$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

3 stars
6050 Tyvola Glen Circle, Charlotte, NC 28217
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
156 reviews
Great HOTEL

The Wingate Hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff could not have been more gracious. I... See full review

  • JD WORLD TRAVELER
  • Oct 10, 2014
Excellent hotel for the price

Good hotel, friendly atmosphere, good location, friendly staff. See full review

  • RS2014
  • Sep 29, 2014
Leave the car and head to Uptown Charlotte on the light rail

Renovated in 2010, the Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte I – 77 offers a smart value with plenty of perks just 10 minutes from Uptown Charlotte. Oversized rooms include free Wi-Fi, new large flat-panel TVs and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Free hot breakfast greets guest each morning, and the business center, open 24/7, lets guests print and fax for free. An outdoor pool, indoor whirlpool and fitness center are among other amenities. A free shuttle zips guests to the airport or to the LYNX Light Rail for fun around the city without hefty parking fees.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast buffet daily and free Wi-Fi
  • 24/7 business center offers free printing, faxing and copying
  • Outdoor pool and sundeck plus indoor hot tub
  • Renovated hotel is a great value in a prime location for shopping and dining
  • Free shuttle to the airport and LYNX Light Rail
Rooms
A tasteful traditional scheme fills the oversized rooms and suites at Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte I – 77. Each room boasts 37-inch flat panel TVs with cable and pay-per-view movies, plus a refrigerator, microwave and coffee-maker with Wolfgang Puck Estate Coffee. Connect to free wireless Internet access around the clock.
Features
Most hotels in this economical price range do not offer the free hot breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns and waffles found at Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte I – 77. Those staying on a Monday through Wednesday evening can also stop by the guest social reception for free beer, wine and snacks. The free shuttle to the airport and the light rail station offer car-free convenience. Guests who opt to drive find the best of Charlotte, including golf and sports events, boutiques, and arts and culture, all within 15 minutes of the hotel.
Transportation
  • Charlotte/Douglas International Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport and LYNX Light Rail
Attractions
  • Renaissance Park Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Billy Graham Library (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • South Park Mall (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Bank of America stadium (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Charlotte Convention Center (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • NASCAR Hall of Fame (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Carowinds Amusement Park (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Time Warner Cable Arena (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Discovery Place (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • 24/7 business center offers free printing, faxing and copying
  • Three meeting rooms
  • Laundry facilities
  • Dry cleaning service available (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Sorry, there is no truck parking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The Billy Graham Library: 2.2 mi
  • Freedom Park: 3.1 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 3.1 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Carolinas Aviation Museum: 4.4 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 4.9 mi
  • Carowinds: 5.1 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 5.2 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 5.4 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Place: 5.4 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 5.5 mi
  • The Billy Graham Library: 2.2 mi
  • Freedom Park: 3.1 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 3.1 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Carolinas Aviation Museum: 4.4 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 4.9 mi
  • Carowinds: 5.1 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 5.2 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 5.4 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Place: 5.4 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 5.5 mi
  • The Fillmore: 5.8 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 5.9 mi
  • McDowell Nature Center and Preserve: 6.8 mi
  • The Golf Club at Ballantyne: 7.9 mi
  • US National Whitewater Center: 9.8 mi
  • Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve: 12 mi
  • Metrolina Expo Center: 12.4 mi
  • Halton Arena: 13.3 mi
  • UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens: 13.6 mi
  • Hendrix Motorsports Complex: 17.4 mi
  • Lowe's Motor Speedway: 17.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 156
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christie S.
Business
Farmville, NC
Oct 20, 2014

Quick Family Trip

This is a really good hotel. The rooms were extremely clean and it was quiet. The hotel stated that it had a hot tub/whirlpool and even said it in the book that was in the room but when I tried to locate it, the staff told me there wasn't one when I asked them. That was disappointing because it was one reason why I booked this hotel. The breakfast was pretty good. The staff were ok. I would recommend it for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If going to Scarowinds during October, leave early. It took us 10 minutes to get to Carowinds during the day but at night during Scarowinds, it took us almost 2 hours to get to the park due to traffic. It was packed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chooch43
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 15, 2014

Great for panthers game

Location was close to the football stadium, room was excellent & the breakfast was terrific. The only negative was the pool pump was broken so my grandson & I couldn't swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not a number of good restaurants in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
7861
Business
Dfw
Jul 30, 2014

Had to stay due to flight delays!

For last minute booking we really lucked out! Free shuttle service was a blessing since we had no clue how to get around since due to flight delay we had missed our connection! Excellent and prompt service, good breakfast and very accommodating staff.... We needed toiletries etc since half of our luggage was gone.... Thank you !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda awesome mom
Business
Virginia
Jul 19, 2014

GREAT HOTEL

We really enjoyed our stay :-) The breakfast was great, the staff was pleasant.... My kids asked to go to the pool every day and it was nice.... The only bad side was that the first two days we were there, the pool hadn't been cleaned.. Overall we had a great stay though . We are planning on coming back for our next stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The discovery place was excellent. Took the kids there and they had a great time.. So much to do We also went to the Billy Graham library.. That too was great experience .. Both right up the road a short distance from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
O. Lewis
Business
The Triad
Jun 30, 2014

A Great Place To Stay

I always stay at this hotel when I visit Charlotte. It's been a great experience each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of dining right around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sspwhitaker
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 2, 2014

It's OK

The hotel's presentation is nice and clean. I have stayed here on two occasions and my major complaint is the housekeeping. The hotel gives you a late checkout time which is 12pm. But you cant sleep until them. Every morning you are hearing doors slamming shut from house keeping going in and out of various room. This is the loudest hotel in the morning it is really ridiculous. If you want to sleep in don't stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phelicia
Business
south Carolina
May 5, 2014

Nice and comfortable

Decent room, comfortable, spacious for a hotel room. Over all I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Mominator
Business
Lenexa, KS
Jan 6, 2014

Stop Over

Stayed 1 night on our way to St Maarten, did not have to wait long for the free shuttle to pick us up from the airport. The driver also took all 7 of us to a restaurant after we dropped off our bags, no charge and then picked us up after we were done. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was very good also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
5Family travelers
Business
Tyrone, GA
Dec 3, 2013

Good stopover for the night

This was overall a rather averae hotel but was much better than the last hotel I stayed at in the area and was about the same price. I think overall it was cleaner and a step up as far as security and amenities for the price of an average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fam moving long distance
Business
north carolina
Oct 22, 2013

very comfortable

We extended our stay to a second night, and enjoyed relaxing here, mostly hanging out in the room and recovering from a previous bad experience and too much traveling. The hotel was easy to get to, just off the highway but not right on top of the highway. The front desk staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The only problems we ran into were some stiff scrambled eggs at breakfast, and the dryers in the guest laundry needed a few cycles to actually dry our clothes. Overall, it was clean and pleasant, and a great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

SouthPark mall was very pretty, great high-end shops and good food court choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top