$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

2 stars
190 Hendersonville Rd, Asheville, NC 28803
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
106 reviews
perfect location - good value

This was just what we wanted - nothing fancy - but a clean room - place to shower and sleep and... See full review

  • adav
  • Nov 20, 2013
Just what we ordered

We wanted to be close to the amenities of the city and just have a place to sleep, shower and grab... See full review

  • Tex3
  • Apr 2, 2013
Economy hotel near Biltmore Estate with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

The Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore provides a comfortable, economical choice for travelers visiting the Biltmore Estate and city center. The hotel provides free continental breakfast. Numerous suburban dining and shopping options lie along Hendersonville Road. Area attractions include the popular Biltmore Estate, as well as downtown destinations such as the Asheville Art Museum and Grove Arcade. At the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore, guests take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi and an outdoor courtyard.

Highlights

Free continental breakfast

Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Minutes from the Biltmore Estate

Some rooms have private balconies or patios

Location

Near the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore, Biltmore Village offers art galleries, fine dining and specialty shops. The village lies at the entrance of the popular Biltmore House, a French chateau-style mansion built by George Vanderbilt II and completed in 1895. The 8,000-acre Biltmore Estate also features gardens and a winery. Abundant recreation and sightseeing opportunities exist in the surrounding Blue Ridge and Great Smoky Mountains.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore feature no-frills décor with quilted bedspreads, tasteful artwork and comfy seating areas. Guest rooms include complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are also provided. Bath amenities and cable TV provide additional comfort and convenience. Refrigerators are provided in some rooms. Selected rooms feature private balconies or patios.

Features

Free continental breakfast is provided for guests of the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore. An outdoor courtyard is available. A lobby fireplace provides a cozy gathering space.

Transportation
  • I-40 (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • I-240 (2 mi/2.8 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (2 mi/4 km)
  • I-26 (3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Asheville Regional Airport (9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Biltmore House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Asheville Mall (1 mi/2.4 km)    
  • Asheville Art Museum (2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Grove Arcade (2 mi/3.8 km)
  • Asheville Civic Center (2 mi/4 km)
  • Basilica of Saint Lawrence (2 mi/4 km)
  • Asheville Visitor Center (3 mi/4.2 km) 
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (3 mi/4.2 km)
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (4 mi/6.3 km)
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (6 mi/9.7 km)  
Business
  • Meeting space available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

35.5627 -82.5416
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SunsetGirl
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Excellent Value

1-2 miles from the Biltmore Estate and Downtown Asheville, and walking distance from Biltmore Village. Very comfortable, quiet, clean rooms, nice color scheme of red and beige in the room and white bathrooms. Entrance from carpeted hallways. Complimentary breakfast consisted of bagels, fruits, coffee, etc. Nice hotel staff. Perfect if you are just looking for a good night sleep. Would definitely stay there again considering the excellent value for the buck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Liverpool, PA
Jun 26, 2010

Hotel was terrible

This was probably one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. We chose a nonsmoking room due to my daughter's asthma. The bathroom reeked of smoke and nothing was ever done about it. We were not even given the option to change rooms. Also, we were never given clean towels on the second day. The room was dirty when we arrived with crumbs from the previous people still on the desk and trash on the floor. The floor was filthy as well. The pool was closed as well after we had specifically chosen the hotel because it had a pool and nonsmoking rooms. The only reason we stayed was because we would not have received a refund on the hotel stay. I will never go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nitrobob
Bristow, VA
Jul 17, 2010

Never repeat

A pool would have been nice considering the time of year and the temperature. The grounds surrounding the motel were in very poor condition. Also put in the worst section of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Biltmore Fan
Baltimore, MD
Oct 29, 2009

