Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY ★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$75
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 18, 2016 Check-out: Feb 21, 2016
4 /5
Overall score
88%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.2
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

In a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and down the road from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte, Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY adds a touch of home for guests, whether weekenders or on an extended stay. Free guest laundry facilities, newspapers delivered to the room and a video and CD library combine with a fitness center, free Internet and rooms with complete kitchens for ultimate convenience. Open 24 hours, the Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at prices that match economical room rates. 

Location

Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY sits in a suburban area near the UNC campus, in the University East Business Park near both the Research Business Park and IBM Business Park. A short drive from the hotel leads to two botanical gardens, golf courses, major sports events or the 200 stores at Concord Mills Malls, with its NASCAR-themed fun park and 24-screen AMC movie theatre.

Rooms

With 122 all-suite rooms on three floors, Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY strives to deliver a comfortable, affordable alternative to the corporate apartment or bare-bones hotel room, especially for those in town for more than a few days. Rooms have a DVD/VHS player, full kitchen with dishwasher and cookware, and executive desk with free high speed Internet access. Borrow family-friendly selections from the free video and CD library, or check out the latest on cable TV. The new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection and overstuffed recliner invite guests at this Charlotte Candlewood Suites to relax and stay a while.

Property features

Parking at Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY is free and well-lit. For guests on the go, the Candlewood Cupboard is open 24 hours, filled with breakfast items, snacks, frozen entrees and drinks. Keep up the workout routine at the 24-hour fitness center with two treadmills, a stair stepper and universal weight machine. After dark, guests might drop by Picassos Sports Cafe for pizza and wings or the Wine Vault wine bar and outdoor patio, both just a few miles away. Sleepy-heads appreciate the availability of a late checkout.

Highlights

  • Free wired and wireless Internet access
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Rooms have full kitchens plus an outdoor patio with grill area
  • Just a mile from UNC campus, three miles off I-85
  • Pets under 80 lbs. permitted (fees apply)

Nearby attractions

  • Concord Mills Mall (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Charlotte Motor Speedway (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Downtown Charlotte(11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Charlotte Convention Center (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Bank of America stadium (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Carolina's Aviation Museum (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Metrolina Tradeshow Expo (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Botanical Gardens at the UNC-Charlotte (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • U.S. National Whitewater Center (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Verizon Ampitheater (4.4 mi/7.1 km)

Business

  • Business center with copy, fax, printing and courier services available (fees apply)
  • Free wired and wireless Internet access
  • One boardroom-style meeting room for up to 15 people
  • Free guest laundry facilities
  • Same-day dry cleaning available (fees apply)

Transportation

  • Charlotte/Douglas International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)

Dining

Picassos Sports Bar
Sports Bar and Pizza
Wine Vault
Wine bar and outdoor patio

Recommendations for you

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Pet friendly
  • Free local telephone calls
  • Ice machine

Activities

  • Children's activities
  • Golf

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Coffee maker in room

Services

  • Maid service
  • Guest laundromat
  • ATM/Cash machine
  • Airline desk
  • In-Room Safe
  • Shops/Commercial services
  • Tour desk
  • Car rental desk
  • Barber/Beauty shop
  • FAX
  • Gift shop
  • Florist

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Parking

  • Free parking
  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities

Room

  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • Kitchen
  • Desk with lamp
  • Free newspaper
  • Hairdryer in room
  • Microwave
  • Outlet adapters
  • Sofa bed
  • Temperature control
  • Ironing board
  • Bath tub

Reviews

4 /5 Overall score

88% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.9/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.3/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.2/5
  • Comfort: 4.3/5
  • Location: 4/5
  • Value: 4.2/5

Unbelievable

Would recommend Tue, Jan 26, 2016
I went on a business trip and took my family along. The trip involved 1,500 miles of driving. On the way home I got sick and had to stay in hotels after dark. When I reached Charlotte only 300 miles from home I still couldn't make it. I looked at reviews of hotels and this Candlewood came back with a A+ for cleanliness. The reviews were right! No bedbugs, mold, dirt anything in sight. The staff was super friendly and concerned about my health. They gave recommendations on eateries and made sure to mention the in house laundry and said if I needed help to ask for it. I really don't have another reason to go to Charlotte but I think I will just to visit this hotel. Well done!

| Newport News Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Birthday trip

Would recommend Fri, Sep 25, 2015
It was clean and nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Anything you need is within reach. Overall I enjoyed this place and will return next trip.

| Laurinburg Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good quality for the money

Would recommend Sat, May 30, 2015
I like the amenities and the room was attractive. Very comfortable.

| N/A Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

A great base when we visit our family

Would recommend Thu, Oct 23, 2014
The Candlewood at the University is well located for our nearby family. We like having the refrig for our breakfast supplies and the stove for making tea when we return at night. A quiet neighborhood. Very kind and attentive staff.

Entertainment hint

The Reedy Creek Nature Center is very close and a wonderful place for hiking, bird watching and relaxing. The play area for children is outstanding.

| Nogales, AZ Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

for the weekend

Would recommend Mon, Apr 7, 2014
I try to stay at this hot anytime i come to Charlotte. Its clean, very quiet, serves its purpose

| Charlotte, NC L.G.B.T.

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

1night stay

Would recommend Tue, Feb 4, 2014
Hotel was great. A few things could have been wiped over (like the mirror and toilet) but aside from that the room was perfect

| Charlotte, NC Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good

Would recommend Sat, Sep 14, 2013
Clean room and great value. Conveniently located to the University of North Carolina - Charlotte.

| North Carolina Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

a great budget crash pad

Would recommend Tue, Sep 10, 2013
very comfortable bed, nice shower pet friendly with free laundry. A quiet hidden gem..

Money saver

there's a Harris Teeter nearby for budget snacks

| Charlotte, NC L.G.B.T.

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

great crash pad

Would recommend Tue, Sep 10, 2013
Late check-in followed by a sadly uneventful and quiet evening. Free laundry mqchines, pet friendly and cheap!

Money saver

Harris Teeter grocery store nearby for smacks

| Charlotte, NC L.G.B.T.

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Nice stay - good value

Would recommend Wed, May 22, 2013
The staff were friendly and helpful, room clean, and I will stay there again next time I'm in Charlotte.

| Austin, Texas Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Halton Arena 1.4 mi
Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve 1.5 mi
UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens 1.6 mi
Lowe's Motor Speedway 5.2 mi
Hendrix Motorsports Complex 5.6 mi
Metrolina Expo Center 7.3 mi
North Carolina Music Factory 7.4 mi
ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center 7.4 mi
Levine Museum of the New South 7.4 mi
The Fillmore 7.4 mi
Discovery Place 7.5 mi
Fourth Ward 7.5 mi
Blumenthal Performing Arts Center 7.6 mi
Charlotte Bobcats Arena 7.6 mi
Charlotte Convention Center 8 mi
Bechtler Museum of Modern Art 8 mi
The Bank of America Stadium 8.2 mi
Charlotte Nature Museum 9.2 mi
Freedom Park 9.5 mi
Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary 9.8 mi
The Billy Graham Library 12.2 mi
Carolinas Aviation Museum 12.3 mi
US National Whitewater Center 15.7 mi
The Golf Club at Ballantyne 17.2 mi
Carowinds 17.5 mi
McDowell Nature Center and Preserve 19.3 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$75
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 18, 2016 Check-out: Feb 21, 2016