$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The Dunhill Hotel

4 stars
View map of 237 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dunhill Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie Chocks
Business
Cary, NC
Jul 28, 2014

Dunhill Charlotte

Outstanding location with easy access to restaurants, attractions, clubs, and shops. No pool or workout room, but the rooms were comfortable (a little small) but the hotel is charming. Very European feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reserve on the weekends, the local area is bustling.

Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
g. rice
Business
memphis tennessee
Jul 7, 2014

perfect location at a great price

the staff was great. we loved being uptown at that price. we will recommend the hotel to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary the great one
Business
Calif
May 27, 2014

Great area to stay in

Cleaning staff did a good job. The hole staff we a great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capital grill is great, a little price ee

Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shwell
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Apr 25, 2014

Not quite luxury but quite nice.

The location is pretty good and the room way quite nice but I wouldn't call it luxury. You do get a nice bathrobe and the bed was quite comfortable but there wasn't a vent in the bathroom. Being quite small, the bathroom steamed up to the point I had to get out and get some fresh air. The wallpaper was outdated and pealing in places as well but as I read through this review, I don't think it totally represents my feelings about this hotel. The Dunhill is a wonderful boutique hotel. Some updates here and there would make it a true luxury hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tonci
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 7, 2014

5 star service in a killer location

This is a hotel that makes you feel like an important guest. The front desk staff is all about service, helping us make restaurant reservations and generally there to help in whatever way we needed. In the middle of the action. Clean comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanzania
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Mar 5, 2014

Awesome

The room was perfect for me. The staff was awesome.. I had some specific request and the staff accommodated them without question. Bed was comfy - and from what I can tell, without some sort of forensic light - it was really clean! Not to mention the shuttle service in a really cool car - great old school manners and charm - made me feel like etiquette and service actually still exists in the service and consumer industry - thank you Dunhill - you have got it right! For the price you cannot ask for any more!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block north - my favorite brewery - Rock Bottom. You can start in the hotel lobby and then make your way over to Rock Bottom - for a great reasonably priced meal and awesome beer (choose fire chief ale). Go south a couple of block the next night and choose the City Tavern - really you cannot go wrong in Charlotte! And the Dunhill is cozy, classic and classy.

Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chinatodd
Business
Hong Kong
Jan 8, 2014

Cozy Downtown Boutique Hotel

Nice location with nice atmosphere. Close to everything and excellent location for walking to dinner and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many excellent options available!

Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrdonalddavis
Business
Ocracoke, NC
Jan 7, 2014

Top downtown location

Perfect care by the staff and a perfect location for all downtown places and activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Average Guy2013
Business
Georgia
Oct 1, 2013

Anniversary

Overall, I give it a 6.5 out of 10. I can appreciate the location of the hotel being so close to downtown, and I can appreciate the historical feel of the hotel itself. Most of the staff was helpful and at least moderately friendly. The HVAC system could use updating, as the air put out through thte ventilation system was either far too hot or far too cold. Though I personally reached out the hotel manager and requested advise on the room style to stay in, as well as to see if a corner room with a view would be possible, I was never responded to. I instead received a room with a view of the dirty rooftop next door to our hotel. One final disappointment would be that through my booking, I somehow was discredited the breakfast that is supposed to come with any room at The Dunhill. Upon my arrival, I requested I receive my voucher for my breakfast that I thought came with the room. Even though I had been in contact several times with the hotel staff, I was never informed that booking through another party removed my breakfast vouchers. This was agitating, as the cost of the room was maybe $6 cheaper than if I had booked though the hotel site. This was my greatest disappointment through the whole visit, as I feel it would have been nice to be informed in some manner that breakfast was not part of the package if booking through a different party. Through the reviews I had read and the comments seen, I expected a much more pleasurable stay for my first anniversary with my wife. I will stay at another hotel the next time I visit downtown Charlotte.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RaindogToo
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 17, 2013

Southern warmth

The staff is what made this trip so special. They were incredibly polite, friendly, and helpful, going out of their way to attend to your every whim. The home made cookies in reception were also a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The full Irish breakfast at Ri Ra's Irish Bar across the road from the hotel is not be missed.

Back to menu Return to top