$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

4 stars
3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
161 reviews
Great weekend

Washington Duke Inn is everything advertised. Elegant hotel, wondrful courteous staff, room had all... See full review

  • Joe and Sandra
  • Dec 1, 2014
Perfect stay

No better place to stay when visiting Duke University. It's within easy walking distance to the... See full review

  • Go Duke
  • Nov 17, 2014
A master’s course in elegance and comfort -- and golf too

Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club is an award-winning hotel built in the style of an Old English country inn. The inn, nestled on a 300-acre site in the heartland of North Carolina, features elegant guest rooms and suites, highly regarded dining, and superb meeting facilities. All are surrounded by spectacular landscaping and the challenging Duke University Golf Course.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond Award-winning luxury hotel on the Duke University campus
  • 271 guest rooms and suites offering premium amenities
  • Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Course
  • Top-flight meeting facilities
  • 20 minutes from Raleigh-Durham International Airport, 15 minutes from Research Triangle Park
Rooms

Each room and suite offers comfortable yet elegant décor. The welcoming ambience was inspired by traditional English country inns. King or double beds feature extra thick, 100 percent cotton linens and plush coverings. Bathrooms include Gilchrist & Soames of London products, a lighted makeup mirror, and hair dryer. Workstations provide Wi-Fi and wired Internet access.

Features

Nestled amid North Carolina's distinctive pine trees and stately hardwoods, "the Inn" -- as guests have come to call it since it opened in 1988 -- makes a magnificent impression at first sight. The Old English ambience and impeccable service help instill memories that last a lifetime.

 

The inn offers guests complimentary transportation to Duke University campuses, the Duke University Medical Center, and the Ninth Street entertainment area.

 

Guests are invited to play the beautiful, 18-hole Duke University Golf Course, the only Robert Trent Jones-designed course in the region.

 

The Fairview Dining Room is renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list, and glorious vistas of the golf course.

Transportation
  • Raleigh-Durham International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)
  • Amtrak, Durham (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke University main campus (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Durham Performing Arts Center (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Durham Bulls Athletic Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center with concierge service, computer, and printer
  • Executive Conference Center offers an array of flexible meeting space
  • 20 elegant meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club Rooms

Fairview Suite Golf View
The Fairview Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by french doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Fairview Suites provide a stunning view of Duke Golf Course. The Fairview Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.
Deluxe King
The room offers 1 King Bed with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Deluxe Double
The room offers 2 Double beds with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Junior Suite
This Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by French doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Junior Suites provide a beautiful view of Duke forest. The Junior Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 0.4 mi

Dining

Bull Durham Bar
The relaxed, intimate atmosphere at the Bull Durham Bar provides the perfect place to enjoy hearty fare and gourmet delights after a round of golf or harried business day. A full lunch menu is offered in addition to a light menu throughout the day. Enjoy the golf course view from your table by the fireplace or from the bar. The Bull Durham Bar is the place to be for good food, good conversation, and good times among friends.
Fairview Dining Room
The Fairview Dining Room is locally, regionally and nationally renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list and its glorious vistas of the prestigious Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Club. The Fairview, perfectly appointed with English antiques and fine paintings, boasts decorative fabric in rich hues and offers guests a luxurious dining experience. And its outdoor terrace is the perfect place to enjoy both the extraordinary cuisine and the region's fine weather. To futher enhance its premier dining experience, the Fairview has assembled an extensive wine list featuring 250 varieties of the world's finest vintages. Forty of these esteemed labels are available by the glass. French, Italian and American wines comprise the wine collection, which consistently receives the Wine Spectator magazine Award of Excellence.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vbaljunkey
Ashburn, VA
Apr 2, 2013

Luxurious

I felt like I was staying in a homey mansion. The view from my room was exquisite and the path around the grounds was worth every second of the 3 mile walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dame's Chicken and Waffles. A delicious experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NC-girl-at-heart
Business
West Virginia
Jan 18, 2011

Class and elegance!

