$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

4 stars
3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
253 reviews
Duke Perfect..

Visiting our son at Duke University. This was a perfect location for him and us. Sight seeing was... See full review

  • College mom and pop
  • Jul 12, 2014
Cozy room, superb staff

The in room dining is excellent and the warm, professional staff could not be more attentive. I... See full review

  • Tarheel610
  • Mar 14, 2014
A master’s course in elegance and comfort -- and golf too

Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club is an award-winning hotel built in the style of an Old English country inn. The inn, nestled on a 300-acre site in the heartland of North Carolina, features elegant guest rooms and suites, highly regarded dining, and superb meeting facilities. All are surrounded by spectacular landscaping and the challenging Duke University Golf Course.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond Award-winning luxury hotel on the Duke University campus
  • 271 guest rooms and suites offering premium amenities
  • Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Course
  • Top-flight meeting facilities
  • 20 minutes from Raleigh-Durham International Airport, 15 minutes from Research Triangle Park
Rooms

Each room and suite offers comfortable yet elegant décor. The welcoming ambience was inspired by traditional English country inns. King or double beds feature extra thick, 100 percent cotton linens and plush coverings. Bathrooms include Gilchrist & Soames of London products, a lighted makeup mirror, and hair dryer. Workstations provide Wi-Fi and wired Internet access.

Features

Nestled amid North Carolina's distinctive pine trees and stately hardwoods, "the Inn" -- as guests have come to call it since it opened in 1988 -- makes a magnificent impression at first sight. The Old English ambience and impeccable service help instill memories that last a lifetime.

 

The inn offers guests complimentary transportation to Duke University campuses, the Duke University Medical Center, and the Ninth Street entertainment area.

 

Guests are invited to play the beautiful, 18-hole Duke University Golf Course, the only Robert Trent Jones-designed course in the region.

 

The Fairview Dining Room is renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list, and glorious vistas of the golf course.

Transportation
  • Raleigh-Durham International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)
  • Amtrak, Durham (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke University main campus (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Durham Performing Arts Center (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Durham Bulls Athletic Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center with concierge service, computer, and printer
  • Executive Conference Center offers an array of flexible meeting space
  • 20 elegant meeting rooms

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club Rooms

Fairview Suite Golf View
The Fairview Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by french doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Fairview Suites provide a stunning view of Duke Golf Course. The Fairview Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.
Deluxe King
The room offers 1 King Bed with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Deluxe Double
The room offers 2 Double beds with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Junior Suite
This Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by French doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Junior Suites provide a beautiful view of Duke forest. The Junior Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.9935 -78.9474
Area served
Durham.
Nearby airports
RDU International Airport (RDU) - 17 miles.
Area description
Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club is a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning luxury hotel like no other in the region. Built in the style of an old English country inn the hotel is nestled on a 300-acre site and situated in the heartland of North Carolina. The Inn features the Duke University Golf Course, 271 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, the award-winning Fairview Dining Room, the Bull Durham Bar and superb meeting facilities for groups from 20 to 600.

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 0.4 mi

Dining

Bull Durham Bar
The relaxed, intimate atmosphere at the Bull Durham Bar provides the perfect place to enjoy hearty fare and gourmet delights after a round of golf or harried business day. A full lunch menu is offered in addition to a light menu throughout the day. Enjoy the golf course view from your table by the fireplace or from the bar. The Bull Durham Bar is the place to be for good food, good conversation, and good times among friends.
Fairview Dining Room
The Fairview Dining Room is locally, regionally and nationally renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list and its glorious vistas of the prestigious Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Club. The Fairview, perfectly appointed with English antiques and fine paintings, boasts decorative fabric in rich hues and offers guests a luxurious dining experience. And its outdoor terrace is the perfect place to enjoy both the extraordinary cuisine and the region's fine weather. To futher enhance its premier dining experience, the Fairview has assembled an extensive wine list featuring 250 varieties of the world's finest vintages. Forty of these esteemed labels are available by the glass. French, Italian and American wines comprise the wine collection, which consistently receives the Wine Spectator magazine Award of Excellence.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Asheville NC
Sep 20, 2009

Washington Duke Restful Stay

The hotel is lovely - quiet, clean, lovely pool and workout area. Restaurant is good, if a bit expensive. Overall, a very restful, relaxed stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Feb 2, 2010

very nice place!

