$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

4 stars
3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
157 reviews
Great getaway

Our second time at this hotel and both times a wonderful experience. It is a beautifully kept... See full review

  • Kiran S
  • Oct 6, 2014
Duke Perfect..

Visiting our son at Duke University. This was a perfect location for him and us. Sight seeing was... See full review

  • College mom and pop
  • Jul 12, 2014
A master’s course in elegance and comfort -- and golf too

Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club is an award-winning hotel built in the style of an Old English country inn. The inn, nestled on a 300-acre site in the heartland of North Carolina, features elegant guest rooms and suites, highly regarded dining, and superb meeting facilities. All are surrounded by spectacular landscaping and the challenging Duke University Golf Course.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond Award-winning luxury hotel on the Duke University campus
  • 271 guest rooms and suites offering premium amenities
  • Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Course
  • Top-flight meeting facilities
  • 20 minutes from Raleigh-Durham International Airport, 15 minutes from Research Triangle Park
Rooms

Each room and suite offers comfortable yet elegant décor. The welcoming ambience was inspired by traditional English country inns. King or double beds feature extra thick, 100 percent cotton linens and plush coverings. Bathrooms include Gilchrist & Soames of London products, a lighted makeup mirror, and hair dryer. Workstations provide Wi-Fi and wired Internet access.

Features

Nestled amid North Carolina's distinctive pine trees and stately hardwoods, "the Inn" -- as guests have come to call it since it opened in 1988 -- makes a magnificent impression at first sight. The Old English ambience and impeccable service help instill memories that last a lifetime.

 

The inn offers guests complimentary transportation to Duke University campuses, the Duke University Medical Center, and the Ninth Street entertainment area.

 

Guests are invited to play the beautiful, 18-hole Duke University Golf Course, the only Robert Trent Jones-designed course in the region.

 

The Fairview Dining Room is renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list, and glorious vistas of the golf course.

Transportation
  • Raleigh-Durham International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)
  • Amtrak, Durham (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke University main campus (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Durham Performing Arts Center (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Durham Bulls Athletic Park (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center with concierge service, computer, and printer
  • Executive Conference Center offers an array of flexible meeting space
  • 20 elegant meeting rooms

Hotel Map

35.9935 -78.9474
Area served
Durham.
Nearby airports
RDU International Airport (RDU) - 17 miles.
Area description
Located on the campus of Duke University, the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club is a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning luxury hotel like no other in the region. Built in the style of an old English country inn the hotel is nestled on a 300-acre site and situated in the heartland of North Carolina. The Inn features the Duke University Golf Course, 271 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, the award-winning Fairview Dining Room, the Bull Durham Bar and superb meeting facilities for groups from 20 to 600.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club Rooms

Fairview Suite Golf View
The Fairview Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by french doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Fairview Suites provide a stunning view of Duke Golf Course. The Fairview Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.
Deluxe King
The room offers 1 King Bed with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Deluxe Double
The room offers 2 Double beds with airconditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, jacuzzi/whirpool/spa bath laundry mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms pay TV, pay - per view movies, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, tea, Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee, telephone, valet service, voice mail.
Junior Suite
This Suite is a quaint Junior suite with a king size bed. The English country interior design features the highest standard of luxury while also allowing the guest a sense of home. The living room which is separated from the bedroom by French doors has a sleeper sofa (full mattress). All rooms have luxurious marble bathrooms with the finest linens. All Junior Suites provide a beautiful view of Duke forest. The Junior Suite is ideal for a small family or a business traveler who may want to hold small meetings in his or her room. All rooms are non-smoking. Keurig Coffee makers and Green Mountain Coffee available in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 0.4 mi

Dining

Bull Durham Bar
The relaxed, intimate atmosphere at the Bull Durham Bar provides the perfect place to enjoy hearty fare and gourmet delights after a round of golf or harried business day. A full lunch menu is offered in addition to a light menu throughout the day. Enjoy the golf course view from your table by the fireplace or from the bar. The Bull Durham Bar is the place to be for good food, good conversation, and good times among friends.
Fairview Dining Room
The Fairview Dining Room is locally, regionally and nationally renowned for its seasonally inspired contemporary cuisine, exceptional service, extensive wine list and its glorious vistas of the prestigious Robert Trent Jones-designed Duke University Golf Club. The Fairview, perfectly appointed with English antiques and fine paintings, boasts decorative fabric in rich hues and offers guests a luxurious dining experience. And its outdoor terrace is the perfect place to enjoy both the extraordinary cuisine and the region's fine weather. To futher enhance its premier dining experience, the Fairview has assembled an extensive wine list featuring 250 varieties of the world's finest vintages. Forty of these esteemed labels are available by the glass. French, Italian and American wines comprise the wine collection, which consistently receives the Wine Spectator magazine Award of Excellence.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Feb 2, 2010

very nice place!

