$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

4 stars
View map of 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
160 reviews
College visit

As always, the WaDu was excellent! Hotel is very comfortable, right on campus and you are always... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 16, 2015
concert weekend

Second visit here.Staff exceptional-from valet staff to wait staff. Welcoming atmosphere.Rooms... See full review

  • Thomas
  • Apr 22, 2015
A masters course in elegance and comfort -- and golf too. Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club is an award-winning hotel built in the style of an Old English country inn. The inn, nestled on a 300-acre site in the heartland of North Carolina, features elegant guest rooms and suites, highly regarded dining, and superb meeting facilities. All are surrounded by spectacular landscaping and the challenging Duke University Golf Course.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club Rooms

Deluxe King
The room offers 1 King Bed with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Deluxe Double
The room offers 2 Double beds with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Junior Suite
This Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by French doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Junior Suites provide a beautiful view of Duke forest. The Junior Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.
Fairview Suite Golf View
The Fairview Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by french doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Fairview Suites provide a stunning view of Duke Golf Course. The Fairview Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 0.4 mi

Dining

Bull Durham Bar
The relaxed, intimate atmosphere at the Bull Durham Bar provides the perfect place to enjoy hearty fare and gourmet delights after a round of golf or harried business day. A full lunch menu is offered in addition to a light menu throughout the day. Enjoy the golf course view from your table by the fireplace or from the bar. The Bull Durham Bar is the place to be for good food, good conversation, and good times among friends.
Fairview Dining Room
The Fairview Dining Room is locally, regionally and nationally renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list and its glorious vistas of the prestigious Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Club. The Fairview, perfectly appointed with English antiques and fine paintings, boasts decorative fabric in rich hues and offers guests a luxurious dining experience. And its outdoor terrace is the perfect place to enjoy both the extraordinary cuisine and the region's fine weather. To futher enhance its premier dining experience, the Fairview has assembled an extensive wine list featuring 250 varieties of the world's finest vintages. Forty of these esteemed labels are available by the glass. French, Italian and American wines comprise the wine collection, which consistently receives the Wine Spectator magazine Award of Excellence.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 160
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Havelock, NC
Mar 19, 2010

Washington More a 1 Star

The room wasn't what we expected. It was on anniversary and we traveled 3 hours to hotel just for the jacuzzi. [...] the way everything is worded it misleads you into thinking there is a whirlpool/jacuzzi/ in the room but there is only one jacuzzi downstairs near the pool big enough for 2 people for a huge 5 story hotel and it was broken. The fridge/mini bar you can't keep anything in there or else they charge you to. We tried hooking up a XBox and DVD player to the connectors, but there were disable purposely by hotel. They told us if we wanted to watch a movie we had to order it which cost $20 a movie. It is a 1 star room in a 4 star hotel. We couldn't even get a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UVA Fan89
Business
Arlington, Virginia
Feb 18, 2014

Romantic Evening

Courteous service and beautiful rooms. My only complaints were the few hairs left behind in the shower and the decision to not provide my wife and I with a few of the golf course on a not busy weekday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GarthUNC
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 27, 2014

Wonderful stay

Beautiful hotel and setting. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Location right in middle of Duke campus with golf course and restaurants on site. Pricey, but good value for the cost, and not that much more expensive than other hotels in area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
great gift
Business
Advance, NC
Jun 27, 2012

Great place

This hotel was absolutely beautiful. My only complaint was that there was a lacross camp for high school boys at the same time. Our room was right next to one of the boys rooms. They were very loud. It sounded like they were wrestling and jumping on the beds. They kept bang on the walls. Finally about midnight I had to call the front desk. Within in 15 min the noise had quieted. But other than that, the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anniversary123
Business
North Carolina
Jul 26, 2012

Extraordinary Customer Service!

My husband and I stayed here for just one night. However, we couldn't have been more pleased. The location of the hotel is easy to find. We were immediately amazed by the cheerful staff upon entering. We found all the staff to be very helpful and many times, I commented to my husband that I felt the staff was first class (did everything with a smile.) We did sample both restaurants. Both have a different atmosphere and food selection. We found the menu choices to be appealing, the food to be delicious and prices to be of average/high. We were able to tour some of Duke University. Particularly, Duke Chapel with the recommendation of the concierge. There is a lot to see within walking distance. The weather did not allow for us to tour much of the ground outside but the golf course is beautiful. The hotel itself, although built in the 80's allows for you to feel as if you are in a historical site with lots of photos and Duke family memorabilia. I will definitely be staying here again! Next time, for much longer than just one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grumpa
Business
Asheville, NC
Aug 20, 2012

Comfortable

Nice room for a stay after an evening at DPAC. Unfortunately we were not able to take advantage of the of the restuarant or other hotel amenities. Beautiful golf course setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Collectort
Business
Greensboro, NC
Feb 17, 2013

Romantic getaway

We were there for the Nasher Museum and downtown restaurants, so this location was perfect. Beautiful grounds and public spaces. Whatever extras we asked for were delivered to the room immediately. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only one thing, the mattresses were adequate, but not four stars. We will stay there again when in the area. PS, they do have turndown service, which some 4 and 5 star hotels have discontinued. Overall, great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Citadel Wife
Business
Oconee County, SC
Sep 10, 2013

Great location for proximity to Duke Cancer Center

The hotel and restaurant were perfect for our quarterly visit for medical purposes. A mini fridge in the room would have been an asset! Otherwise, we were not lacking in necessities for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.G. & K.G.
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 29, 2009

Washington Duke Inn-First Class

Very enjoyable stay while visiting for medical consults. Beautiful hotel, excellent staff, and great rate through [...]. highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 1, 2010

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

We spent one night at the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holiday season. We enjoyed walking the wooded trails right outside the hotel in the morning. Breakfast was scrumptious in the stately dining room...fresh squeezed OJ, lox and bagels, cold and hot cereals, pastries, yogurt, fruit, yogurt, and hot entrees were all available. Our only complaint would be that the water pressure in the shower was little to none, felt like taking a shower under a garden hose. We would stay here again..although maybe we would have the water pressure checked in our room before coming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top