$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

2 stars
8812 University East Drive, Charlotte, NC 28213
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
35 reviews
A great base when we visit our family

The Candlewood at the University is well located for our nearby family. We like having the refrig... See full review

  • Grandma Desert
  • Oct 23, 2014
for the weekend

I try to stay at this hot anytime i come to Charlotte. Its clean, very quiet, serves its purpose See full review

  • Travel Kidd
  • Apr 7, 2014
Sensible prices, full kitchens and pet-friendly suites near UNC

In a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and down the road from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte, Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY adds a touch of home for guests, whether weekenders or on an extended stay. Free guest laundry facilities, newspapers delivered to the room and a video and CD library combine with a fitness center, free Internet and rooms with complete kitchens for ultimate convenience. Open 24 hours, the Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at prices that match economical room rates. 

Highlights

  • Free wired and wireless Internet access
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Rooms have full kitchens plus an outdoor patio with grill area
  • Just a mile from UNC campus, three miles off I-85
  • Pets under 80 lbs. permitted (fees apply)

Location

Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY sits in a suburban area near the UNC campus, in the University East Business Park near both the Research Business Park and IBM Business Park. A short drive from the hotel leads to two botanical gardens, golf courses, major sports events or the 200 stores at Concord Mills Malls, with its NASCAR-themed fun park and 24-screen AMC movie theatre.

Rooms

With 122 all-suite rooms on three floors, Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY strives to deliver a comfortable, affordable alternative to the corporate apartment or bare-bones hotel room, especially for those in town for more than a few days. Rooms have a DVD/VHS player, full kitchen with dishwasher and cookware, and executive desk with free high speed Internet access. Borrow family-friendly selections from the free video and CD library, or check out the latest on cable TV. The new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection and overstuffed recliner invite guests at this Charlotte Candlewood Suites to relax and stay a while.

Features

Parking at Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY is free and well-lit. For guests on the go, the Candlewood Cupboard is open 24 hours, filled with breakfast items, snacks, frozen entrees and drinks. Keep up the workout routine at the 24-hour fitness center with two treadmills, a stair stepper and universal weight machine. After dark, guests might drop by Picassos Sports Cafe for pizza and wings or the Wine Vault wine bar and outdoor patio, both just a few miles away. Sleepy-heads appreciate the availability of a late checkout.

Transportation

  • Charlotte/Douglas International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)

Attractions

  • Concord Mills Mall (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Charlotte Motor Speedway (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Downtown Charlotte(11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Charlotte Convention Center (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Bank of America stadium (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Carolina's Aviation Museum (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Metrolina Tradeshow Expo (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Botanical Gardens at the UNC-Charlotte (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • U.S. National Whitewater Center (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Verizon Ampitheater (4.4 mi/7.1 km)

Business

  • Business center with copy, fax, printing and courier services available (fees apply)
  • Free wired and wireless Internet access
  • One boardroom-style meeting room for up to 15 people
  • Free guest laundry facilities
  • Same-day dry cleaning available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

35.286 -80.7273
Nearby airports
PIEDMONTTRIAD, (GSO), 100.00, MI, S; Charlotte Douglas International Airport, (CLT), 12.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Halton Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve: 1.5 mi
  • UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Lowe's Motor Speedway: 5.2 mi
  • Hendrix Motorsports Complex: 5.6 mi
  • Metrolina Expo Center: 7.3 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 7.4 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 7.4 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 7.4 mi
  • The Fillmore: 7.4 mi
  • Discovery Place: 7.5 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 7.5 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 7.6 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 7.6 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Halton Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve: 1.5 mi
  • UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Lowe's Motor Speedway: 5.2 mi
  • Hendrix Motorsports Complex: 5.6 mi
  • Metrolina Expo Center: 7.3 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 7.4 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 7.4 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 7.4 mi
  • The Fillmore: 7.4 mi
  • Discovery Place: 7.5 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 7.5 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 7.6 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 7.6 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 8 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 8.2 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Freedom Park: 9.5 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 9.8 mi
  • The Billy Graham Library: 12.2 mi
  • Carolinas Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • US National Whitewater Center: 15.7 mi
  • The Golf Club at Ballantyne: 17.2 mi
  • Carowinds: 17.5 mi
  • McDowell Nature Center and Preserve: 19.3 mi

Dining

Picassos Sports Bar
Sports Bar and Pizza
Wine Vault
Wine bar and outdoor patio

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 35
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David's Cool Mom
Business
Winston Salem, NC
Apr 29, 2013

College Visit

The place looked like it needed a good cleaning. It was not a bad place, I guess it's just wear and tear from extended use. The bed was hard. The room needed some additional cleaning- it look like blood on the curtain;the bathroom door handle was broke;the door to our room only shut if you slammed it. For the money it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mabe
Business
Spotsylvania, VA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Cheap Comfortable Complete Vacation

Great experience. 2 second check in and check out. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many different restaurants to choose from. If you like subs, try Howie's Subs next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Short Stay Mom
Business
Orangeburg,SC
Jul 28, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

We really enjoyed our stay at Candlewood, would have stayed longer if they had a swimming pool, but overall the hotel and staff was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a mother
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 16, 2009

Candlewood Suites hotel stay

My children and I came to Charlotte, NC for a vacation and to visit friends. I was not aware that this was an extended stay hotel. I thought room service would pick up the dirty towels/linen daily. This was a change from my typical stay at hotels. Outside of this issue everything was wonderful. The environment in the hotel was peaceful, the staff were pleasant and great, and the location was around several eateries and accessible stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't mapquest directions.The directions that i printed out would have gotten me lost and took me the long way to my destinations.Always ask the staff at the hotel. The staff gave me a straight shot to where i needed to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericksburg, Virginia
May 8, 2009

A comfortable "homey" place to stay

Traveled to a college graduation. I liked the suite style of the rooms. My mom and I were quite comfortable. The living quarters made it feel like home. I would have preferred to have an elevator closer to our room, but overall it was a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 19, 2008

Great value

The Candlewood Suites is by far the best place to stay if you have pets. It offers the best balance between price and luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many good dining places within a few miles of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top