$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Millennium Hotel Durham

3 stars
2800 Campus Walk Avenue, Durham, NC 27705
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
64 reviews
millennium hotel was great

hotel was clean, desk clerk was friendly and i would stay there again.... See full review

  • rambling wreck from ga
  • Sep 1, 2014
Very comfortable

Stays here while interviewing for a job in Durham. Great location, clean room, friendly staff. See full review

  • Blue devil alum
  • Nov 18, 2014
Business-friendly Durham hotel with two restaurants and event space

Business-friendly amenities and a great location minutes from Duke University make the Millennium Hotel Durham a top choice for meetings, banquets and special events. Two ballrooms each accommodate up to 500 guests, while eight conference suites are perfectly suited for meetings, classes, training and intimate events. Clean, cozy Millennium Hotel Durham guest rooms ensure a great night's sleep, while two on-site restaurants serve up delicious meals with influences as diverse as Italy and the American South.

Highlights
  • Fitness center, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi
  • Bel Gusto restaurant and Varsity Lounge
  • Minutes from Duke University
  • Event space including two ballrooms
  • Free parking
Rooms

At the Millennium Hotel Durham, expect the kind of cozy, at-home comfort road-weary travelers often long for -- poster beds, crisp plaid bedding and cushioned executive chairs with lots of room get work done. Choose from one king or two queen-sized beds. Satellite TV, in-room movies (fees apply), coffee-makers, hair-dryers, irons and ironing boards are provided. Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees apply). Superior plus rooms include a microwave and refrigerator. One- and two-bedroom suites feature separate living rooms, ideal for larger groups or extended stays.

Features

After a long day of business or sightseeing, unwind with a swim at the Millennium Hotel Durham indoor pool and Jacuzzi. A fitness center is also available.

Dining

The hearty Bel Gusto Grand Breakfast Buffet is a great way to start the day, with pastries, biscuits with sausage gravy and plenty of other yummy indulgences. Shrimp and grits is a dinner favorite at Bel Gusto, along with juicy steaks and anything-but-simple sandwiches. The Varsity Lounge and Bar at the Millennium Hotel Durham is a popular spot for a nightcap and light meal.

Transportation
  • Durham Station Transportation Center (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Raleigh-Durham International Airport (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Airport and local area shuttle available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Duke University (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Durham Civic Center Complex (3 mi/4.7 km)
  • Durham Bulls Athletic Park (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • Museum of Life and Science (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Business
  • Lobby business center with Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Exclusive business center for Club Floor guests
  • 16,000 square feet of function space including two ballrooms
  • Faculty Boardroom adjacent to Bel Gusto's restaurant
  • On-site catering services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Hotel Durham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Millennium Hotel Durham Rooms

Standard 1 King Bed
The Standard room offers an oversized non-smoking room with one plush king bed. In room amenities include a work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable TV, movies on demand, hairdryer, coffeemaker and iron/ironing board.
Parlour Suite
Parlor Suite for the business traveler there is more room to work and/or entertain clients. For the leisure traveler there is more room to relax and entertain as well. All parlors are tastefully appointed with ample seating including sofa and chairs, ta
2 Bedroom Suite 3 Double Beds
Our deluxe 2 bedroom suite accommodation offers two double bedrooms and lounge. The bedrooms include a work desk with task lamp and phone with data port access. The lounge amenities are conducive for relaxing, with a couch, TV entertainment centre, table
Standard 2 Double Beds
The Standard room offers an oversized non-smoking room with two plush queen beds. In room amenities include a work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable TV, movies on demand, hairdryer, coffeemaker and iron/ironing board.
Superior 1 King Bed
Our spacious non-smoking room offers one plush king bed and is equally conducive for the business or leisure traveler. All rooms feature a work desk with task lamp, phones with data port, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv, and movies on demand
Superior 2 Queen Beds
Our spacious non-smoking room offers two plush queen beds and is equally conducive for the business or leisure traveler. All rooms feature a work desk with task lamp, phones with data port, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv and movies on deman
Superior Plus 1 King Bed
Our Superior Plus room comes standard with a refrigerator and microwave. Rooms also include work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv, and movies on demand.
Superior Plus 2 Queen Beds
Our Superior Plus room comes standard with a refrigerator and microwave. Rooms also include work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv, and movies on demand.
Club Room 1 King Bed
The Club king offers a spacious guestroom with a plush California king bed. Includes access to an exclusive Executive Level business center. All rooms feature a work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv, movies on demand and
Club Room 2 Queen Beds
Our Millennium Club room offers two plush queen beds. Includes access to an exclusive Executive Level business center. All rooms feature a work desk with task lamp, wireless high speed internet access, cable tv, movies on demand and terrycloth robes.
Suite 2 Double Beds
This deluxe accommodation includes a separate bedroom and lounge room. The bedroom includes a work desk with task lamp and phone with data port access. The lounge amenities are conducive for relaxing, with a couch, TV entertainment centre, table for four,

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
No pets allowed
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 1 mi
  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bel Gusto
Bel Gusto,our festive Italian restaurant offers contemporary cuisine at it's finest.
Varisity Lounge
The Lobby Bar is an ideal place to meet for conversation, evening cocktails or a night cap. Relax in comfortable contemporary surroundings, bask in the warmth of the fireplace or get caught in the thrill of a sporting event on the large screen TV.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Hotel Durham

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Well Seasoned Traveler25
Business
Duke University
Oct 22, 2012

