$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

2 stars
View map of 8812 University East Drive, Charlotte, NC 28213

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hoagland, IN
May 31, 2011

great location, good price

Went to race. Went to Lazy 5 Ranch. Shopping and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lazt 5 Ranch

Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
birthday ceremony
Business
charlotte
Nov 28, 2010

vacation

it was fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
okdokie
Business
charlotte, nc
Nov 22, 2009

review

The room needed updating and the linens smelled of stale tobacco. The room was adequate and all necessary amenities were there. It was adequate but certainly not luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
world-traveller
Business
Boone NC
Nov 15, 2009

beat-proof on low cost self-maintenance

Lost my I-Phone; it was found by a tenant and left for me with the, in every way, supportive staff. We were impressed by the VERY low cost, super clean accommodations that included a full kitchen; obviating the need to search for local restaurants, though they existed aplenty in the nearby area. Also close by is the new IKEA -wow what a place for shopping, and, of course, UNCC. This is about 15 to 20 minute driving time from uptown Charlotte. A really large gym is joined by a vending machine are that works on the honor system!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Short Stay Mom
Business
Orangeburg,SC
Jul 28, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

We really enjoyed our stay at Candlewood, would have stayed longer if they had a swimming pool, but overall the hotel and staff was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 26, 2009

Nice hotel

Great hotel for the price! The staff was very friendly. I arrived in town early and called the hotel. They were able to get me checked in a couple of hours early. This was extremely helpful to me. The room was very clean and cozy. The bed and linens were very comfortable. I didn't even want to get out of bed in the morning! The Cupboard was a great feature! We arrived back to the room late after a night on the town and were able to have some much needed food (microwavable frozen pizza). This was very convenient! Overall great value, friendly and helpful staff, clean room, and great location(very quiet). I will definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 22, 2009

Nice weekend getaway

Did extensive searching on the website before deciding to go with Candlewood Suites. Couldn't have made a better choice. I would recommend them to anyone. Wish I could have stayed longer to take advantage of the amenities and the overall niceness of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 22, 2009

Nice weekend getaway

Did extensive searching on the website before deciding to go with Candlewood Suites. Couldn't have made a better choice. I would recommend them to anyone. Wish I could have stayed longer to take advantage of the amenities and the overall niceness of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a mother
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 16, 2009

Candlewood Suites hotel stay

My children and I came to Charlotte, NC for a vacation and to visit friends. I was not aware that this was an extended stay hotel. I thought room service would pick up the dirty towels/linen daily. This was a change from my typical stay at hotels. Outside of this issue everything was wonderful. The environment in the hotel was peaceful, the staff were pleasant and great, and the location was around several eateries and accessible stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't mapquest directions.The directions that i printed out would have gotten me lost and took me the long way to my destinations.Always ask the staff at the hotel. The staff gave me a straight shot to where i needed to go.

Review of Candlewood Suites CHARLOTTE-UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 14, 2009

Great Stay

Hotel was quiet, staff very helpful, rooms did need some upgrading. Flooring needed upgrading. Had a fridge, small stove, microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top