Hotel was beautiful and very nice - we would definitely go back. The location was perfect! However, our room was a LONG way from the entrance, and the fire alarm went off - a huge trek with a sleeping baby who woke up and was up for a while afterwards. Also, the "tailgate" restaurant experience was terrible - very expensive, and the food was not good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

easy walk to Cameron Indoor Stadium or Wallace Wade Stadium for a game!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shrewsbury, MA
Jan 23, 2010

Great Durham Hotel

Great hotel in Durham, especially if you are going to Duke or the Duke Medical Center. The rooms are large, clean, and very comfortable. There is free wireless access throughout the hotel. The staff is very helpful, and you have a couple different options for dining right at the hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I am in the Raleigh/Durham area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L. W. Keeley
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 20, 2010

Unbelievable property for the price

Exceptional service and southern hospitality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The absolute best lodging property (for location & quality) if you're visiting Duke University.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N.C.
Jan 17, 2010

Amazing Hotel!

Elegant and clean with a very friendly staff! We stayed at this hotel because it has a smoke free property and we were in the area for our 2 year old's chemotherapy. The beds were extremely comfortable and the mini bar was stocked! Although the food and amenities were way too expensive, they added to the wonderful and relaxing night we had! We will stay there whenever we get the chance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Mill, SC
Jan 17, 2010

What a luxurious place

This was a lovely place and I would not hesitate to stay there again. I was a little disappointed at our greeting - I felt that the check in staff was a little less than friendly because we had booked the hotel at a discounted rate. We had dinner in the Bull Durham Bar and could not have been treated any better anywhere. We had exceptional food and it had great ambiance. It was lovely and relaxing after a long day of travel. The room was lovely and comfortable. The bathroom lacked a built in hairdryer. I found a little dinky one in the closet. Breakfast in the Dining Room was lovely, the food was good and the staff was very nice. The concierge was not real pleased to give me directions to coffee and breakfast so by then I had completely given up on the hotel staff until we were checking out and the front desk staff was more than gracious and thankful for our stay. I do think that the extras are very expensive - a bottle of water in our room was $7.00. The restaurant and bar were also quite pricey but they were worth every penny. We spent as much on dinner and breakfast as we did on our room and it was worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were in town to go to Duke Medical Center. It was very close by and easy to get to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 1, 2010

Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

We spent one night at the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holiday season. We enjoyed walking the wooded trails right outside the hotel in the morning. Breakfast was scrumptious in the stately dining room...fresh squeezed OJ, lox and bagels, cold and hot cereals, pastries, yogurt, fruit, yogurt, and hot entrees were all available. Our only complaint would be that the water pressure in the shower was little to none, felt like taking a shower under a garden hose. We would stay here again..although maybe we would have the water pressure checked in our room before coming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Dec 28, 2009

Washington Duke Inn (Not Impressed)

I feel that the Inn was adequate, but not exceptional in any way. There was quite a bit of commotion taking place in the hall way, and the noise was clearly audible even within my suite. I allowed my children to sleep on the pull out sleeper, only to find it very uncomfortable. I'm sorry to say that I would not recommend the Washington Duke Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Acworth, GA
Dec 28, 2009

Not Recommended

Very disappointed in the quality of this hotel. It was noisy and the beds were uncomfortable. My son was more interested in sleeping on the floor than sleeping in the bed. The television is out of date, and there was a slight musty smell to the room. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gbtinker
Business
Frankfort, KY
Dec 25, 2009

Fantastic deal--hope we can do again

we were closely located to family and activities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Dec 14, 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay!

We went for the High school state championship games. The service was excellent. The bed was like being at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top