no other in the region. Built in the style of an old English country inn the hotel is nestled on a 300-acre site and situated in the heartland of North Carolina. The Inn features the Duke University Golf Course, 271 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, the award-winning Fairview Dining Room, the Bull Durham Bar and superb meeting facilities for groups from 20 to 600.

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 0.4 mi

Dining

Bull Durham Bar
The relaxed, intimate atmosphere at the Bull Durham Bar provides the perfect place to enjoy hearty fare and gourmet delights after a round of golf or harried business day. A full lunch menu is offered in addition to a light menu throughout the day. Enjoy the golf course view from your table by the fireplace or from the bar. The Bull Durham Bar is the place to be for good food, good conversation, and good times among friends.
Fairview Dining Room
The Fairview Dining Room is locally, regionally and nationally renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list and its glorious vistas of the prestigious Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Club. The Fairview, perfectly appointed with English antiques and fine paintings, boasts decorative fabric in rich hues and offers guests a luxurious dining experience. And its outdoor terrace is the perfect place to enjoy both the extraordinary cuisine and the region's fine weather. To futher enhance its premier dining experience, the Fairview has assembled an extensive wine list featuring 250 varieties of the world's finest vintages. Forty of these esteemed labels are available by the glass. French, Italian and American wines comprise the wine collection, which consistently receives the Wine Spectator magazine Award of Excellence.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (252)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 252
Amenities:
4.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SkellyChamp
New York, New York
Sep 2, 2009

Carolina Comfort with a Kink

This didn't get off to a great beginning. Drove all day from New York, arriving in NC for a 2 night stay about 6:30 to discover that the room with two double beds that I had booked for me and my 17 year old son was not available and all they had was a king with a rollaway for my son. Was not happy. Everyone was pleasant but the desk informed me that my booking for a two bed room was just a request not a guarantee (thankfully I didn't come down with the entire family as we would have been 3 to a bed). Ridiculous. Spoke to the manager (very pleasant) who informed me that the inn was sold out and that there was nothing they could do. However, for my inconvenience, they offered to move me the next night to a suite. Not wanting to look for another place to stay, I took them up on the offer. Thankfully, the second day and night made up for the first as they moved me into a two bedroom two bath master suite. That was living. And probably worth the inconvenience, not that I thought that the night before. The inn itself is gorgeous with a great restaurant and bar and indoor pool. The rooms are magnificent and the bathrooms spectacular (all except the water pressure but I've rarely had good water pressure in any hotel). My only real complaint about the facilities themselves is that floor hallways was like being in a meat locker. Colder than a New England winter. We also played the adjacent golf course which was just wonderful. They took our clubs on check-in right from the car and they were waiting for us the next morning. Course was gorgeous (and hard) and the staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Also gave a voucher for a no frills lunch at the 19th hole but it did hit the spot. Notwithstanding the snafu, we had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast, drive to Chapel Hill and hit the Sunrise Kitchen for their biscuits. It's a drive-through but the biscuits are to die for.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Holland
Washington DC
Aug 23, 2009

After the beach

The Washington Duke provides absolutely top notch service, easily on part with a Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton type property. Every staff member was fantastic. My minor complaints would be that the fitness center and pool are subpar, but they do let you have access to the Duke Faculty club, with much better amenities. The club is located on the hotel grounds. This was a great hotel, and I got a great deal booking online with Orbitz. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy in Charleston
Charleston, SC
Jul 22, 2013

Great Experience

Great Hotel in a serene setting. Staff was professional and courteous. Room was excellent. Overall experience was great. Need to add an outdoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant is outstanding and had a pianist playing.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SkellyChamp
New York, New York
Sep 2, 2009

Carolina Comfort with a Kink

This didn't get off to a great beginning. Drove all day from New York, arriving in NC for a 2 night stay about 6:30 to discover that the room with two double beds that I had booked for me and my 17 year old son was not available and all they had was a king with a rollaway for my son. Was not happy. Everyone was pleasant but the desk informed me that my booking for a two bed room was just a request not a guarantee (thankfully I didn't come down with the entire family as we would have been 3 to a bed). Ridiculous. Spoke to the manager (very pleasant) who informed me that the inn was sold out and that there was nothing they could do. However, for my inconvenience, they offered to move me the next night to a suite. Not wanting to look for another place to stay, I took them up on the offer. Thankfully, the second day and night made up for the first as they moved me into a two bedroom two bath master suite. That was living. And probably worth the inconvenience, not that I thought that the night before. The inn itself is gorgeous with a great restaurant and bar and indoor pool. The rooms are magnificent and the bathrooms spectacular (all except the water pressure but I've rarely had good water pressure in any hotel). My only real complaint about the facilities themselves is that floor hallways was like being in a meat locker. Colder than a New England winter. We also played the adjacent golf course which was just wonderful. They took our clubs on check-in right from the car and they were waiting for us the next morning. Course was gorgeous (and hard) and the staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Also gave a voucher for a no frills lunch at the 19th hole but it did hit the spot. Notwithstanding the snafu, we had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast, drive to Chapel Hill and hit the Sunrise Kitchen for their biscuits. It's a drive-through but the biscuits are to die for.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Holland
Washington DC
Aug 23, 2009

After the beach

The Washington Duke provides absolutely top notch service, easily on part with a Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton type property. Every staff member was fantastic. My minor complaints would be that the fitness center and pool are subpar, but they do let you have access to the Duke Faculty club, with much better amenities. The club is located on the hotel grounds. This was a great hotel, and I got a great deal booking online with Orbitz. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shrewsbury, MA
Jan 23, 2010

Great Durham Hotel

Great hotel in Durham, especially if you are going to Duke or the Duke Medical Center. The rooms are large, clean, and very comfortable. There is free wireless access throughout the hotel. The staff is very helpful, and you have a couple different options for dining right at the hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I am in the Raleigh/Durham area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Aug 23, 2009

Fabulous Hotel

The staff anticipates guest needs. Courteous, friendly and accommodating. Exquisite setting and my first choice when down in the Durham area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shrewsbury, MA
Jan 23, 2010

Great Durham Hotel

Great hotel in Durham, especially if you are going to Duke or the Duke Medical Center. The rooms are large, clean, and very comfortable. There is free wireless access throughout the hotel. The staff is very helpful, and you have a couple different options for dining right at the hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I am in the Raleigh/Durham area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 19, 2010

Great Stay

I had a bried but nice stay at the hotel. Great staff and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 19, 2010

Great Stay

I had a bried but nice stay at the hotel. Great staff and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top