$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

3 stars
View map of 6050 Tyvola Glen Circle, Charlotte, NC 28217

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
172 reviews
Superb!

Stay was superb. Great location for layovers. Will be back for sure. See full review

  • Gautam V.
  • Apr 17, 2015
Great hotel and price

Was very impressed with this hotel. We were planning a trip to Carowinds and looking for a great... See full review

  • Julie G.
  • Apr 17, 2015
Leave the car and head to Uptown Charlotte on the light rail

Renovated in 2010, the Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte I – 77 offers a smart value with plenty of perks just 10 minutes from Uptown Charlotte. Oversized rooms include free Wi-Fi, new large flat-panel TVs and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Free hot breakfast greets guest each morning, and the business center, open 24/7, lets guests print and fax for free. An outdoor pool, indoor whirlpool and fitness center are among other amenities. A free shuttle zips guests to the airport or to the LYNX Light Rail for fun around the city without hefty parking fees.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast buffet daily and free Wi-Fi
  • 24/7 business center offers free printing, faxing and copying
  • Outdoor pool and sundeck plus indoor hot tub
  • Renovated hotel is a great value in a prime location for shopping and dining
  • Free shuttle to the airport and LYNX Light Rail
Rooms
A tasteful traditional scheme fills the oversized rooms and suites at Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte I – 77. Each room boasts 37-inch flat panel TVs with cable and pay-per-view movies, plus a refrigerator, microwave and coffee-maker with Wolfgang Puck Estate Coffee. Connect to free wireless Internet access around the clock.
Features
Most hotels in this economical price range do not offer the free hot breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns and waffles found at Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte I – 77. Those staying on a Monday through Wednesday evening can also stop by the guest social reception for free beer, wine and snacks. The free shuttle to the airport and the light rail station offer car-free convenience. Guests who opt to drive find the best of Charlotte, including golf and sports events, boutiques, and arts and culture, all within 15 minutes of the hotel.
Transportation
  • Charlotte/Douglas International Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport and LYNX Light Rail
Attractions
  • Renaissance Park Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Billy Graham Library (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • South Park Mall (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Bank of America stadium (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Charlotte Convention Center (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • NASCAR Hall of Fame (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Carowinds Amusement Park (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Time Warner Cable Arena (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Discovery Place (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • 24/7 business center offers free printing, faxing and copying
  • Three meeting rooms
  • Laundry facilities
  • Dry cleaning service available (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Sorry, there is no truck parking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
FREE transportation
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The Billy Graham Library: 2.2 mi
  • Freedom Park: 3.1 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 3.1 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Carolinas Aviation Museum: 4.4 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 4.9 mi
  • Carowinds: 5.1 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 5.2 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 5.4 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Place: 5.4 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 5.5 mi
  • The Billy Graham Library: 2.2 mi
  • Freedom Park: 3.1 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 3.1 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Carolinas Aviation Museum: 4.4 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 4.9 mi
  • Carowinds: 5.1 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 5.2 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 5.4 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Place: 5.4 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 5.5 mi
  • The Fillmore: 5.8 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 5.9 mi
  • McDowell Nature Center and Preserve: 6.8 mi
  • The Golf Club at Ballantyne: 7.9 mi
  • US National Whitewater Center: 9.8 mi
  • Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve: 12 mi
  • Metrolina Expo Center: 12.4 mi
  • Halton Arena: 13.3 mi
  • UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens: 13.6 mi
  • Hendrix Motorsports Complex: 17.4 mi
  • Lowe's Motor Speedway: 17.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NewjerseyHero
Business
New Jersey
May 17, 2014

Not Good

Not Good/not comfortanle/not clean/not friendly. Staff is not friendly as well room is not clean room is not comfort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York,NY
May 22, 2010

Never Again ! !

First of all I think my title tells it all.Never again.I was traveling with my daughter. When we check in I was told there was only one bed in room # 221 and a very lumpy an uncomfortable pull out couch. I ask for fresh linens for the couch. Yes sir right away I was told at check in time I was still waiting for the linens.Second, the room had an old air conditioner, under the window, looks like a big box. well this air conditioner leaked very badly. The first morning, it was like walking in a swamp my socks were drenched. The rug was soaked. You had to stay in one side of the room. When I notified the staff it was like tough there are no other rooms in the hotel.So after three days you can imagine what a wet rug smells like. So this hotel will never see my money again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bachelorette
Business
Mexico
Oct 21, 2013

Average hotel

The hotel has a good location for our needs, it's clean enough, and the staff is OK. Probably the only good point is the breakfast that was pretty good. I might look for other options next time I stay in Charlotte

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longwood, Fl
Apr 24, 2011

The Good and Not So Good

The desk manager, [...], was helpful and professional. The room #111, had cobwebs in the corner of the ceiling above the bed. Water stains on the ceiling, stains and filth on the wall in the bathroom. Caulking around inside and outside of bathtub cracking and pulling away from the wall and discolored. [...]advised that our room included one King bed, one Queen bed and a pull out Queen Sofa. This room had one King bed and one Queen Sofa. Seriously, if this place was renovated in 2010, somebody got beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AR
Jun 24, 2011

Okay hotel for the $$

Travelling on business while i stayed here. Pros were the staff and the general cleanliness of the room. The TV's were new, the internet worked well. The fitness center was nice. Cons were few - but important if you are travelling on business. First - the in room coffee makers were defective. They just did not work at all. Also the location of the hotel was horrible for someone who had no ground transportation. I needed a cab to get anywhere to eat. The hotel has a shuttle - but this was not made available to me, as the desk staff said that they would be busy with shuttling guests to and from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
curvesgirl
Business
charlotte nc
Apr 12, 2010

worst bed i have ever slept in

great staff and fitness room and the rooms were very spacious and clean, but the mattress was awful i highly recommend if you use this hotel bring an egg shell for the bed it was awfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John Laura
Business
Avondale , Arizona
Aug 6, 2009

Nice people working there, old building.

Very nice people working there. Old building, a/c in room very noisy. Refreg very noisy in room. Bad location! Long drive for good restaurants, out of area. Had to ask for toilet paper for room, when we first checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shannon
Business
Pittsfield
Jan 12, 2015

Too Far

Clean, very nicely appointed, comfortable bed & good breakfast. However way too far from the airport. Had to wait a good 30-45 minutes for the shuttle, no restaurant or food available upon arrival (unlike what the hotel amenities had indicated). I wrote a review to the owner/manager before posting this review and never heard back. Depends on what you are looking for- nice, clean stay with no access to food or restaurant, wasted an hour with shuttle and far from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HitTheHighway
Business
New York, NY
Jan 23, 2014

Comfortable but nowhere

When my flight to NYC was cancelled, I ended up staying the night in Charlotte, and picked this hotel because it offered shuttle service to the airport and to the city's light rail. Because it was already dark and freezing when I arrived at the hotel, I elected not to take the light rail downtown—and so was "trapped" in an office park with nothing in easy walking distance. The staff were very nice; the happy hour with free beer, wine, cheese and meatballs was appreciated; and the room was clean and comfortable. And you can order room delivery from a few local restaurants. But next time I'd stay somewhere with more options close at hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coola
Business
here
Mar 9, 2014

Nothing fancy but pricey

Nothing fancy but pricey. Staff were friendly. Location was just right for our needs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top