$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

4 stars
3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
252 reviews
Cozy room, superb staff

The in room dining is excellent and the warm, professional staff could not be more attentive. I... See full review

  • Tarheel610
  • Mar 14, 2014
Very nice

Fancy and nice hotel; staff friendly; location convenient; did not have much time to check out... See full review

  • DadMomandKids
  • Feb 18, 2014
A master’s course in elegance and comfort -- and golf too

Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club is an award-winning hotel built in the style of an Old English country inn. The inn, nestled on a 300-acre site in the heartland of North Carolina, features elegant guest rooms and suites, highly regarded dining, and superb meeting facilities. All are surrounded by spectacular landscaping and the challenging Duke University Golf Course.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond Award-winning luxury hotel on the Duke University campus
  • 271 guest rooms and suites offering premium amenities
  • Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Course
  • Top-flight meeting facilities
  • 20 minutes from Raleigh-Durham International Airport, 15 minutes from Research Triangle Park
Rooms

Each room and suite offers comfortable yet elegant décor. The welcoming ambience was inspired by traditional English country inns. King or double beds feature extra thick, 100 percent cotton linens and plush coverings. Bathrooms include Gilchrist & Soames of London products, a lighted makeup mirror, and hair dryer. Workstations provide Wi-Fi and wired Internet access.

Features

Nestled amid North Carolina's distinctive pine trees and stately hardwoods, "the Inn" -- as guests have come to call it since it opened in 1988 -- makes a magnificent impression at first sight. The Old English ambience and impeccable service help instill memories that last a lifetime.

 

The inn offers guests complimentary transportation to Duke University campuses, the Duke University Medical Center, and the Ninth Street entertainment area.

 

Guests are invited to play the beautiful, 18-hole Duke University Golf Course, the only Robert Trent Jones-designed course in the region.

 

The Fairview Dining Room is renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list, and glorious vistas of the golf course.

Transportation
  • Raleigh-Durham International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)
  • Amtrak, Durham (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke University main campus (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Durham Performing Arts Center (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Durham Bulls Athletic Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center with concierge service, computer, and printer
  • Executive Conference Center offers an array of flexible meeting space
  • 20 elegant meeting rooms

Hotel Map

35.9935 -78.9474
Area served
Durham.
Nearby airports
RDU International Airport (RDU) - 17 miles.
Area description
Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club is a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning luxury hotel like no other in the region. Built in the style of an old English country inn the hotel is nestled on a 300-acre site and situated in the heartland of North Carolina. The Inn features the Duke University Golf Course, 271 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, the award-winning Fairview Dining Room, the Bull Durham Bar and superb meeting facilities for groups from 20 to 600.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club Rooms

Fairview Suite Golf View
The Fairview Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by french doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Fairview Suites provide a stunning view of Duke Golf Course. The Fairview Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.
Deluxe King
The room offers 1 King Bed with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Deluxe Double
The room offers 2 Double beds with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Junior Suite
This Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by French doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Junior Suites provide a beautiful view of Duke forest. The Junior Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 0.4 mi

Dining

Bull Durham Bar
The relaxed, intimate atmosphere at the Bull Durham Bar provides the perfect place to enjoy hearty fare and gourmet delights after a round of golf or harried business day. A full lunch menu is offered in addition to a light menu throughout the day. Enjoy the golf course view from your table by the fireplace or from the bar. The Bull Durham Bar is the place to be for good food, good conversation, and good times among friends.
Fairview Dining Room
The Fairview Dining Room is locally, regionally and nationally renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list and its glorious vistas of the prestigious Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Club. The Fairview, perfectly appointed with English antiques and fine paintings, boasts decorative fabric in rich hues and offers guests a luxurious dining experience. And its outdoor terrace is the perfect place to enjoy both the extraordinary cuisine and the region's fine weather. To futher enhance its premier dining experience, the Fairview has assembled an extensive wine list featuring 250 varieties of the world's finest vintages. Forty of these esteemed labels are available by the glass. French, Italian and American wines comprise the wine collection, which consistently receives the Wine Spectator magazine Award of Excellence.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (252)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 252
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Havelock, NC
Mar 19, 2010

