$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

4 stars
View map of 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
170 reviews
College visit

As always, the WaDu was excellent! Hotel is very comfortable, right on campus and you are always... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 16, 2015
concert weekend

Second visit here.Staff exceptional-from valet staff to wait staff. Welcoming atmosphere.Rooms... See full review

  • Thomas
  • Apr 22, 2015
A master’s course in elegance and comfort -- and golf too

Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club is an award-winning hotel built in the style of an Old English country inn. The inn, nestled on a 300-acre site in the heartland of North Carolina, features elegant guest rooms and suites, highly regarded dining, and superb meeting facilities. All are surrounded by spectacular landscaping and the challenging Duke University Golf Course.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond Award-winning luxury hotel on the Duke University campus
  • 271 guest rooms and suites offering premium amenities
  • Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Course
  • Top-flight meeting facilities
  • 20 minutes from Raleigh-Durham International Airport, 15 minutes from Research Triangle Park
Rooms

Each room and suite offers comfortable yet elegant décor. The welcoming ambience was inspired by traditional English country inns. King or double beds feature extra thick, 100 percent cotton linens and plush coverings. Bathrooms include Gilchrist & Soames of London products, a lighted makeup mirror, and hair dryer. Workstations provide Wi-Fi and wired Internet access.

Features

Nestled amid North Carolina's distinctive pine trees and stately hardwoods, "the Inn" -- as guests have come to call it since it opened in 1988 -- makes a magnificent impression at first sight. The Old English ambience and impeccable service help instill memories that last a lifetime.

 

The inn offers guests complimentary transportation to Duke University campuses, the Duke University Medical Center, and the Ninth Street entertainment area.

 

Guests are invited to play the beautiful, 18-hole Duke University Golf Course, the only Robert Trent Jones-designed course in the region.

 

The Fairview Dining Room is renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list, and glorious vistas of the golf course.

Transportation
  • Raleigh-Durham International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)
  • Amtrak, Durham (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke University main campus (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Durham Performing Arts Center (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Durham Bulls Athletic Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center with concierge service, computer, and printer
  • Executive Conference Center offers an array of flexible meeting space
  • 20 elegant meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club Rooms

Deluxe King
The room offers 1 King Bed with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Deluxe Double
The room offers 2 Double beds with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Junior Suite
This Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by French doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Junior Suites provide a beautiful view of Duke forest. The Junior Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.
Fairview Suite Golf View
The Fairview Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by french doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Fairview Suites provide a stunning view of Duke Golf Course. The Fairview Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 0.4 mi

Dining

Bull Durham Bar
The relaxed, intimate atmosphere at the Bull Durham Bar provides the perfect place to enjoy hearty fare and gourmet delights after a round of golf or harried business day. A full lunch menu is offered in addition to a light menu throughout the day. Enjoy the golf course view from your table by the fireplace or from the bar. The Bull Durham Bar is the place to be for good food, good conversation, and good times among friends.
Fairview Dining Room
The Fairview Dining Room is locally, regionally and nationally renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list and its glorious vistas of the prestigious Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Club. The Fairview, perfectly appointed with English antiques and fine paintings, boasts decorative fabric in rich hues and offers guests a luxurious dining experience. And its outdoor terrace is the perfect place to enjoy both the extraordinary cuisine and the region's fine weather. To futher enhance its premier dining experience, the Fairview has assembled an extensive wine list featuring 250 varieties of the world's finest vintages. Forty of these esteemed labels are available by the glass. French, Italian and American wines comprise the wine collection, which consistently receives the Wine Spectator magazine Award of Excellence.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Havelock, NC
Mar 19, 2010

Washington More a 1 Star

The room wasn't what we expected. It was on anniversary and we traveled 3 hours to hotel just for the jacuzzi. [...] the way everything is worded it misleads you into thinking there is a whirlpool/jacuzzi/ in the room but there is only one jacuzzi downstairs near the pool big enough for 2 people for a huge 5 story hotel and it was broken. The fridge/mini bar you can't keep anything in there or else they charge you to. We tried hooking up a XBox and DVD player to the connectors, but there were disable purposely by hotel. They told us if we wanted to watch a movie we had to order it which cost $20 a movie. It is a 1 star room in a 4 star hotel. We couldn't even get a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TheFreedomAngel
Business
New York, NY
Oct 6, 2010

