$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Millennium Hotel Durham

3 stars
2800 Campus Walk Avenue, Durham, NC 27705
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
58 reviews
millennium hotel was great

hotel was clean, desk clerk was friendly and i would stay there again.... See full review

  • rambling wreck from ga
  • Sep 1, 2014
Last minute

The hotel is huge!! Very grand main entrance. The hall I was located on seemed a little dated but... See full review

  • lost in durhum
  • Aug 1, 2014
Business-friendly Durham hotel with two restaurants and event space

Business-friendly amenities and a great location minutes from Duke University make the Millennium Hotel Durham a top choice for meetings, banquets and special events. Two ballrooms each accommodate up to 500 guests, while eight conference suites are perfectly suited for meetings, classes, training and intimate events. Clean, cozy Millennium Hotel Durham guest rooms ensure a great night's sleep, while two on-site restaurants serve up delicious meals with influences as diverse as Italy and the American South.

Highlights
  • Fitness center, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi
  • Bel Gusto restaurant and Varsity Lounge
  • Minutes from Duke University
  • Event space including two ballrooms
  • Free parking
Rooms

At the Millennium Hotel Durham, expect the kind of cozy, at-home comfort road-weary travelers often long for -- poster beds, crisp plaid bedding and cushioned executive chairs with lots of room get work done. Choose from one king or two queen-sized beds. Satellite TV, in-room movies (fees apply), coffee-makers, hair-dryers, irons and ironing boards are provided. Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees apply). Superior plus rooms include a microwave and refrigerator. One- and two-bedroom suites feature separate living rooms, ideal for larger groups or extended stays.

Features

After a long day of business or sightseeing, unwind with a swim at the Millennium Hotel Durham indoor pool and Jacuzzi. A fitness center is also available.

Dining

The hearty Bel Gusto Grand Breakfast Buffet is a great way to start the day, with pastries, biscuits with sausage gravy and plenty of other yummy indulgences. Shrimp and grits is a dinner favorite at Bel Gusto, along with juicy steaks and anything-but-simple sandwiches. The Varsity Lounge and Bar at the Millennium Hotel Durham is a popular spot for a nightcap and light meal.

Transportation
  • Durham Station Transportation Center (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Raleigh-Durham International Airport (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Airport and local area shuttle available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Duke University (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Durham Civic Center Complex (3 mi/4.7 km)
  • Durham Bulls Athletic Park (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • Museum of Life and Science (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Business
  • Lobby business center with Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Exclusive business center for Club Floor guests
  • 16,000 square feet of function space including two ballrooms
  • Faculty Boardroom adjacent to Bel Gusto's restaurant
  • On-site catering services

Hotel Map

36.0099 -78.953
Nearby airports
Raliegh Durham International, (RDU), 28.97, KM, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Hotel Durham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Millennium Hotel Durham Rooms

Standard 1 King Bed
The Standard room offers an oversized non-smoking room with one plush king bed. In room amenities include a work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable TV, movies on demand, hairdryer, coffeemaker and iron/ironing board.
Parlour Suite
Parlor Suite for the business traveler there is more room to work and/or entertain clients. For the leisure traveler there is more room to relax and entertain as well. All parlors are tastefully appointed with ample seating including sofa and chairs, ta
2 Bedroom Suite 3 Double Beds
Our deluxe 2 bedroom suite accommodation offers two double bedrooms and lounge. The bedrooms include a work desk with task lamp and phone with data port access. The lounge amenities are conducive for relaxing, with a couch, TV entertainment centre, table
Standard 2 Double Beds
The Standard room offers an oversized non-smoking room with two plush queen beds. In room amenities include a work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable TV, movies on demand, hairdryer, coffeemaker and iron/ironing board.
Superior 1 King Bed
Our spacious non-smoking room offers one plush king bed and is equally conducive for the business or leisure traveler. All rooms feature a work desk with task lamp, phones with data port, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv, and movies on demand
Superior 2 Queen Beds
Our spacious non-smoking room offers two plush queen beds and is equally conducive for the business or leisure traveler. All rooms feature a work desk with task lamp, phones with data port, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv and movies on deman
Superior Plus 1 King Bed
Our Superior Plus room comes standard with a refrigerator and microwave. Rooms also include work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv, and movies on demand.
Superior Plus 2 Queen Beds
Our Superior Plus room comes standard with a refrigerator and microwave. Rooms also include work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv, and movies on demand.
Club Room 1 King Bed
The Club king offers a spacious guestroom with a plush California king bed. Includes access to an exclusive Executive Level business center. All rooms feature a work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv, movies on demand and
Club Room 2 Queen Beds
Our Millennium Club room offers two plush queen beds. Includes access to an exclusive Executive Level business center. All rooms feature a work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv, movies on demand and terrycloth robes.
Suite 2 Double Beds
This deluxe accommodation includes a separate bedroom and lounge room. The bedroom includes a work desk with task lamp and phone with data port access. The lounge amenities are conducive for relaxing, with a couch, TV entertainment centre, table for four,

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
No pets allowed
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 1 mi
  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bel Gusto
Bel Gusto,our festive Italian restaurant offers contemporary cuisine at it's finest.
Varisity Lounge
The Lobby Bar is an ideal place to meet for conversation, evening cocktails or a night cap. Relax in comfortable contemporary surroundings, bask in the warmth of the fireplace or get caught in the thrill of a sporting event on the large screen TV.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Hotel Durham

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Mom Of 3
Westchester, NY, USA
Mar 10, 2012

What A Great Hotel!!!!!