Hotel was beautiful and very nice - we would definitely go back. The location was perfect! However, our room was a LONG way from the entrance, and the fire alarm went off - a huge trek with a sleeping baby who woke up and was up for a while afterwards. Also, the "tailgate" restaurant experience was terrible - very expensive, and the food was not good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

easy walk to Cameron Indoor Stadium or Wallace Wade Stadium for a game!

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Doylestown, PA
Apr 1, 2010

Always a delight!

This is our second stay at the Inn within a couple of months. It is delightful to be able to sit our on the patio overlooking the golf course. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is the best. Nothing is too much trouble. Can not wait to go back again. Our daughter lives in the area and it is a great way to visit as she enjoys the facilities at the hotel as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right next to Duke University with Duke Forest and Duke Gardens it is lovely to explore.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Worker.
DC Suburbs
Feb 25, 2010

Very nice hotel.

Very nice hotel out of our normal price/style range. We just wanted a quiet 2 days out of town, turned out to be what we needed. Location right next to Duke University worked for all our needs. Very easy to drive into Durham or out to Raleigh. We did not eat in the hotel, but nice/inexpensive restaurants are a short drive away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tennis dentist
Columbia SC
May 26, 2009

feel the quality

The staff were very attentive and friendly. The hotel was first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

great golf course

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AVLtraveler
Asheville,NC
Aug 14, 2011

Covenient Location

Excellent location if you are visiting Duke and a very nice, helpful staff. Average rooms with below average beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the hotel for breakfast and make the short drive to the Guglhupf Bakery and Cafe...awesome!

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGL Family
Weston,FL
Jun 28, 2010

Duke Memories

Very nice location, beautiful hotel but the rooms were a little small for a suite compare to hotels for less money. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke campus is wonderful for long peaceful walks and relaxation

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UVA Fan89
Arlington, Virginia
Feb 18, 2014

Romantic Evening

Courteous service and beautiful rooms. My only complaints were the few hairs left behind in the shower and the decision to not provide my wife and I with a few of the golf course on a not busy weekday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2010

Excellent service, luxurious decor

This is a destination hotel, which we were using for a one night stopover on a drive back from a beach vacation. We got this room because at the special [...] price of $99 it wasn't much more expensive than a typical motel. It was kind of a treat for us, and well worth it. The staff were very friendly and the hotel and room was lushly decorated in a country manor style. Among the facilities, we took advantage of the indoor pool and hot tub. It is small compared to a sun and sand resort, but adequate for this kind of establishment. Since we have kids, but wanted to spend some time with our local friends after the kids were asleep, it was important to have some public spaces we could relax in. The bar was a cozy place to meet up, and when it closed, the outdoor terrace overlooking the golf course was a pleasant place to hang out as Durham's hot summer air eased into night. A large group that were probably guests from the large wedding were also enjoying the night air on the terrace. The main downside was a quite small guest room (we got the basic double). There was a desk, desk chair, two armchairs, but no other table. The bathroom was large compared to other hotels, but the main room had not much floor space except for the beds and a large wardrobe that housed the TV, minibar, safe, and two small drawers (no other dresser). Although the hotel has room service, eating in the room was pretty much out of the question. Note we weren't exactly looking for a large room, so I'm mostly providing this information for others to judge. Durham area motels that I have previously stayed in have larger rooms, but at this place your money is going into service and amenities, not space. Overall, the discounted rate we paid was less than we've paid for a mid-range roadside motel with an ugly room and not much else. This is a much better class of service for not too much more money than most of the 3-star hotels in the area.Note that I've rated the Dining Options at 3 only because we didn't eat at the hotel. There is nothing in the immediate area of the hotel, but many options a short drive away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anniversary123
North Carolina
Jul 26, 2012

Extraordinary Customer Service!

My husband and I stayed here for just one night. However, we couldn't have been more pleased. The location of the hotel is easy to find. We were immediately amazed by the cheerful staff upon entering. We found all the staff to be very helpful and many times, I commented to my husband that I felt the staff was first class (did everything with a smile.) We did sample both restaurants. Both have a different atmosphere and food selection. We found the menu choices to be appealing, the food to be delicious and prices to be of average/high. We were able to tour some of Duke University. Particularly, Duke Chapel with the recommendation of the concierge. There is a lot to see within walking distance. The weather did not allow for us to tour much of the ground outside but the golf course is beautiful. The hotel itself, although built in the 80's allows for you to feel as if you are in a historical site with lots of photos and Duke family memorabilia. I will definitely be staying here again! Next time, for much longer than just one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top