Very Underwhelmed

At first glance,, Millenium Hotel looks nice and upscale. But once inside....the lobby couches were worn and faded from the sun. The room-the carpet was pulled away and fraying from the tile. There was black and pink mold on tile grout and black mold growing under the poor caulk job in the shower. The vanities were extremely low-faux granite. The bath and sink stoppers were black from the chrome being worn off. Wifi was $9.95 for twenty-four hours-what hotel charges for wifi anymore? Not impressed at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Apr 22, 2009

Depends on the room

I spent a quick night in Raleigh-Durham (arrived very late evening and left early next morning) and chose the Millenium because I am familiar with the NYC property. The hotel is very large and rambly and seems half renovated. I was assigned to the unrenovated half. The room was large but shabby -- and of questionable cleanliness. I would have complained but was too tired to do so. I did wonder however if I was put this room because of the discount Orbitz rate, regardless of whether better rooms were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke Campus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coronado, CA
Nov 28, 2009

Terrible Customer Service

The staff would not accommodate our needs whatsoever. I will be visiting Duke for many years to come, and will stay anywhere but here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
duke alum
Business
brooklyn, ny
Nov 10, 2014

Not Staying There Again

I remember the Millenium being a nice place to stay a decade ago, but the quality has clearly lapsed. There was mold on the ceiling above the shower. The room was non-smoking, but smelled of cigarette smoke. On the Saturday I stayed there, there was a massive party, and a heavy pot scent reeked through the halls. Though the bones of the place are perfectly fine-- nice bar and pool, nice entrance and parking, and great location to Duke, it's not a hotel I'll be staying at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanna
Business
Nebraska
May 16, 2012

Glad I only paid 1/3 of going price

Let me start by saying, I am picky when it comes to cleanliness. I don't want to see evidence of anyone that had been there before OR evidence of not cleaning by paying attention to detail. So, with that said, make up your own minds on what I saw....... This was our second visit and I would NEVER have paid the full price for this hotel. Everything needs a major facelift. Cracked paint, tile in bath lifting up, caulking missing or needing to be replaced, furnishings and drapes are just old. I made the mistake of touching the inside of the shower cutouts for bottles and stuff - black mold. (But, as we were leaving, I did tell "our" maid and she had cleaned it when we returned) Then on our last day, I pushed back the shower curtain and the bottom of the tub next to the floor - MOLD. Black and thick. From the floor up about 4 inches and the entire length of the tub. Bleach people - BLEACH. Now I know why after two days my throat started hurting. I found a hair in the bathroom floor when we first walked in. We paid 1/3 of normal rate for our room. I saw the price for that weekend because the bill for our neighbors room was slipped under our door. Now as my husband said, we have seen worse. Didn't stay in them, but saw worse. I think a good facelift and refurbishing will go a long, LONG ways. The location was great for us. But, unless I call and find out if they have had any updates or refurbished, I WILL NOT GO BACK. I will say on the positive side, staff was friendly, we enjoyed the inside pool, our room was quiet and the AC worked fine. But, I think the health inspector needs to check out the mold problem. I'm sure it wasn't just our room. Our shower curtain let water out and we tried very hard not to let that happen. So, I'm thinking more than one room may have this problem. Beds were comfortable and the pillows were VERY fluffy and big. You will need to decided what's important to YOU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luc 21619
Business
Summit, NJ/ or NY, NY.
Oct 1, 2012

Invest In More than Just Lobby

Air conditioning didn't work, fitness center is a joke, and my shower had hot flashes continuously which had to attributed to more than other guests' use. Until they make that up as I have reservations later in the month, I can't really recommend despite very pleasant staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ggam
Business
NJ
Oct 14, 2012

Not so great location, bad wireless

The hotel is located close to Duke, but not in a great neighborhood. They do have a shuttle to Duke campus, as you may not want to walk the 5-10 minutes to campus. Wireless was flaky. No cell reception inside building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eightb1666
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 22, 2012

Power outage

The hotel was nice as usual, but there was an issue with the power. During our stay, the power went out one night and made for a horrible evening. It would also be nice if you could get some cell phone service in the hotel. At this time you cannot use your cell phones while in the hotel because of no service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bigger Ron
Business
New York
Nov 13, 2012

Not so nice

Very tired hotel with inattentive staff and out of date systems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too Tough Critic
Business
Florida
Feb 12, 2013

A Night's Sleep Spoiled

Because I was familiar with this hotel, when it began life as a Sheraton in the early 1980s, I hate to say anything less than nice about it. Unfortunately, I am compelled to point out the irony that the fourth floor of the hotel is occupied by Duke Sleep Disorder Clinic, which is where we wanted to head after just one night at the Millenium. On the bright side, it is very convenient to the Duke Campus, were we needed to be, the room was generously sized and the public areas and amenities of the Property are generally fine. However, the absolute most important part of a hotel stay, which is the bed in which one rests, was inexplicably awful! It appeared to be a king bed, but bore a closer kinship to a trampoline, in that the entire bed shook when my wife or I moved even a little. The sheets were either a very cheap cotton or had been super starched (or, perhaps, both), since the noise they made when they rustled was loud enough to wake you when you were fortunate enough to fall lightly asleep. The prefab shower had mold stains in the seams and all of the faucets were difficult to operate. The shower head worked more like a water hose than a spray. Of the two computers in the lobby business center, one was marked "out of service" and the other wouldn't connect to the internet to allow us to print boarding passes. Fortunately, the woman manning the front desk was kind enough to print them at her computer. Other than that, Mrs. Lincoln, the play was fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top