Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

2 stars
190 Hendersonville Rd, Asheville, NC 28803
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
106 reviews
perfect location - good value

This was just what we wanted - nothing fancy - but a clean room - place to shower and sleep and... See full review

  • adav
  • Nov 20, 2013
Just what we ordered

We wanted to be close to the amenities of the city and just have a place to sleep, shower and grab... See full review

  • Tex3
  • Apr 2, 2013
Economy hotel near Biltmore Estate with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

The Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore provides a comfortable, economical choice for travelers visiting the Biltmore Estate and city center. The hotel provides free continental breakfast. Numerous suburban dining and shopping options lie along Hendersonville Road. Area attractions include the popular Biltmore Estate, as well as downtown destinations such as the Asheville Art Museum and Grove Arcade. At the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore, guests take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi and an outdoor courtyard.

Highlights

Free continental breakfast

Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Minutes from the Biltmore Estate

Some rooms have private balconies or patios

Location

Near the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore, Biltmore Village offers art galleries, fine dining and specialty shops. The village lies at the entrance of the popular Biltmore House, a French chateau-style mansion built by George Vanderbilt II and completed in 1895. The 8,000-acre Biltmore Estate also features gardens and a winery. Abundant recreation and sightseeing opportunities exist in the surrounding Blue Ridge and Great Smoky Mountains.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore feature no-frills décor with quilted bedspreads, tasteful artwork and comfy seating areas. Guest rooms include complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are also provided. Bath amenities and cable TV provide additional comfort and convenience. Refrigerators are provided in some rooms. Selected rooms feature private balconies or patios.

Features

Free continental breakfast is provided for guests of the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore. An outdoor courtyard is available. A lobby fireplace provides a cozy gathering space.

Transportation
  • I-40 (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • I-240 (2 mi/2.8 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (2 mi/4 km)
  • I-26 (3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Asheville Regional Airport (9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Biltmore House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Asheville Mall (1 mi/2.4 km)    
  • Asheville Art Museum (2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Grove Arcade (2 mi/3.8 km)
  • Asheville Civic Center (2 mi/4 km)
  • Basilica of Saint Lawrence (2 mi/4 km)
  • Asheville Visitor Center (3 mi/4.2 km) 
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (3 mi/4.2 km)
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (4 mi/6.3 km)
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (6 mi/9.7 km)  
Business
  • Meeting space available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.5627 -82.5416
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 106
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dadiio
nc
May 4, 2012

hojo

Location good for Biltmore House, however the "free" wifi was lousy as it came and went. Room was clean. No elevators, one ice machine, issued a key to the outside door and cards for the room. Many signs about taking everything out of your car and "not responsible" made you feel unsafe. Continental breakfast was average. Mens restroom in office/breakfast area missing two ceiling tiles and unclean. Old unkept property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steakhouse nearby good food, fast food also.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holly Springs
Nov 16, 2008

ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

The Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore in Asheville, North Carolina was the worst hotel I've ever been to! The manager/hotel staff had to have written the reviews for this hotel! There's absolutely no way anyone could enjoy this hotel. That weekend was our one year anniversary and when we arrived at the hotel, the shingles were hanging from the roof and to me, it almost looked condemned. When we entered the room, it smelled musty. The tub was filthy, there was something sticky in the chair, and when I pulled the covers back, there looked to be a lipstick smudge on the sheets. This told me that the bed linen had not been changed. I went to complain and to ask the front desk clerk to at least change the sheets. The clerk told me that the housekeeping staff had gone for the day and he would give me the sheets so I could do it. The manager was somewhere on the property and would not speak to me personally to address the problem. VERY DISSATISFIED! Again, I do not recommend this hotel to any of my friends-I would not even recommend this hotel to any of my enemies!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Biltmore Estate was a short drive from this hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holly Springs
Nov 16, 2008

ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

The Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore in Asheville, North Carolina was the worst hotel I've ever been to! The manager/hotel staff had to have written the reviews for this hotel! There's absolutely no way anyone could enjoy this hotel. That weekend was our one year anniversary and when we arrived at the hotel, the shingles were hanging from the roof and to me, it almost looked condemned. When we entered the room, it smelled musty. The tub was filthy, there was something sticky in the chair, and when I pulled the covers back, there looked to be a lipstick smudge on the sheets. This told me that the bed linen had not been changed. I went to complain and to ask the front desk clerk to at least change the sheets. The clerk told me that the housekeeping staff had gone for the day and he would give me the sheets so I could do it. The manager was somewhere on the property and would not speak to me personally to address the problem. VERY DISSATISFIED! Again, I do not recommend this hotel to any of my friends-I would not even recommend this hotel to any of my enemies!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Biltmore Estate was a short drive from this hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travism173
roanoke rapids NC
Sep 3, 2013

I plan on going back to the area soon but won't be staying here

The room looked like a seen out of a low budget 70s dirty movie.. Dark brown carpet and the covers on the bed looked like they were from the 70s the whole place did..the only thing that looked new was the graffiti...place needs repair and there were weeds in the flower bed taller than me...needed a can opener they didn't have one, the ice machine stayed out of ice which I needed since there wasn't a refrigerator in the foom and the sink knob came right off and spraed water all over everything in the bathroom including my girlfriend...I thought it was over priced for what it was even for this area but the lady behind the front desk was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pruitt
Ruffin, NC 27326, USA
Dec 12, 2011

couple getaway

it was a nice motel for the price. the room had every thing we need for our stay we did not spend alot of time in the room. the contiental breakfast was okay it would have been nice if the pastry would have been warm and the coffee was old and strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I choose the motel because it was close to the Biltmore and the price was okay. We spent most of the day at the biltomore and it was nice to come back to the room to rest.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh NC
Sep 7, 2009

Ho Jo at Biltmore

The room was very clean and neat. The floor and air were very moist. It smelled wierd, bad. The doors to enter the hotel had a large key and were very noisy everytime they opened and closed. The room was a different kind of key so there are 2 to keep up with. It was within walking distance to Biltmore Village, so that was nice. It was an ok experience, what we should expect for one of the lowest rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a block away from Biltmore Village.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tired senior citizen
Peoria, il
Apr 14, 2013

visit to family

handy location to where family lives. Bathroom shower area in dire need of cleaning and regrouting. Supposidly queen beds were different sizes. Will probably stay there again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
n.c.
Jun 12, 2010

not sure

We had planned to spend the day Saturday laying by the pool. No one told us the pool would be closed.If I had known the pool was closed we would not have stayed there. It should have been posted in the add.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitor in Asheville
Asheville
Apr 2, 2013

HJ in Asheville

The location was great and the motel was very quiet. Cleanliness was an issue and new bedding and towels would be good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pack's Tavern in downtown Asheville

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh NC
Sep 7, 2009

Ho Jo at Biltmore

The room was very clean and neat. The floor and air were very moist. It smelled wierd, bad. The doors to enter the hotel had a large key and were very noisy everytime they opened and closed. The room was a different kind of key so there are 2 to keep up with. It was within walking distance to Biltmore Village, so that was nice. It was an ok experience, what we should expect for one of the lowest rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a block away from Biltmore Village.

Back to menu Return to top