$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

2 stars
190 Hendersonville Rd, Asheville, NC 28803
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
106 reviews
perfect location - good value

This was just what we wanted - nothing fancy - but a clean room - place to shower and sleep and... See full review

  • adav
  • Nov 20, 2013
Just what we ordered

We wanted to be close to the amenities of the city and just have a place to sleep, shower and grab... See full review

  • Tex3
  • Apr 2, 2013
Economy hotel near Biltmore Estate with free breakfast and free Wi-Fi

The Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore provides a comfortable, economical choice for travelers visiting the Biltmore Estate and city center. The hotel provides free continental breakfast. Numerous suburban dining and shopping options lie along Hendersonville Road. Area attractions include the popular Biltmore Estate, as well as downtown destinations such as the Asheville Art Museum and Grove Arcade. At the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore, guests take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi and an outdoor courtyard.

Highlights

Free continental breakfast

Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Minutes from the Biltmore Estate

Some rooms have private balconies or patios

Location

Near the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore, Biltmore Village offers art galleries, fine dining and specialty shops. The village lies at the entrance of the popular Biltmore House, a French chateau-style mansion built by George Vanderbilt II and completed in 1895. The 8,000-acre Biltmore Estate also features gardens and a winery. Abundant recreation and sightseeing opportunities exist in the surrounding Blue Ridge and Great Smoky Mountains.

Rooms

All guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore feature no-frills décor with quilted bedspreads, tasteful artwork and comfy seating areas. Guest rooms include complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are also provided. Bath amenities and cable TV provide additional comfort and convenience. Refrigerators are provided in some rooms. Selected rooms feature private balconies or patios.

Features

Free continental breakfast is provided for guests of the Howard Johnson Inn – Asheville Biltmore. An outdoor courtyard is available. A lobby fireplace provides a cozy gathering space.

Transportation
  • I-40 (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • I-240 (2 mi/2.8 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (2 mi/4 km)
  • I-26 (3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Asheville Regional Airport (9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Biltmore House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Asheville Mall (1 mi/2.4 km)    
  • Asheville Art Museum (2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Grove Arcade (2 mi/3.8 km)
  • Asheville Civic Center (2 mi/4 km)
  • Basilica of Saint Lawrence (2 mi/4 km)
  • Asheville Visitor Center (3 mi/4.2 km) 
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (3 mi/4.2 km)
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (4 mi/6.3 km)
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (6 mi/9.7 km)  
Business
  • Meeting space available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.5627 -82.5416
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob from VA
Business
Alexandria, VA
May 20, 2013

Not the Room I Reserved

When I made the reservation a day ahead, I reserved a non-smoking room and requested one with handicapped access. When I arrived at 10:30 PM that night, the only room they had left was a regular smoking room on the far side of the hotel. The clerk apologized, saying that if I had called in earlier he would have saved the non-smoking handicapped room near the front for me. When I asked, he said that he had given it out several hours before to regular couple who did not want the room in the back of the hotel. I am disabled and allergic to smoke. It was a difficult night for me as a result. I had to wheel my chair all the way to the back dragging my suitcase. Please get your hotels to honor the non-smoking reservations and the handicapped access requests. Thank you, Robert Sarratt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby Biltmore Village is full of very nice, quaint shops and restaurants.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BCB241
Gainesville Florida
Apr 18, 2013

Asheville Stay

Excelllent hotel for the price. Perfect location for the Biltmore visit. Pleasent staff and a clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tired senior citizen
Peoria, il
Apr 14, 2013

visit to family

handy location to where family lives. Bathroom shower area in dire need of cleaning and regrouting. Supposidly queen beds were different sizes. Will probably stay there again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hilton Head Gang
Ashevile, NC
Apr 7, 2013

Hilton Head Return

Horrible experience. Bad part of town. Locked when we arrived. Had to call to get let in. Warnings posted to "not leave any valuables in car" and "don't walk down hallways alone". Deadbolts top and bottom. Mold in the tub. Hole in the wall. Unacceptably dirty. Hair on the sheets when we pulled covers back. This is a bad name for your company and for this hotel. I would like a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tex3
York, PA, USA
Apr 2, 2013

Just what we ordered

We wanted to be close to the amenities of the city and just have a place to sleep, shower and grab a breakfast. It hit the spot. It won't rate high as compared to the new luxury hotels but we didn't go to Asheville to gawk at the hotels. Price was very reasonable and we would return on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hit the downtown and walk around. The people are friendly and it carries an aura that is very welcoming. There is something for everybody. Also, take a trolley tour to see the town, learn about its history and the places you want to go back to visit more in depth. You can also hop off and get back on.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitor in Asheville
Asheville
Apr 2, 2013

HJ in Asheville

The location was great and the motel was very quiet. Cleanliness was an issue and new bedding and towels would be good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pack's Tavern in downtown Asheville

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
skyview2013
Durham,NC
Nov 12, 2012

Wonderful Overnight Stay

Location was close to everything- resturants, market place and Biltmore Estate was just a couple of miles away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daystar
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 25, 2012

Right near Biltmore Estate

My purpose was to be near the Biltmore Estate and not far from the airport. It totally met that. Clean, Spacious Value. Staff recommended a great dinner spot that was inexpensive. Coffee service in Rm, fridge, no microwave. Building was old and well worn but that did not get in the way of my enjoyment. Bed was comfortable and I got a good sleep. I was not expecting a resort. Breakfast was average,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Biltmore Village has a lot of high end stores in quaint older homes and buildings. Bar and Grill in the old train station was good food at a fair price.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nctwentysomething
Wilmington, NC
Oct 22, 2012

Good stay, but expensive!

I should have known that Asheville int he Fall would be expensive as far as hotels go. It was a nice stay about 15 minutes from downtown and really close to the Biltmore village. Turning onto Hendersonville road was a bit tricky every time we left the hotel, but we had a nice time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Asheville Biltmore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Back in the mountains
Middle Tennessee
Oct 2, 2012

W/end visit

Location is fine, hotel is up a steep hill off US 25... can be a wait getting across 25 from hotel to go south - away from Biltmore Village. Room was good size and clean in an older hotel with fixtures to match. Need both a steel housekey for hall & plastic room key; light switch in bathroom also turned off electric outlet so watch out for that if a tootbrush or razor needs a charge; A/C perhaps noisier than most Holiday Inns - but not extraordinarily so. Hey, it s a $60/hotel... needed a place to sleep when visiting - may stay there again next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top