The service is always impeccable at the Washington Duke, and this visit was no different! The room was beautifully appointed. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesterfield, VA
Jan 10, 2011

wonderful hotel in durham

Overall everything was great. The restaurants are expensive but the food tasted great. The only problem was the elavator noise in the seperate kids bunk bed area. This can be reduced we found out by getting the family suite on a higher floor next time we stay there. The pool is small but we had it to ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RakTravels
Business
Pelham, NY
Jan 1, 2011

Beautiful, but had some small issues

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 15, 2010

great

A bit expensive but the service is great. The rooms are large, well appointed, and very clean. Food in the hotel is fabulous but, again, is on the expensive side. One real perk is the (free) hotel shuttle which can take you around town at fairly short notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boca raton
Nov 29, 2010

perfect

top of the line

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Nov 29, 2010

Thanksgiving

pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TheFreedomAngel
Business
New York, NY
Oct 6, 2010

Pleasant until... Horrific attitude

my experience with this hotel was pleasant until the end of my stay. on 9/28 I sent my stained suit trousers to dry clean using the hotel's valet service, but I was stupid to assume that it is high quality and trustable. on 9/29 I received my trousers back, not only the stain was not fully cleaned *but also* the pants had white lint-like fluff all over the fabric. immediately I knew that the trousers was irrecoverable, because I had the exact same pants which I mishandled by throwing it into the washing machine instead of dry clean and ended up with white fluffs all over it, and couldn't be undone so I had to throw it away. the pants that I sent to laundry at Washington Duke Inn is the second pair I *just* bought, obvioulsy the valet service did not handle it well. I immediately told the hotel staff about it, and they mentioned they could send it back to the valet and try to *fix* it. on 9/30 I got the pants back and as expected the white lint-like fluff is still obvious on the pants. I put on my suit and the fabric of my pants doesn't match that of the suit anymore. any man who had worn suits before would know that the fabric is the life of a business suit, and even slight mishandling would ruin it. now I am left with another ruined pants that cost me couple of hundred dollars *twice* and a suit jacket that is missing pants. I am so glad I did not send in my suit. this was not yet the most agitating thing. when I took it up to the manager on 9/30, to sum up his excuses – we don't do laundry so we don't take responsibility of what the valet service did, we don't know whether the pants were in good shape before it was sent to valet, the white stuff is not that obvious afterall. how ridiculous it is to see an upscale hotel rated #4 out of 40 in Durham blame its suppliers for poor service *in front of* the customer, it is just like blaming Panasonic for a broken TV, the labor market for unskilled waiters, the sky for raining. if you look on the valet slip they provide the hotel logo is on it. and why in the world would I complain if I didn't notice a difference on my pants, shows how ignorant to customers this hotel is. at least I would've expected a satisfactory answer such as "yes this is our fault, we will contact valet to investigate and see if something can be done" instead of some ignorant and fault-less response. when I was so done with the manager I wanted to speak directly to the director, knowing that I am checking out the early next day I left my phone number that night, but no one ever called. that night I demanded to speak with the director to get this sorted, but was refused. this is how the hotel show dedication to customer service, made a mistake, no problem just think of some excuse and get away with it. they even dare to charge my valet the next day I checked out, why not attach a slip saying "$6.00 cash or credit please pay for getting your pants ruined".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dukefam
Business
Florida
Sep 24, 2010

Duke visit

The staff was excellent and the hotel is very elegant. Our room was spacious and overlooked the golf course. As we were going to bed, my daughter started sneezing. We looked up and the ceiling next to the a/c unit had black mold on a 3 foot diameter section. I don't want this to reflect on housekeeping because the room was very well kept, but at an older hotel it is hard to keep up with things like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Both the restaurant and bar had wonderful food in a beautiful setting. We will definitely eat here anytime we go to Durham even if we are not staying at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stuart, fl
Aug 24, 2010

get what you pay for

Proximity to Duke was essential. The hotel was beautiful, well taken care of, welcoming. Staff was knowledgable and helpful. Breakfast, as well as other meals were expensive. Overall, it was fairly priced for what the hotel provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 21, 2010

Great setting, great price

Overlooks the golf course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Magnolia Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top