Shows its Age; Poor Quality

We were staying at Asheville to visit the Biltmore Estate. We checked into HoJo, looked at our room, and promptly checked out...we refused to stay there. The hotel is old and run down. Wallpaper is coming off the corridor walls in big strips, there are water stains on the ceiling, etc. Overall, things have not been cared for and nothing has been updated. Although the room had been cleaned (beds were made, towels were in the bathroom), it smelled like mildew and garbage. And several things in the room are broken, such as drawer handles and knobs. The back patio is not private...it opens onto a shared courtyard with other guests walking around, right up to our sliding glass door! This made the room feel exposed and not at all private. The locks are old and unsecure. The sliding glass door did not feel secure...it just did not feel safe, which is the main reason we left. I would not recommend HoJo of Asheville to friends or family. Although it is a bit more expensive, the Sleep Inn across the street and much nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Rezaz is a wonderful Mediterranean restaurant near the entrance to Biltmore Estate. The food is amazing and the staff is very friendly!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2007

road trip suprise

This was a blast from the past ....1970... no sober front desk clerk.....no fridge in the room, decor 40 years old plus...ac was too loud to leave on at nite... very overpriced for the quality...ps modest breakfast was $ 6.00 extra ...time to update ...now!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hilton Head Gang
Ashevile, NC
Apr 7, 2013

Hilton Head Return

Horrible experience. Bad part of town. Locked when we arrived. Had to call to get let in. Warnings posted to "not leave any valuables in car" and "don't walk down hallways alone". Deadbolts top and bottom. Mold in the tub. Hole in the wall. Unacceptably dirty. Hair on the sheets when we pulled covers back. This is a bad name for your company and for this hotel. I would like a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2007

road trip suprise

This was a blast from the past ....1970... no sober front desk clerk.....no fridge in the room, decor 40 years old plus...ac was too loud to leave on at nite... very overpriced for the quality...ps modest breakfast was $ 6.00 extra ...time to update ...now!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob from VA
Business
Alexandria, VA
May 20, 2013

Not the Room I Reserved

When I made the reservation a day ahead, I reserved a non-smoking room and requested one with handicapped access. When I arrived at 10:30 PM that night, the only room they had left was a regular smoking room on the far side of the hotel. The clerk apologized, saying that if I had called in earlier he would have saved the non-smoking handicapped room near the front for me. When I asked, he said that he had given it out several hours before to regular couple who did not want the room in the back of the hotel. I am disabled and allergic to smoke. It was a difficult night for me as a result. I had to wheel my chair all the way to the back dragging my suitcase. Please get your hotels to honor the non-smoking reservations and the handicapped access requests. Thank you, Robert Sarratt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby Biltmore Village is full of very nice, quaint shops and restaurants.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nitrobob
Bristow, VA
Jul 17, 2010

Never repeat

A pool would have been nice considering the time of year and the temperature. The grounds surrounding the motel were in very poor condition. Also put in the worst section of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Biltmore Fan
Baltimore, MD
Oct 29, 2009

Shows its Age; Poor Quality

We were staying at Asheville to visit the Biltmore Estate. We checked into HoJo, looked at our room, and promptly checked out...we refused to stay there. The hotel is old and run down. Wallpaper is coming off the corridor walls in big strips, there are water stains on the ceiling, etc. Overall, things have not been cared for and nothing has been updated. Although the room had been cleaned (beds were made, towels were in the bathroom), it smelled like mildew and garbage. And several things in the room are broken, such as drawer handles and knobs. The back patio is not private...it opens onto a shared courtyard with other guests walking around, right up to our sliding glass door! This made the room feel exposed and not at all private. The locks are old and unsecure. The sliding glass door did not feel secure...it just did not feel safe, which is the main reason we left. I would not recommend HoJo of Asheville to friends or family. Although it is a bit more expensive, the Sleep Inn across the street and much nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Rezaz is a wonderful Mediterranean restaurant near the entrance to Biltmore Estate. The food is amazing and the staff is very friendly!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dadiio
nc
May 4, 2012

hojo

Location good for Biltmore House, however the "free" wifi was lousy as it came and went. Room was clean. No elevators, one ice machine, issued a key to the outside door and cards for the room. Many signs about taking everything out of your car and "not responsible" made you feel unsafe. Continental breakfast was average. Mens restroom in office/breakfast area missing two ceiling tiles and unclean. Old unkept property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steakhouse nearby good food, fast food also.

Back to menu Return to top