Washington More a 1 Star

The room wasn't what we expected. It was on anniversary and we traveled 3 hours to hotel just for the jacuzzi. [...] the way everything is worded it misleads you into thinking there is a whirlpool/jacuzzi/ in the room but there is only one jacuzzi downstairs near the pool big enough for 2 people for a huge 5 story hotel and it was broken. The fridge/mini bar you can't keep anything in there or else they charge you to. We tried hooking up a XBox and DVD player to the connectors, but there were disable purposely by hotel. They told us if we wanted to watch a movie we had to order it which cost $20 a movie. It is a 1 star room in a 4 star hotel. We couldn't even get a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Havelock, NC
Mar 19, 2010

Washington More a 1 Star

The room wasn't what we expected. It was on anniversary and we traveled 3 hours to hotel just for the jacuzzi. [...] the way everything is worded it misleads you into thinking there is a whirlpool/jacuzzi/ in the room but there is only one jacuzzi downstairs near the pool big enough for 2 people for a huge 5 story hotel and it was broken. The fridge/mini bar you can't keep anything in there or else they charge you to. We tried hooking up a XBox and DVD player to the connectors, but there were disable purposely by hotel. They told us if we wanted to watch a movie we had to order it which cost $20 a movie. It is a 1 star room in a 4 star hotel. We couldn't even get a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired plant pathologist
Asheville, NC
Aug 8, 2011

Perfect location to visit Duke Campus.

We stayed one night to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and to attend a family reunion north of Durham the next day. It was nice to revisit some of the familiar places on and around the campus when we were at Duke almost 45 years ago. Breakfast buffet was very good, room clean and comfortable, staff friendly and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Citadel Wife
Oconee County, SC
Sep 10, 2013

Great location for proximity to Duke Cancer Center

The hotel and restaurant were perfect for our quarterly visit for medical purposes. A mini fridge in the room would have been an asset! Otherwise, we were not lacking in necessities for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham, NC
Mar 27, 2011

Solid hotel

Beautiful, historic hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Washinton Duke
Sydney
Apr 5, 2010

Washington Duke

Plesant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Mill, SC
Jan 17, 2010

What a luxurious place

This was a lovely place and I would not hesitate to stay there again. I was a little disappointed at our greeting - I felt that the check in staff was a little less than friendly because we had booked the hotel at a discounted rate. We had dinner in the Bull Durham Bar and could not have been treated any better anywhere. We had exceptional food and it had great ambiance. It was lovely and relaxing after a long day of travel. The room was lovely and comfortable. The bathroom lacked a built in hairdryer. I found a little dinky one in the closet. Breakfast in the Dining Room was lovely, the food was good and the staff was very nice. The concierge was not real pleased to give me directions to coffee and breakfast so by then I had completely given up on the hotel staff until we were checking out and the front desk staff was more than gracious and thankful for our stay. I do think that the extras are very expensive - a bottle of water in our room was $7.00. The restaurant and bar were also quite pricey but they were worth every penny. We spent as much on dinner and breakfast as we did on our room and it was worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were in town to go to Duke Medical Center. It was very close by and easy to get to.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Doylestown, PA
Apr 1, 2010

Always a delight!

This is our second stay at the Inn within a couple of months. It is delightful to be able to sit our on the patio overlooking the golf course. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is the best. Nothing is too much trouble. Can not wait to go back again. Our daughter lives in the area and it is a great way to visit as she enjoys the facilities at the hotel as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right next to Duke University with Duke Forest and Duke Gardens it is lovely to explore.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Worker.
DC Suburbs
Feb 25, 2010

Very nice hotel.

Very nice hotel out of our normal price/style range. We just wanted a quiet 2 days out of town, turned out to be what we needed. Location right next to Duke University worked for all our needs. Very easy to drive into Durham or out to Raleigh. We did not eat in the hotel, but nice/inexpensive restaurants are a short drive away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tennis dentist
Columbia SC
May 26, 2009

feel the quality

The staff were very attentive and friendly. The hotel was first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

great golf course

Back to menu Return to top