The Millennium Hotel was WONDERFUL!!! The hotel was gorgeous and the staff couldn't be nicer.There was a great restaurant and bar right in the hotel and the indoor pool was just as beautiful.As a mother of three I am a Clean Freak and this place met my standards.What a great hotel at a great price!!!STAY STAY-STAY-STAY you will not be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Well Seasoned Traveler25
Duke University
Oct 22, 2012

Very Underwhelmed

At first glance,, Millenium Hotel looks nice and upscale. But once inside....the lobby couches were worn and faded from the sun. The room-the carpet was pulled away and fraying from the tile. There was black and pink mold on tile grout and black mold growing under the poor caulk job in the shower. The vanities were extremely low-faux granite. The bath and sink stoppers were black from the chrome being worn off. Wifi was $9.95 for twenty-four hours-what hotel charges for wifi anymore? Not impressed at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Apr 22, 2009

Depends on the room

I spent a quick night in Raleigh-Durham (arrived very late evening and left early next morning) and chose the Millenium because I am familiar with the NYC property. The hotel is very large and rambly and seems half renovated. I was assigned to the unrenovated half. The room was large but shabby -- and of questionable cleanliness. I would have complained but was too tired to do so. I did wonder however if I was put this room because of the discount Orbitz rate, regardless of whether better rooms were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke Campus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Coronado, CA
Nov 28, 2009

Terrible Customer Service

The staff would not accommodate our needs whatsoever. I will be visiting Duke for many years to come, and will stay anywhere but here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eightb1666
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 22, 2012

Power outage

The hotel was nice as usual, but there was an issue with the power. During our stay, the power went out one night and made for a horrible evening. It would also be nice if you could get some cell phone service in the hotel. At this time you cannot use your cell phones while in the hotel because of no service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 22, 2009

Lacking in all departments

This hotel is a 25 minute drive from the Raleigh/ Durham airport. If you're looking for close to campus and not much else, this is just fine. However, if you are looking to stay somewhere that you'll actually enjoy, I would avoid the Millennium. The only good experience about this hotel was the food. Otherwise, the place is dingy, the staff is rude, and there is no continental breakfast to speak of. There is nothing within walking distance and it is right off the freeway. I just had a bad experience overall. AT&T gets absolutely ZERO reception there, and the room phone didnt work to boot. The internet is not free, either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bar food was excellent, and available to-go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanna
Nebraska
May 16, 2012

Glad I only paid 1/3 of going price

Let me start by saying, I am picky when it comes to cleanliness. I don't want to see evidence of anyone that had been there before OR evidence of not cleaning by paying attention to detail. So, with that said, make up your own minds on what I saw....... This was our second visit and I would NEVER have paid the full price for this hotel. Everything needs a major facelift. Cracked paint, tile in bath lifting up, caulking missing or needing to be replaced, furnishings and drapes are just old. I made the mistake of touching the inside of the shower cutouts for bottles and stuff - black mold. (But, as we were leaving, I did tell "our" maid and she had cleaned it when we returned) Then on our last day, I pushed back the shower curtain and the bottom of the tub next to the floor - MOLD. Black and thick. From the floor up about 4 inches and the entire length of the tub. Bleach people - BLEACH. Now I know why after two days my throat started hurting. I found a hair in the bathroom floor when we first walked in. We paid 1/3 of normal rate for our room. I saw the price for that weekend because the bill for our neighbors room was slipped under our door. Now as my husband said, we have seen worse. Didn't stay in them, but saw worse. I think a good facelift and refurbishing will go a long, LONG ways. The location was great for us. But, unless I call and find out if they have had any updates or refurbished, I WILL NOT GO BACK. I will say on the positive side, staff was friendly, we enjoyed the inside pool, our room was quiet and the AC worked fine. But, I think the health inspector needs to check out the mold problem. I'm sure it wasn't just our room. Our shower curtain let water out and we tried very hard not to let that happen. So, I'm thinking more than one room may have this problem. Beds were comfortable and the pillows were VERY fluffy and big. You will need to decided what's important to YOU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta ga
Nov 19, 2010

below average

check in was easy but not very friendly. rooms are dated, hallway was not very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ggam
Business
NJ
Oct 14, 2012

Not so great location, bad wireless

The hotel is located close to Duke, but not in a great neighborhood. They do have a shuttle to Duke campus, as you may not want to walk the 5-10 minutes to campus. Wireless was flaky. No cell reception inside building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luc 21619
Business
Summit, NJ/ or NY, NY.
Oct 1, 2012

Invest In More than Just Lobby

Air conditioning didn't work, fitness center is a joke, and my shower had hot flashes continuously which had to attributed to more than other guests' use. Until they make that up as I have reservations later in the month, I can't really recommend despite very pleasant staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 30, 2010

Not much good to say

The best thing this hotel has going for it is how close it is to Duke University. Other than that, there's not much. The decor is outdated and, in some cases, broken. The AC did not work well. It is a long walk from one part of the hotel to another. The Internet access was on the expensive side for me, at $13 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search