$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

2 stars
View map of 8812 University East Drive, Charlotte, NC 28213

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
37 reviews
A great base when we visit our family

The Candlewood at the University is well located for our nearby family. We like having the refrig... See full review

  • Grandma Desert
  • Oct 23, 2014
for the weekend

I try to stay at this hot anytime i come to Charlotte. Its clean, very quiet, serves its purpose See full review

  • Travel Kidd
  • Apr 7, 2014
Sensible prices, full kitchens and pet-friendly suites near UNC

In a quiet neighborhood, three miles from I-85 and down the road from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte, Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY adds a touch of home for guests, whether weekenders or on an extended stay. Free guest laundry facilities, newspapers delivered to the room and a video and CD library combine with a fitness center, free Internet and rooms with complete kitchens for ultimate convenience. Open 24 hours, the Candlewood Cupboard sells an array of meals, snacks and drinks at prices that match economical room rates. 

Highlights

  • Free wired and wireless Internet access
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Rooms have full kitchens plus an outdoor patio with grill area
  • Just a mile from UNC campus, three miles off I-85
  • Pets under 80 lbs. permitted (fees apply)

Location

Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY sits in a suburban area near the UNC campus, in the University East Business Park near both the Research Business Park and IBM Business Park. A short drive from the hotel leads to two botanical gardens, golf courses, major sports events or the 200 stores at Concord Mills Malls, with its NASCAR-themed fun park and 24-screen AMC movie theatre.

Rooms

With 122 all-suite rooms on three floors, Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY strives to deliver a comfortable, affordable alternative to the corporate apartment or bare-bones hotel room, especially for those in town for more than a few days. Rooms have a DVD/VHS player, full kitchen with dishwasher and cookware, and executive desk with free high speed Internet access. Borrow family-friendly selections from the free video and CD library, or check out the latest on cable TV. The new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection and overstuffed recliner invite guests at this Charlotte Candlewood Suites to relax and stay a while.

Features

Parking at Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE – UNIVERSITY is free and well-lit. For guests on the go, the Candlewood Cupboard is open 24 hours, filled with breakfast items, snacks, frozen entrees and drinks. Keep up the workout routine at the 24-hour fitness center with two treadmills, a stair stepper and universal weight machine. After dark, guests might drop by Picassos Sports Cafe for pizza and wings or the Wine Vault wine bar and outdoor patio, both just a few miles away. Sleepy-heads appreciate the availability of a late checkout.

Transportation

  • Charlotte/Douglas International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)

Attractions

  • Concord Mills Mall (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Charlotte Motor Speedway (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Downtown Charlotte(11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Charlotte Convention Center (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Bank of America stadium (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Carolina's Aviation Museum (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Metrolina Tradeshow Expo (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Botanical Gardens at the UNC-Charlotte (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • U.S. National Whitewater Center (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Verizon Ampitheater (4.4 mi/7.1 km)

Business

  • Business center with copy, fax, printing and courier services available (fees apply)
  • Free wired and wireless Internet access
  • One boardroom-style meeting room for up to 15 people
  • Free guest laundry facilities
  • Same-day dry cleaning available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Halton Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve: 1.5 mi
  • UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Lowe's Motor Speedway: 5.2 mi
  • Hendrix Motorsports Complex: 5.6 mi
  • Metrolina Expo Center: 7.3 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 7.4 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 7.4 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 7.4 mi
  • The Fillmore: 7.4 mi
  • Discovery Place: 7.5 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 7.5 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 7.6 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 7.6 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Halton Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve: 1.5 mi
  • UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Lowe's Motor Speedway: 5.2 mi
  • Hendrix Motorsports Complex: 5.6 mi
  • Metrolina Expo Center: 7.3 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 7.4 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 7.4 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 7.4 mi
  • The Fillmore: 7.4 mi
  • Discovery Place: 7.5 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 7.5 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 7.6 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 7.6 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 8 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 8.2 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Freedom Park: 9.5 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 9.8 mi
  • The Billy Graham Library: 12.2 mi
  • Carolinas Aviation Museum: 12.3 mi
  • US National Whitewater Center: 15.7 mi
  • The Golf Club at Ballantyne: 17.2 mi
  • Carowinds: 17.5 mi
  • McDowell Nature Center and Preserve: 19.3 mi

