$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

4 stars
View map of 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
170 reviews
College visit

As always, the WaDu was excellent! Hotel is very comfortable, right on campus and you are always... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 16, 2015
concert weekend

Second visit here.Staff exceptional-from valet staff to wait staff. Welcoming atmosphere.Rooms... See full review

  • Thomas
  • Apr 22, 2015
A masters course in elegance and comfort -- and golf too. Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club is an award-winning hotel built in the style of an Old English country inn. The inn, nestled on a 300-acre site in the heartland of North Carolina, features elegant guest rooms and suites, highly regarded dining, and superb meeting facilities. All are surrounded by spectacular landscaping and the challenging Duke University Golf Course.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club Rooms

Deluxe King
The room offers 1 King Bed with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Deluxe Double
The room offers 2 Double beds with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Junior Suite
This Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by French doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Junior Suites provide a beautiful view of Duke forest. The Junior Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.
Fairview Suite Golf View
The Fairview Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by french doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Fairview Suites provide a stunning view of Duke Golf Course. The Fairview Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 0.4 mi

Dining

Bull Durham Bar
The relaxed, intimate atmosphere at the Bull Durham Bar provides the perfect place to enjoy hearty fare and gourmet delights after a round of golf or harried business day. A full lunch menu is offered in addition to a light menu throughout the day. Enjoy the golf course view from your table by the fireplace or from the bar. The Bull Durham Bar is the place to be for good food, good conversation, and good times among friends.
Fairview Dining Room
The Fairview Dining Room is locally, regionally and nationally renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list and its glorious vistas of the prestigious Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Club. The Fairview, perfectly appointed with English antiques and fine paintings, boasts decorative fabric in rich hues and offers guests a luxurious dining experience. And its outdoor terrace is the perfect place to enjoy both the extraordinary cuisine and the region's fine weather. To futher enhance its premier dining experience, the Fairview has assembled an extensive wine list featuring 250 varieties of the world's finest vintages. Forty of these esteemed labels are available by the glass. French, Italian and American wines comprise the wine collection, which consistently receives the Wine Spectator magazine Award of Excellence.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 170
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarheel610
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 14, 2014

Cozy room, superb staff

The in room dining is excellent and the warm, professional staff could not be more attentive. I will definitely stay here again & refer it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nana's restaurant is excellent.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy in Charleston
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 22, 2013

Great Experience

Great Hotel in a serene setting. Staff was professional and courteous. Room was excellent. Overall experience was great. Need to add an outdoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant is outstanding and had a pianist playing.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 15, 2010

great

A bit expensive but the service is great. The rooms are large, well appointed, and very clean. Food in the hotel is fabulous but, again, is on the expensive side. One real perk is the (free) hotel shuttle which can take you around town at fairly short notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 19, 2010

Great Stay

I had a bried but nice stay at the hotel. Great staff and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shrewsbury, MA
Jan 23, 2010

Great Durham Hotel

Great hotel in Durham, especially if you are going to Duke or the Duke Medical Center. The rooms are large, clean, and very comfortable. There is free wireless access throughout the hotel. The staff is very helpful, and you have a couple different options for dining right at the hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I am in the Raleigh/Durham area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SkellyChamp
Business
New York, New York
Sep 2, 2009

Carolina Comfort with a Kink

This didn't get off to a great beginning. Drove all day from New York, arriving in NC for a 2 night stay about 6:30 to discover that the room with two double beds that I had booked for me and my 17 year old son was not available and all they had was a king with a rollaway for my son. Was not happy. Everyone was pleasant but the desk informed me that my booking for a two bed room was just a request not a guarantee (thankfully I didn't come down with the entire family as we would have been 3 to a bed). Ridiculous. Spoke to the manager (very pleasant) who informed me that the inn was sold out and that there was nothing they could do. However, for my inconvenience, they offered to move me the next night to a suite. Not wanting to look for another place to stay, I took them up on the offer. Thankfully, the second day and night made up for the first as they moved me into a two bedroom two bath master suite. That was living. And probably worth the inconvenience, not that I thought that the night before. The inn itself is gorgeous with a great restaurant and bar and indoor pool. The rooms are magnificent and the bathrooms spectacular (all except the water pressure but I've rarely had good water pressure in any hotel). My only real complaint about the facilities themselves is that floor hallways was like being in a meat locker. Colder than a New England winter. We also played the adjacent golf course which was just wonderful. They took our clubs on check-in right from the car and they were waiting for us the next morning. Course was gorgeous (and hard) and the staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Also gave a voucher for a no frills lunch at the 19th hole but it did hit the spot. Notwithstanding the snafu, we had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast, drive to Chapel Hill and hit the Sunrise Kitchen for their biscuits. It's a drive-through but the biscuits are to die for.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Holland
Business
Washington DC
Aug 23, 2009

After the beach

The Washington Duke provides absolutely top notch service, easily on part with a Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton type property. Every staff member was fantastic. My minor complaints would be that the fitness center and pool are subpar, but they do let you have access to the Duke Faculty club, with much better amenities. The club is located on the hotel grounds. This was a great hotel, and I got a great deal booking online with Orbitz. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Aug 23, 2009

Fabulous Hotel

The staff anticipates guest needs. Courteous, friendly and accommodating. Exquisite setting and my first choice when down in the Durham area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top