$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

3 stars
5310 McFarland Drive, 5310 McFarland Drive, Durham, NC 27707
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
42 reviews
Perfect for a visit to UNC!

Comfortable, quiet, clean. The rooms are modern, stylish. The comforter, beds and pillows are... See full review

  • Visiting UNC Mom
  • Sep 21, 2014
Quick Trip

We just needed a one night stay for a quick trip to NC. This hotel was in a great location. Walking... See full review

  • Summer travler
  • Feb 18, 2014
For a welcoming and affordable hotel experience, nothing beats the SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill. Whether you're here for work or simply to explore the Chapel Hill, NC area, you'll be delighted with our hotel's superb amenities and friendly service. Our rooms and suites are spacious and functional; helpful extras like a spacious work area and free wireless Internet help you to stay connected and productive. Enjoy perks including a mini-fridge and refrigerator, as well as an in-room coffee maker and an iHome docking station. Further hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and indoor pool; maintain your workout routine while you're here in Durham. Take advantage of our breakfast buffet every morning, and mingle with fellow hotel guests at our evening social two nights a week. And let's not forget our location, just a few miles from the airport, research Triangle Park, and local businesses. It's all waiting for you here at the SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill.

Hotel Map

35.9496 -78.9911
Area served
Durham
Nearby airports
Raleigh-Durham International Airport, (RDU), 16.30, MI, NW; Piedmont Triad International Airport, (GSO), 61.70, MI, SE;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Horseback riding
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 4.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Visiting UNC Mom
Business
Philly, PA
Sep 21, 2014

Perfect for a visit to UNC!

Comfortable, quiet, clean. The rooms are modern, stylish. The comforter, beds and pillows are heavenly! The pool and jacuzzi, though small, are both well-maintained, clean and perfect for families. The breakfast buffet is easily one of the nicest "complimentary" hotel breakfasts we've had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennie Traveller
Business
Illinois
Jun 28, 2014

Good location

The hotel is located within walking distance of several good restaurants and stores and only a few miles from the University and shops and great dining. The staff are friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the car and walk to Applebees , Kanza Japanese steak house or Outbacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couples weekend away
Business
Charlotte
Mar 17, 2014

Quick Trip

Clean and comfortable - good breakfast. The people were great and the food kept coming, even when busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shanick
Business
Ontario, Canada
Mar 3, 2014

Great location

Enjoyed our stay. Hotel was clean and quiet. We were in Chapel Hill for a birthday get together so this location was perfect. This was our fourth stay at the Springhill Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Summer travler
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Feb 18, 2014

Quick Trip

We just needed a one night stay for a quick trip to NC. This hotel was in a great location. Walking distance to restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SurferDan
Business
Maryland, USA
Nov 30, 2013

Great Hotel.

Staff was efficient and very friendly. The room was very clean, comfortable, and well equipped. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. The amenities were excellent. We'll definitely use this hotel next time we visit Durham NC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobbyn
Business
Charlotte
Nov 18, 2013

school visit

breakfast a plus for the price and a close location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pafarmer
Business
PA
Oct 4, 2013

Great Location and Staff but lousy breakfast

I have stayed at this hotel at least 5 times in the past. The location is great - half way between Duke University in Durham and the other school in Chapel Hill (we are Duke fans) and less than 30 minutes from RDU airport. It is easy to get to from the I-40 & 15-501 interchange. There is plenty of dining and shopping nearby. The rooms are clean large non-smoking studio suites with comfortable beds and enough towels. It has a nice indoor pool and hot tub. The staff is extra nice and helpful. It would be perfect for 2 big things: 1) The "kitchenette" is a small dorm size fridge unit (no freezer area) and a microwave. There wasn't even the promised paper plate in the microwave. 2) The included buffet breakfast is horrid and was exactly the same 5 days in a row - tough dry sausage patties and scrambled type eggs, oatmeal and pastries and mediocre coffee . When I stayed there in February the menu was varied included more meat and egg choices as well as waffles and fruit. We had to go out for breakfast every day this last visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out all the dining options nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KL Traveller
Business
Maryland
Aug 26, 2013

Good facility and good value

It was a very pleasant experience. It was a bit too hard to find probably due to its newness, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
looking at law schools
Business
Northern California
Jun 23, 2013

excellent value

I am from Northern California and this was my first trip to RDU area. The hotel is located within close driving distance to both UNC and Duke. It is modern and appears to be fairly new. The hotel staff and employees are very pleasant and helpful. My room was a 2 Queen mini suite. The sofa, desk, micro wave and refrigerator were at the room's entrance. The bathroom, which had a pedestal sink, was separate from the shower and double sink area. Between these two areas was a walk in closet. The two queen beds were against the other wall of the room. It was large, well maintained and comfortable. There is a 24 hour fitness room, but this is really just a room with a few aerobic machines. The pool looked clean. Free breakfast is included. It was comparable to other hotels:... eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, cereal, yogurt, bagel etc. The hotel was quiet. For a 3 star hotel is was equal to most 4 star hotels except for the ambiance and smaller facilities. I would stay here again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top