Pleasant until... Horrific attitude

my experience with this hotel was pleasant until the end of my stay. on 9/28 I sent my stained suit trousers to dry clean using the hotel's valet service, but I was stupid to assume that it is high quality and trustable. on 9/29 I received my trousers back, not only the stain was not fully cleaned *but also* the pants had white lint-like fluff all over the fabric. immediately I knew that the trousers was irrecoverable, because I had the exact same pants which I mishandled by throwing it into the washing machine instead of dry clean and ended up with white fluffs all over it, and couldn't be undone so I had to throw it away. the pants that I sent to laundry at Washington Duke Inn is the second pair I *just* bought, obvioulsy the valet service did not handle it well. I immediately told the hotel staff about it, and they mentioned they could send it back to the valet and try to *fix* it. on 9/30 I got the pants back and as expected the white lint-like fluff is still obvious on the pants. I put on my suit and the fabric of my pants doesn't match that of the suit anymore. any man who had worn suits before would know that the fabric is the life of a business suit, and even slight mishandling would ruin it. now I am left with another ruined pants that cost me couple of hundred dollars *twice* and a suit jacket that is missing pants. I am so glad I did not send in my suit. this was not yet the most agitating thing. when I took it up to the manager on 9/30, to sum up his excuses – we don't do laundry so we don't take responsibility of what the valet service did, we don't know whether the pants were in good shape before it was sent to valet, the white stuff is not that obvious afterall. how ridiculous it is to see an upscale hotel rated #4 out of 40 in Durham blame its suppliers for poor service *in front of* the customer, it is just like blaming Panasonic for a broken TV, the labor market for unskilled waiters, the sky for raining. if you look on the valet slip they provide the hotel logo is on it. and why in the world would I complain if I didn't notice a difference on my pants, shows how ignorant to customers this hotel is. at least I would've expected a satisfactory answer such as "yes this is our fault, we will contact valet to investigate and see if something can be done" instead of some ignorant and fault-less response. when I was so done with the manager I wanted to speak directly to the director, knowing that I am checking out the early next day I left my phone number that night, but no one ever called. that night I demanded to speak with the director to get this sorted, but was refused. this is how the hotel show dedication to customer service, made a mistake, no problem just think of some excuse and get away with it. they even dare to charge my valet the next day I checked out, why not attach a slip saying "$6.00 cash or credit please pay for getting your pants ruined".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Acworth, GA
Dec 28, 2009

Not Recommended

Very disappointed in the quality of this hotel. It was noisy and the beds were uncomfortable. My son was more interested in sleeping on the floor than sleeping in the bed. The television is out of date, and there was a slight musty smell to the room. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tired Traveler too
Business
Greenville, NC
Dec 26, 2013

Dining Room Woes

One of the worst dining experiences ever. The hostess was rude, and it appeared she was requesting a 'donation' to get a table. I refused to pay, thus, I had to wait a long time to get a table. I eventually forced the issue upon the manager, and finally got a table. I will not go back to this place. The staff need 'soft skill' training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Dec 28, 2009

Washington Duke Inn (Not Impressed)

I feel that the Inn was adequate, but not exceptional in any way. There was quite a bit of commotion taking place in the hall way, and the noise was clearly audible even within my suite. I allowed my children to sleep on the pull out sleeper, only to find it very uncomfortable. I'm sorry to say that I would not recommend the Washington Duke Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clyde the Wonder Dog
Business
Denver
Jul 3, 2014

A trip to include a visit to Duke University

The room and hallways needed a good vacuuming. The room felt somewhat tired and need of an update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If needing to visit Duke University it is right next to the campus.

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wrightsville Mom
Business
Wilmington, NC, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Best you will find in Durham

I do not think there is a large selection of places to stay in Durham. I may have been a little harsh in in my overall rating, but I am use to staying in much nicer accommodations, such as the Ritz Carlton. This place makes you put down a $500- deposit when you arrive to cover any charges made to the room... That tells you about some of the people that probably stay there- ones that do not or cannot pay there bill. The food in the restaurant was good (especially the hamburger). Service was fair. I ordered my son's, who is 4, food first and got served my food first instead. The waiter hardly ever checked on us. I also ordered room service one morning and requested that part of the order be delivered next door. I told him to just go next door and knock, he said he would take care of it and left my room. I opened the door to check and found him wandering on down the hall with the order of food. Also, as far as housekeeping, the bed linens were not changed and the floor in the bathroom was not cleaned, which leads me to believe that they did not vacuum, either. There is a shuttle that takes you to and from the hospital and around town to near by restaurants, which runs from 6 am to 7pm, that was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
innocent traveler
Business
Coastal NC
May 8, 2011

VERY EXPENSIVE FOR WHAT?

Last weekend we stayed at the Sheraton in Chapel Hill and it was just as nice maybe nicer for 1/4 of the price of the Washington Duke!!!! Our view was of the parking lot; bottle of water in room was $7.00! (free at the Sheraton); room was average nice and air conditioner was very loud. Definitely disappointing. Maybe if you are there to golf and could see the course but not worth the price at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RakTravels
Business
Pelham, NY
Jan 1, 2011

Beautiful, but had some small issues

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wolf45
Business
Charlotte
Nov 27, 2014

Just OK

Upgraded to a suite but unfortunately it was dirty and tired. Place needs an upgrade. Furniture is dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top