$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

2 stars
190 Hendersonville Rd, Asheville, NC 28803
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
106 reviews
perfect location - good value

This was just what we wanted - nothing fancy - but a clean room - place to shower and sleep and... See full review

  • adav
  • Nov 20, 2013
Just what we ordered

We wanted to be close to the amenities of the city and just have a place to sleep, shower and grab... See full review

  • Tex3
  • Apr 2, 2013
Economy hotel near Biltmore Estate with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

The Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore provides a comfortable, economical choice for travelers visiting the Biltmore Estate and city center. The hotel provides free continental breakfast. Numerous suburban dining and shopping options lie along Hendersonville Road. Area attractions include the popular Biltmore Estate, as well as downtown destinations such as the Asheville Art Museum and Grove Arcade. At the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore, guests take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi and an outdoor courtyard.

Highlights

Free continental breakfast

Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Minutes from the Biltmore Estate

Some rooms have private balconies or patios

Location

Near the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore, Biltmore Village offers art galleries, fine dining and specialty shops. The village lies at the entrance of the popular Biltmore House, a French chateau-style mansion built by George Vanderbilt II and completed in 1895. The 8,000-acre Biltmore Estate also features gardens and a winery. Abundant recreation and sightseeing opportunities exist in the surrounding Blue Ridge and Great Smoky Mountains.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore feature no-frills décor with quilted bedspreads, tasteful artwork and comfy seating areas. Guest rooms include complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are also provided. Bath amenities and cable TV provide additional comfort and convenience. Refrigerators are provided in some rooms. Selected rooms feature private balconies or patios.

Features

Free continental breakfast is provided for guests of the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore. An outdoor courtyard is available. A lobby fireplace provides a cozy gathering space.

Transportation
  • I-40 (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • I-240 (2 mi/2.8 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (2 mi/4 km)
  • I-26 (3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Asheville Regional Airport (9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Biltmore House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Asheville Mall (1 mi/2.4 km)    
  • Asheville Art Museum (2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Grove Arcade (2 mi/3.8 km)
  • Asheville Civic Center (2 mi/4 km)
  • Basilica of Saint Lawrence (2 mi/4 km)
  • Asheville Visitor Center (3 mi/4.2 km) 
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (3 mi/4.2 km)
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (4 mi/6.3 km)
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (6 mi/9.7 km)  
Business
  • Meeting space available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.5627 -82.5416
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John C from Sangre
Omaha
Sep 28, 2012

A good place to stay

I enjoyed my brief stay there. The staff was helpful. The breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SexyGayTiger
Greenville, South Carolina
Sep 13, 2012

Great Place to Rest!!!

I Loved it Everyone was Nice Great Room and Price Near Downtown so it was just what I needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Its only 7min Drive to Scandals Night Club from The Hotel Great Shot in town

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikbeth
Gilman City, Missouri
Aug 13, 2012

Great place to stay

This was a very nice hotel, very clean, comfortable & in a great location. They served your basic free breakfast, but it was great for us. We were a little disappointed that the pool was closed & didn't know this in advance, but I would still recommend this hotel to friends & family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pepper Lilly
Fayetteville,nc
Jul 17, 2012

It was a cheap motel

The outside door coming in had no lock..so no security..the motel mangement gave me a key stated they were fixing..NOT The room felt like it was moist and clamy...aircondition issues..but hey was the cheapest rates around and that's what I wanted..lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Future freshman at MHC
Salisbury,md
Jun 25, 2012

Overnight stay college orientation

Arrived after 12 midnight to check-in . Office door was locked . Had to ring twice and then call to get someone. When contact was made he was quick and efficient with room and instructions to room. Limited towels for rooms with three people. Shower was nice and warm and the room was nice and cool. Quiet to sleep. Older hotel Could use some fluffier towels or some new comforters to spruce it up another notch Served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
E musician
Philadelphia, PA
May 18, 2012

Just enough for the price

It was a cheap hotel. It felt like a cheap hotel. They gave me an extra key to open the entrance to the hotel building. It was annoying because I had an extra key (in addition to the room key) to take care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BBall Mom
Raleigh, NC
May 9, 2012

Great for the price!

It was clean, everyone was courteous. Only Big complaint. No Refrigerator! Did not spend alot of time in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dadiio
nc
May 4, 2012

hojo

Location good for Biltmore House, however the "free" wifi was lousy as it came and went. Room was clean. No elevators, one ice machine, issued a key to the outside door and cards for the room. Many signs about taking everything out of your car and "not responsible" made you feel unsafe. Continental breakfast was average. Mens restroom in office/breakfast area missing two ceiling tiles and unclean. Old unkept property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steakhouse nearby good food, fast food also.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mattster
Dayton, OH
Apr 23, 2012

Good Hotel room for a good price

I showed up into town late, found the hotel on my phone. I was pleasantly suprised at the room size for the price paid. I had a room in the back, where I was able to see my car from the walk out balcony in the well lit parking lot. The hotel is near a residental neighborhood where apparently there are quite a few stray cats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shell station is within walking distance

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ladyjd
miami
Mar 16, 2012

Anniversary

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top