$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

3 stars
View map of 6050 Tyvola Glen Circle, Charlotte, NC 28217

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bowe
Family
Greensboro, NC, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Nice Hotel

This hotel was very clean and staff was really nice. It was in a good location, close to main highways and eating places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chelle81
Business
NY
Dec 11, 2011

second time

This was my second time at this hotel and it was just as good as the first. This time I had the breakfast and it was good for a complimentary breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sugarcat
Couples
Savannah, GA
Nov 15, 2011

Excellent Value for the Money

The hotel was great - location fantastic - easy to find. The only complaint was that the furniture (dresser) was old and it had a gigantic sag in the middle. It looked like the previous TV was extremely heavy and caused this. It also looked very worn. Needs to be replaced. Room was very clean and the bathroom was great! The breakfast was very good each day and staff was helpful and courteous. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to many options in various price ranges.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephany
Couples
Virginia, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Vacation

Everything was excellent except --- the hot tub clearly had not been serviced in a long time. There were used towels thrown about the room and the whirlpool tiles were disgustingly dirty. It also had so much chlorine in it that we could not stand being in the room for more than 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
savannah traveler
Friends
ga
Oct 11, 2011

Great location for a Panthers game

Friendly staff that printed out directions for us to the stadium! The hotel is about 15 mins from the stadium which amounts to a $20 cab ride. Comfortable and nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrewB
Friends
Wilmington, NC, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great visit

Went up to see a Panthers game and just have fun in Charlotte. Late check-in was no issue, staff recommended a great local restaurant and were friendly. The shuttle service got us where we needed to be and everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are a young adult, the Epicenter in uptown Charlotte is the place to go!

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
b2b traveler
Business
Duluth, GA
Aug 22, 2011

Nothing Surprising

My stay at this Wingate was decent overall. I would not consider it again because I believe you can find better quality for the money. Here's a rundown of my stay. 1) Room Comfort/Cleanliness - No complaints here, except that I couldn't get comfortable sleeping with their pillows. They may work great for other people. Room decor wasn't cutting edge, but was modern enough and didn't feel old or drab. 2) In-Room Amenities - Having flat panel TVs are nice and this was of a decent size, but they need to improve the quality of the signal being brought in as a lot of the channels annoyingly had poor video quality. 3) Hotel Cleanliness/Staff/Decor - The decor in the public areas felt up to date. Nothing struck me as dirty or out of place. The staff was not rude, but weren't warm and fuzzy either. Other than checking in and out, I did not have other interactions. 4) Security - No issues here. 5) Location - Not a bad area of Charlotte, and very close to I-77. For good dining/shopping, had to drive a few miles away, nothing to walk to and not much of anything in the immediate area. 6) Hot breakfast - One of the reasons I chose this hotel was due to the available hot breakfast. It had what I would consider a standard hotel hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, waffle maker) which was of fast food quality and nutrition. Its not a knock on this hotel, just hotels in general in this price range. I'm eliminating this as a priority going forward. 7) Fitness Room - This is another item that sounds better than it really is and I fooled myself into thinking was a plus for this hotel. The room was clean (tiny, but clean), however it wasn't easy to get a decent workout. No free weights (as is typical unless you go higher end), very entry-level cardio equipment, and 1 all-in one weight machine that you could squeeze a handful of exercises out of. Basically, just not worth paying any extra. 8) Pool/Whirlpool - Goes with the theme here on the other extra amenities, basically not worth paying for. The pool was tiny, not even worth considering. The whirlpool was nice, though small, and though I didn't use it myself I can see some value in it. Don't get me wrong, the last 3 items don't differ much from other hotels around $100/night, so it is not a negative aspect of this hotel. However, I would not place additional value on these extra features vs. hotels at which they are not offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For good dining/shopping head about 3 miles east on Tyvola Rd. to the area around Southpark Mall.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve from Woodstock
Family
Woodstock, GA
Aug 3, 2011

Booking Nightmare

I was booked into the wrong type room. [...]. Originally, staff would not change my room but after speaking to GM they put me in a suite for the night. The room looked like it had water damage or was being repaired. Not all that nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lumber Bridge, NC
Jul 12, 2011

Unbeatable location, great price & room

Large room. Enjoyed wharlpool and workout room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Carowinds

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Charlotte Airport South/ I-77 Tyvola

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet and Low
Couples
Tustin, CA
Jul 7, 2011

Promise not kept

The hotel itself was very nice. Rooms are a good size and very clean. We chose hotel because they offered airport shuttle. Although we signed up for shuttle at check-in, when we arrived in the lobby the next morning to get the shuttle we were told that we were not on the list and the shuttle was full. The front desk called us a cab and we had to pay $30 to be taken to the airport. Not happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is no in hotel dining or close dining unless you have transportation. However with a car there are many restaurants and fast food places just a short distance away.

Back to menu Return to top