$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Millennium Hotel Durham

3 stars
View map of 2800 Campus Walk Avenue, Durham, NC 27705

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Hotel Durham

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lost in durhum
Business
Durham, Nc
Aug 1, 2014

Last minute

The hotel is huge!! Very grand main entrance. The hall I was located on seemed a little dated but clean. My room was clean and very cozzy. It was a nice last minute booking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BunBee
Business
TX
Apr 14, 2014

Average

Average, nothing to write home about. Lobby and halls smell like mildew. Very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jpwb
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 7, 2014

Great location, great potential, needs updating and better management

The location just off Duke University campus and I85 is convenient and difficult to beat for visits to Duke or Duke Hospital but the hotel is very tired, behind the times and overpriced. While the room was generally comfortable, it lacked some basics like an in room fridge (which they did provide when we asked for a fee), decent room coffee and fast check out service. The housekeeping overnight was substandard (they forgot to replace the shampoo/conditioner and all the towels we had used. These issues might be ok for a much lower price point hotel but this was really substandard for us for hotels anywhere near this cost. This hotel could be great with a little investment and updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucci
Business
Durham, Nc
Jan 27, 2014

Medical stay

Old feeling. Paint chopped. Wallpaper coming off wall. Caulking in bathroom ruff and old. Staff was very good and helpfull. Lobby beautiful but rooms old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ggam
Business
NJ
Nov 21, 2013

OK, close to Duke

Rooms are clean and silent. Breakfast OK. Close to Duke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JenniferCompton
Business
Simpsonville, SC
Nov 14, 2013

Acceptable location

I needed a place to stay before participating in a recruiting event at Duke. I didn't pay close enough attention when quickly booking the room to see that they charge for wifi in the room, which was disappointing. I used the gym which consisted of 2 treadmills, a bike and a stair stepper. I had hoped for an elliptical but was otherwise satisfied. The rooms/hotel are a bit older, including the beds. The location cannot be beat though. Great spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gzork the Martian
Business
Earth
Sep 2, 2013

Faded Rose

While this place is right next to Duke campus and easy to find just off freeway, I would not call it 4 star. Carpet in halls and stairwells was worn and stained, and our "non-smoking" room reeked of cigar butt. Restaurant way pricey and had zero customers. Same for the bar. Pool and spa were nice, and the shuttle drivers were excellent source of local info. The girls at front desk were competent but aloof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Oyster House on W. Main- cheap, funky, really good old-timey joint for piggin' out, and a honkytonk upstairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pittypat Loves Cats
Business
Newport, NC
May 14, 2013

Could really use an update!

The shuttle service was great, but the room/bathroom needs updating. There is rust on the hinges, carpet is old, and if you have allergies, oh my! Mold around the shower!! Bar and food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lax Player
Business
Baltimore
Feb 18, 2013

Visit to Duke

Stayed one night. Lots of amenities for price. Clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Hotel Durham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too Tough Critic
Business
Florida
Feb 12, 2013

A Night's Sleep Spoiled

Because I was familiar with this hotel, when it began life as a Sheraton in the early 1980s, I hate to say anything less than nice about it. Unfortunately, I am compelled to point out the irony that the fourth floor of the hotel is occupied by Duke Sleep Disorder Clinic, which is where we wanted to head after just one night at the Millenium. On the bright side, it is very convenient to the Duke Campus, were we needed to be, the room was generously sized and the public areas and amenities of the Property are generally fine. However, the absolute most important part of a hotel stay, which is the bed in which one rests, was inexplicably awful! It appeared to be a king bed, but bore a closer kinship to a trampoline, in that the entire bed shook when my wife or I moved even a little. The sheets were either a very cheap cotton or had been super starched (or, perhaps, both), since the noise they made when they rustled was loud enough to wake you when you were fortunate enough to fall lightly asleep. The prefab shower had mold stains in the seams and all of the faucets were difficult to operate. The shower head worked more like a water hose than a spray. Of the two computers in the lobby business center, one was marked "out of service" and the other wouldn't connect to the internet to allow us to print boarding passes. Fortunately, the woman manning the front desk was kind enough to print them at her computer. Other than that, Mrs. Lincoln, the play was fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top