$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

4 stars
View map of 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey-Moscow
Feb 8, 2011

Excellent choice for the Business trip!

We had business partners from Overseas. It was a great experience for them and the service was impacable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Golf and food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MD
Jan 30, 2011

Ok if you like Duke people (just kidding

Nestled in the Duke University setting and the opportunity to purchase as many Duke shirts, mugs, etc that one would like, it is a nice place. Service, food and drink was very good. Room was good except for a sometimes noisey AC/heater. I do not play golf but it would be an excellent place for a foursome to spend a weekend. The restaurants in downtown Durham at the Brightleaf Center were very good. Outdoor dining in the spring/summer should be great. We were there in Jan. when it was 60 degrees. I would gladly return for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom24xys
Business
Roanoke VA
Jan 24, 2011

Great Opportunity for Seeing the Triad

Great place to stay for visiting area colleges or just touring the area. Great shops and super restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Magnolia Grille Rated #11 in the country Fabulous Food and very reasonable Rates

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NC-girl-at-heart
Business
West Virginia
Jan 18, 2011

Class and elegance!

The service is always impeccable at the Washington Duke, and this visit was no different! The room was beautifully appointed. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesterfield, VA
Jan 10, 2011

wonderful hotel in durham

Overall everything was great. The restaurants are expensive but the food tasted great. The only problem was the elavator noise in the seperate kids bunk bed area. This can be reduced we found out by getting the family suite on a higher floor next time we stay there. The pool is small but we had it to ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RakTravels
Business
Pelham, NY
Jan 1, 2011

Beautiful, but had some small issues

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 15, 2010

great

A bit expensive but the service is great. The rooms are large, well appointed, and very clean. Food in the hotel is fabulous but, again, is on the expensive side. One real perk is the (free) hotel shuttle which can take you around town at fairly short notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boca raton
Nov 29, 2010

perfect

top of the line

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Nov 29, 2010

Thanksgiving

pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TheFreedomAngel
Business
New York, NY
Oct 6, 2010

Pleasant until... Horrific attitude

my experience with this hotel was pleasant until the end of my stay. on 9/28 I sent my stained suit trousers to dry clean using the hotel's valet service, but I was stupid to assume that it is high quality and trustable. on 9/29 I received my trousers back, not only the stain was not fully cleaned *but also* the pants had white lint-like fluff all over the fabric. immediately I knew that the trousers was irrecoverable, because I had the exact same pants which I mishandled by throwing it into the washing machine instead of dry clean and ended up with white fluffs all over it, and couldn't be undone so I had to throw it away. the pants that I sent to laundry at Washington Duke Inn is the second pair I *just* bought, obvioulsy the valet service did not handle it well. I immediately told the hotel staff about it, and they mentioned they could send it back to the valet and try to *fix* it. on 9/30 I got the pants back and as expected the white lint-like fluff is still obvious on the pants. I put on my suit and the fabric of my pants doesn't match that of the suit anymore. any man who had worn suits before would know that the fabric is the life of a business suit, and even slight mishandling would ruin it. now I am left with another ruined pants that cost me couple of hundred dollars *twice* and a suit jacket that is missing pants. I am so glad I did not send in my suit. this was not yet the most agitating thing. when I took it up to the manager on 9/30, to sum up his excuses – we don't do laundry so we don't take responsibility of what the valet service did, we don't know whether the pants were in good shape before it was sent to valet, the white stuff is not that obvious afterall. how ridiculous it is to see an upscale hotel rated #4 out of 40 in Durham blame its suppliers for poor service *in front of* the customer, it is just like blaming Panasonic for a broken TV, the labor market for unskilled waiters, the sky for raining. if you look on the valet slip they provide the hotel logo is on it. and why in the world would I complain if I didn't notice a difference on my pants, shows how ignorant to customers this hotel is. at least I would've expected a satisfactory answer such as "yes this is our fault, we will contact valet to investigate and see if something can be done" instead of some ignorant and fault-less response. when I was so done with the manager I wanted to speak directly to the director, knowing that I am checking out the early next day I left my phone number that night, but no one ever called. that night I demanded to speak with the director to get this sorted, but was refused. this is how the hotel show dedication to customer service, made a mistake, no problem just think of some excuse and get away with it. they even dare to charge my valet the next day I checked out, why not attach a slip saying "$6.00 cash or credit please pay for getting your pants ruined".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top