Dining

Picassos Sports Bar
Sports Bar and Pizza
Wine Vault
Wine bar and outdoor patio

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 22, 2009

Nice weekend getaway

Did extensive searching on the website before deciding to go with Candlewood Suites. Couldn't have made a better choice. I would recommend them to anyone. Wish I could have stayed longer to take advantage of the amenities and the overall niceness of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Turley68
Business
Michigan
Dec 10, 2011

Great overall experience

The hotel is very nice and in a very nice location. Only problem I had was I booked the hotel and when I checked in they swiped my credit card and charged me again. The next day my problem was taken care of right away by a very helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip back to Charlotte.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelin' Fan
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Jan 6, 2012

Perfect

This is a great hotel. This was my second time staying there and couldn't be happier. It is a bit off the beaten path but the price and ammeneties make up for it. HIGHLY RECCOMEND.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a hotel shop that has anything a convienence store would have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShoeDiva
Business
South Carolina
Nov 26, 2012

Its a nice place to stay

If you are looking for quiet and nice then this is the place that you want to stay. Its close to places like the concord mall, its a pizza place that's open until 3 am Its a wonderful place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Concord mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Kidd
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 7, 2014

for the weekend

I try to stay at this hot anytime i come to Charlotte. Its clean, very quiet, serves its purpose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 3, 2008

very friendly and good location

It was like having your own studio apartment. Your have a refrigrator, microwave, range, ironing board/iron, tools to cooking with and table to eat and work from. Candlewood is clean and has a mini food pantry for quick and oops I forgot items. I would use Candlewood Suites again when staying in Charlotte, NC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You are within a short drive from Concord Mills Mall, Lowes Motor Speedway, plenty of resturant and a hospital.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 26, 2009

Nice hotel

Great hotel for the price! The staff was very friendly. I arrived in town early and called the hotel. They were able to get me checked in a couple of hours early. This was extremely helpful to me. The room was very clean and cozy. The bed and linens were very comfortable. I didn't even want to get out of bed in the morning! The Cupboard was a great feature! We arrived back to the room late after a night on the town and were able to have some much needed food (microwavable frozen pizza). This was very convenient! Overall great value, friendly and helpful staff, clean room, and great location(very quiet). I will definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilton Head, SC
May 20, 2007

Spacious Rooms

The Candlewood Suites, Charlotte-University was comfortable and convenient. The room was spacious with a queen sized bed, desk/table with two chairs, recliner and a mini kitchen with full sized refrigerator, small cooktop and microwave. It actually had more room than some of the studio type timeshares where we have stayed. The linens were very nice and well kept. The bath towels were surprisingly soft and luxuriously thick. Much nicer than the ones at a much more expensive hotel suite where we stayed the following weekend. We did have a problem when we returned to the room at 1:00 AM to find that our key did not work and the hotel does not have anyone at the front desk after 10 or 11 o'clock. We had to go down to the lobby to call for help and had to make a second trip down before someone showed up to re-key our keycards. The only other complaint we had was the air conditioner. The room had an occupancy sensor that automatically turned the temperature up after about 30 minutes of inactivity and it became too warm to sleep comfortably. The thermostat would not stay at the cooler temperature. I had to get up several times during the night to turn the temperature back down to cool off. We were there for 2 nights. Other than the inconveniences mentioned above, we would probably stay again if we could be assured that the thermostat could be re-set or overridden. The fact that there is not a person on the desk around the clock is a little discerning expecially since there is a metal baracade that is lowered when the desk is closed. It doesn't give you a very warm and fuzzy feeling when coming back in late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There were several restaurants and plenty of shopping a short distance away. We were about 15 minutes from the Lowes Motor Speedway and Concord Mills Shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2008

Very quiet & relaxing atmosphere

The room was very spacious & comfortable. The hotel location was convenient to the Verizon where our concert was held. Also, lots of food choices nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Verizon & restaurants were just a short drive within 5-10 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
world-traveller
Business
Boone NC
Nov 15, 2009

beat-proof on low cost self-maintenance

Lost my I-Phone; it was found by a tenant and left for me with the, in every way, supportive staff. We were impressed by the VERY low cost, super clean accommodations that included a full kitchen; obviating the need to search for local restaurants, though they existed aplenty in the nearby area. Also close by is the new IKEA -wow what a place for shopping, and, of course, UNCC. This is about 15 to 20 minute driving time from uptown Charlotte. A really large gym is joined by a vending machine are that works on the honor system!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top