$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

3 stars
4414 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, 4414 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, Durham, NC 27707
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
131 reviews
Comfortable hotel

This was a clean and very comfortable hotel. We would most definitely stay again. See full review

  • Traveler to Chapel Hill
  • Nov 17, 2014
Comfortable stay

Nice room. Hotel location good. Convenient to restaurants. Only disappointment was no refrigerator... See full review

  • Tim with kids
  • Aug 27, 2014
By where the Bulls are running -- hitting and pitching too -- in Durham

Enjoy affordable convenience, courteous service, and comfortable rooms at La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham-Chapel Hill. The hotel is only minutes from the home field of the famous Durham Bulls minor-league baseball team, Duke University, and a wide variety of business, shopping, dining, and sports destinations. Guests appreciate the hotel's deluxe amenities, which include free Wi-Fi and Continental breakfast, an indoor pool, and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • AAA Triple Diamond hotel in Durham, convenient to the region's many attractions
  • 130 rooms and 12 suites, all attractively decorated and including deluxe amenities
  • Free Wi-Fi and "Bright Side" breakfast
  • Business meeting facilities
Rooms

Each room provides guests with comfortable beds and furnishings, plus essential amenities such as high-speed Wi-Fi and wired Internet access, coffee maker, oversized work area, two dataport phones with voicemail and free local calls, cable television with premium channels, hairdryer, and iron with ironing board.

Features

Each morning, guests at La Quinta Inn & Suites gather in the pleasant first-floor dining area for a complimentary Bright Side breakfast. Fresh fruit, waffles, muffins, and hot and cold cereals are always on the menu -- along with unlimited coffee and juice.

 

Guests enjoy strolling through the hotel's nicely landscaped grounds, which feature a lush green courtyard and shaded gazebo. Guests also relax in the hotel's indoor pool and spa and stay fit in the well-equipped fitness center.

 

Business travelers appreciate the hotel's meeting facilities, where attendees have access to the hotel's free Internet service.

Transportation
  • Raleigh Durham International Airport (18.6 mi/30 km)
  • Amtrak (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
Nearby attractions
  • The Streets at Southpoint mall (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Durham Bulls Athletic Park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Duke University (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • In-room work area
  • Free Wi-Fi and wired Internet access
  • Meeting facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
King Room Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable
Executive
Executive King Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
White board
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Wade Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Cameron Indoor Stadium: 2.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
niecee college student
Brooklyn, New York
Jul 26, 2012

perfect for the price

My stay at the La Quinta Inn was wonderful. I don't have any complaints. The room was clean and the staff were friendly. For the price this hotel exceeding my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The streets at south point mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asdjkfhaksld
Business
Iowa
Nov 30, 2014

Good Location

Location was good, right between Durham and Chapel Hill. Room was non-smoking but still smelled of smoke, needed it sprayed both days with air freshener to cover up smell. This may have been because room next door was smoking, when we asked to be moved they were unable to do so and offered the room be sprayed instead. Pool was nice and free breakfast was good for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler to Chapel Hill
Business
Atlanta
Nov 17, 2014

Comfortable hotel

This was a clean and very comfortable hotel. We would most definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john PaPa
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Oct 15, 2014

La Quinta Inn

It was very plesant experience to stay this hotel. I would recommend to anyone to stay at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Have fun will travel Pam
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Aug 29, 2014

Okay Experience

My room was clean, front desk gracious. The coffee in the breakfast room was Nestle - very bad. The room packets were better. Since I wouldn't drink the Nestle, on all occasions I requested 2 extra packets. Once the note was thrown away with no extra coffee packets, on the other 2 occasions, I only received 1 extra packet. I was supposed to get a king bed - I got a queen. After I checked in around midnight and went to my room, I unpacked and immediately went to bed. It wasn't until I was in bed did I realize I was given a queen. I requested a wake up call at 3:45a the morning of my flight home. It never came. Luckily I'd backed it up on my phone alarm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Lobster next door is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim with kids
Business
South Carolina
Aug 27, 2014

Comfortable stay

Nice room. Hotel location good. Convenient to restaurants. Only disappointment was no refrigerator in room Would stay again. 10-15 minute drive to Duke Medical Center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Lobster next door and numerous restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justinthyme
Business
Cambridge, MA
Aug 21, 2014

Third Stay went downhill

I have stayed at this hotel on two previous business trips. This time I noticed something was different as soon as I walked in. The floors in the lobby were not as clean. The floors on the way to the elevator were also less clean than I remember. I stayed in the same room I had previously stayed in and there were scuff marks on the wall, hair on the floor of the bathroom and the air conditioner had that not so fresh smell. It was less expensive this trip than my last. The very nice woman at the desk as I checked in got me to sign up for a rewards card as I had stayed several previous times. She said something to the effect that "our pricing is about to become more competitive". If budget is important this hotel is a decent choice but just know what you are getting into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice big restaurant park with everything you could want just a short hop away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jrsmom03
Business
Wilson, NC
Jul 12, 2014

Hospital visit

My son had surgery at Duke Eye Center and had a post-op visit early the next day. For the price of the room...it was not worth the gas to drive home and come back. The location is perfect although it can be hard to get to from the highway. The staff was accommodating and not only let us check in early so my son could sleep, they have us a roomy handicap room. The bad stuff: ants on the windowsill had to be sprayed my maintenance, the ac wasn't turned on by the front desk I had to call and there was pet hair stuck to the wall in the bathroom. Breakfast was busy the next morning and only one lady was working the area and could not stock it fast enough. She needed help. The price was good, location was great and the staff was accomdating once you brought things to their attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of mom and pop restaurants, eateries in Durham try something new!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daisy81
Business
Winchester, VA
Jul 12, 2014

Great hotel poor location

First the bad. The hotel is off a highway and if you're making a left in you'll have to cross several lanes of traffic who are going 45+ mph. Also the parking spaces are too narrow IMO. Other than these two issues the hotel is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red lobster is right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie workaholic
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 21, 2014

Good

It was all in all it was a good stay. The AC unit smelled a bit when it blew out air and there was a little bit of leftover hair in the bathroom but other than that it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave of Frederick
Business
Frederick MD
Jun 20, 2014

close to Duke medical center

hotel was fine, all I wanted and needed. It was close to Duke Medical center (approx 3 miles), very convenient for business the next day. Only problem was that AC seemed not to work. Woke 4 AM and room was 80 degrees. It turned out that wall thermostat was set wrong, which I didn't figure out. I didn't bother to call desk, but if I had, they would hav given me the clue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top