$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

4 stars
View map of 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville NC
Sep 20, 2009

Washington Duke Restful Stay

The hotel is lovely - quiet, clean, lovely pool and workout area. Restaurant is good, if a bit expensive. Overall, a very restful, relaxed stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Doylestown, PA
Apr 1, 2010

Always a delight!

This is our second stay at the Inn within a couple of months. It is delightful to be able to sit our on the patio overlooking the golf course. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is the best. Nothing is too much trouble. Can not wait to go back again. Our daughter lives in the area and it is a great way to visit as she enjoys the facilities at the hotel as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right next to Duke University with Duke Forest and Duke Gardens it is lovely to explore.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dukefam
Business
Florida
Sep 24, 2010

Duke visit

The staff was excellent and the hotel is very elegant. Our room was spacious and overlooked the golf course. As we were going to bed, my daughter started sneezing. We looked up and the ceiling next to the a/c unit had black mold on a 3 foot diameter section. I don't want this to reflect on housekeeping because the room was very well kept, but at an older hotel it is hard to keep up with things like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Both the restaurant and bar had wonderful food in a beautiful setting. We will definitely eat here anytime we go to Durham even if we are not staying at the hotel.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SkellyChamp
Business
New York, New York
Sep 2, 2009

Carolina Comfort with a Kink

This didn't get off to a great beginning. Drove all day from New York, arriving in NC for a 2 night stay about 6:30 to discover that the room with two double beds that I had booked for me and my 17 year old son was not available and all they had was a king with a rollaway for my son. Was not happy. Everyone was pleasant but the desk informed me that my booking for a two bed room was just a request not a guarantee (thankfully I didn't come down with the entire family as we would have been 3 to a bed). Ridiculous. Spoke to the manager (very pleasant) who informed me that the inn was sold out and that there was nothing they could do. However, for my inconvenience, they offered to move me the next night to a suite. Not wanting to look for another place to stay, I took them up on the offer. Thankfully, the second day and night made up for the first as they moved me into a two bedroom two bath master suite. That was living. And probably worth the inconvenience, not that I thought that the night before. The inn itself is gorgeous with a great restaurant and bar and indoor pool. The rooms are magnificent and the bathrooms spectacular (all except the water pressure but I've rarely had good water pressure in any hotel). My only real complaint about the facilities themselves is that floor hallways was like being in a meat locker. Colder than a New England winter. We also played the adjacent golf course which was just wonderful. They took our clubs on check-in right from the car and they were waiting for us the next morning. Course was gorgeous (and hard) and the staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Also gave a voucher for a no frills lunch at the 19th hole but it did hit the spot. Notwithstanding the snafu, we had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast, drive to Chapel Hill and hit the Sunrise Kitchen for their biscuits. It's a drive-through but the biscuits are to die for.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sick of it
Business
North Carolina
Apr 22, 2009

great location

overall good, but we had a good rate for the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 26, 2011

Very Nice!

Really classy place. Great service with a very nice room and view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the walking/jogging path right nearby.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGL Family
Business
Weston,FL
Jun 28, 2010

Duke Memories

Very nice location, beautiful hotel but the rooms were a little small for a suite compare to hotels for less money. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke campus is wonderful for long peaceful walks and relaxation

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom24xys
Business
Roanoke VA
Jan 24, 2011

Great Opportunity for Seeing the Triad

Great place to stay for visiting area colleges or just touring the area. Great shops and super restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Magnolia Grille Rated #11 in the country Fabulous Food and very reasonable Rates

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2010

Excellent service, luxurious decor

This is a destination hotel, which we were using for a one night stopover on a drive back from a beach vacation. We got this room because at the special [...] price of $99 it wasn't much more expensive than a typical motel. It was kind of a treat for us, and well worth it. The staff were very friendly and the hotel and room was lushly decorated in a country manor style. Among the facilities, we took advantage of the indoor pool and hot tub. It is small compared to a sun and sand resort, but adequate for this kind of establishment. Since we have kids, but wanted to spend some time with our local friends after the kids were asleep, it was important to have some public spaces we could relax in. The bar was a cozy place to meet up, and when it closed, the outdoor terrace overlooking the golf course was a pleasant place to hang out as Durham's hot summer air eased into night. A large group that were probably guests from the large wedding were also enjoying the night air on the terrace. The main downside was a quite small guest room (we got the basic double). There was a desk, desk chair, two armchairs, but no other table. The bathroom was large compared to other hotels, but the main room had not much floor space except for the beds and a large wardrobe that housed the TV, minibar, safe, and two small drawers (no other dresser). Although the hotel has room service, eating in the room was pretty much out of the question. Note we weren't exactly looking for a large room, so I'm mostly providing this information for others to judge. Durham area motels that I have previously stayed in have larger rooms, but at this place your money is going into service and amenities, not space. Overall, the discounted rate we paid was less than we've paid for a mid-range roadside motel with an ugly room and not much else. This is a much better class of service for not too much more money than most of the 3-star hotels in the area.Note that I've rated the Dining Options at 3 only because we didn't eat at the hotel. There is nothing in the immediate area of the hotel, but many options a short drive away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesterfield, VA
Jan 10, 2011

wonderful hotel in durham

Overall everything was great. The restaurants are expensive but the food tasted great. The only problem was the elavator noise in the seperate kids bunk bed area. This can be reduced we found out by getting the family suite on a higher floor next time we stay there. The pool is small but we had it to ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Back to menu Return to top