$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 42 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
89 reviews
Nice Hotel, Fair Price

Room was really big and very clean. It was better than we expected. Definitely staying there again. See full review

  • Dan R
  • Jun 10, 2015
Business Trip

Clean and excellent accomodations. Staff was friendly and fast shuttle service to and from downtown... See full review

  • Johnny Quake
  • May 20, 2015
Located a mile from the city center, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown provides convenient access to the Asheville Art Museum, Asheville Mall and Biltmore House. Minutes from the hotel, the Blue Ridge Parkway offers breathtaking views for guests taking day trips from the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown. At the hotel, guest rooms feature complimentary Internet access. Jacuzzi suites are available. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown features an indoor/outdoor mineral pool and on-site restaurant and lounge.
Location

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown has a prime downtown location, close to shops, restaurants, museums and more. Stroll the galleries of Grove Arcade or tour the stunning Biltmore Estate. Road-trippers take note: the hotel is minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway. 

 

Dining
Chef's Corner Lounge & Grille serves breakfast and dinner, while Hersh's Lounge features a full bar and several flat-panel TVs. Kids eat free.
Rooms

All guest rooms at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown feature up-to-date technology such as 32-inch LCD TVs, cable channels and in-room movies, voicemail and free local calls. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access is available. Coffee-makers, microwaves and refrigerators provide additional convenience. Hair-dryers, irons and ironing boards are provided.

Jacuzzi suites are available. Executive suites feature two bedrooms, an extra half bath and a separate living area with sofa sleeper. 

Property features

A fitness center at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown features an elliptical machine, exercise bike and treadmill. An indoor/outdoor mineral pool and whirlpool are also available. 

Highlights
  • Free Internet access 
  • On-site restaurant and lounge 
  • 24-hour business center
  • Indoor/outdoor mineral pool
Nearby attractions
  • Asheville Art Museum (1 mi/1.7 km) 
  • Asheville Mall (1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • Asheville Civic Center (1 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Grove Arcade (1 mi/2.2 km) 
  • Biltmore House (2 mi/3.5 km) 
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (2 mi/3.8 km) 
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (2 mi/3.9 km) 
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (8 mi/13.2 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • 1,500 square feet of function space 
  • Free Internet access
Transportation
  • Adjacent to I-240 
  • Greyhound bus station (0.2 mi/0.4 km) 
  • I-26 (2 mi/3.3 km) 
  • I-40 (3 mi/4.4 km) 
  • Asheville Regional Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Policies
  • Valid credit card required upon check in 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

★★★
$84
3.2 / 5 186 reviews
★★★
$119
3.6 / 5 89 reviews
★★★
$134
3.9 / 5 18 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 24 reviews
★★★
$148
4.3 / 5 6 reviews
★★★
$169
4.0 / 5 23 reviews
★★★★
$162
4.4 / 5 76 reviews
★★★★
$92
3.7 / 5 63 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Dining

Chef's Corner Lounge & Grille
Enjoy a delicious dinner or evening cocktail at our in house restaurant.
Outback Steakhouse
There is an Outback Steakhouse right next door to our property. This is a great lunch option if you are looking for a convient restaurant located near the hotel. Our on site full service restaurant offers order off the menu breakfast and dinner
Chef's Corner Lounge & Bar
After a long day of traveling come down to the Chef's Corner Lounge and watch a game/match on one of our flat screen HDTV. We offer daily drink and food specials seven days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 89
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tm12
Family
Long Island, New York, USA
Sep 1, 2011

great hotel!

amazing rooms! i was on the top floor with a king bed and it was the best! comfortable beds, room and bathroom were very clean when i arrived. i like to sleep a little late and room service gladly came back to make the room after i left. the hotel is in a great spot on tunnel road. there are plenty of places to eat quick on tunnel road and its just around the corner from downtown asheville where you can do lots of shopping and eat at great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

we ate outside at Posana Cafe. AMAZING. also i didnt get a chance to try but a friend ate at Tupelo Honey Cafe and had amazing things to say about it.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
lynchburg VA
Jun 30, 2011

Ashville is unique.

The Holiday Inn was very nice. Located close to downtown and close enough to the Biltmore Estate which was the reason for our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
NYC
Jun 13, 2011

Well done, except the pool.

The hotel is in great shape and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was generally very helpful. The only problems were the pool was very smal and not well kept. The water actually tasted a little salty. Also, the computers in the business center were lousy. It took me about 20 min to print out my boarding passes. They need to be upgraded. It's a fine place to stay for a visit to Asheville as everything is abou 5 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tupelo Honey and the Sunny Point Cafe are both outstanding for breakfast. The Lucky Otter had some decent mexican food and Salsa's had outstanding mex/caribean food. It's a great town for dining.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Cincinnati, OH
May 25, 2011

DO NOT bother with this hotel

-Staff was useless/incompetent (except in the restaurant) -Dirty, musty, wet bathroom (before we used it) -Carpet was wet around bathroom door -Noisy at all hours I do not know how this hotel has received so many positive reviews. This place was awful. We had stayed at another Asheville hotel (Hotel Indigo) the weekend before and LOVED it and would have stayed there again but it was sold out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do youreslf a favor and DO NOT stay here. If you're looking for a really nice downtown Asheville hotel with a great staff stay at Hotel Indigo.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Nashville, TN
Mar 28, 2011

holiday inn - downtown

The pool is pretty good, although a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All the great cafe's and diners in the downtown. Such as, Over Easy Breakfast Cafe; what a great place!

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punch sister
Family
Columbus, OH
Feb 22, 2011

nice affordable option

This was a nice hotel for the price. Love the heated pool, the rooms were much nicer than I expected- granite features, nice bed linens, pillows were superb. It's in a convenient location right off the highway and close to downtown. However, even though on the map it looks like it's walking distance to the heart of downtown Asheville, it is in fact not walkable due to a sizeable mountain that cuts right between this hotel and the downtown area. Staff was helpful and friendly, refrigerators in standard room. All in all, great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tupelo Honey cafe. Pumpkin pancakes were to die for.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich & Peg
Family
Long Island, NY
Jul 2, 2010

Wonderful week in Asheville

We spent a wonderful week, enjoying the top notch hotel and hotel service. Location offered the best of Asheville. Restaurants, shopping all within our reach. Delightful pool. Hotel was very quiet and rooms were very comortable and clean. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
charlotte, nc
Jun 13, 2010

downtown asheville

great hotel, couple miles from downtown asheville, so close u can walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bd2trp
Family
Washington, DC
May 20, 2010

Graduation

It was graduation weekend and I booked hotel about 7-10 days before my trip. The staff was very friendly. Didn't arrive until 9:25pm, and the front desk staff made sure we knew kitchen closed at 10pm. Our group of 9 were only customers in restaurant, but we never felt rushed to order and go. The food was good, much better than expected for hotel food. (My sister-in-law loved the mashed potatoes.) My only complaint is that, although we requested and got a wheelchair accessible room, the accommodations in the room were not for the handicapped. The room was wheelchair accessible. It was on the first floor and the doorways into the room and bathroom were wide enough for a wheelchair, but the bathroom door is not a pocket door and there is only 1 support bar, a small one, in the tub. As a general tip, wheelchair accessible and handicapped accessible are different. Make sure the room itself is equipped to accommodate the handicapped. That is the only reason I did not give a 5-star rating. On our 2nd night, our party of 9 didn't get to the restaurant until about 9:20, and again we were never rushed to order, eat and run. Our waitress was also manning the bar, and she was never distracted. We all had a relaxed meal. They get some of their desserts from The Cheesecake Factory. No complaint with that. There is a buffet brunch on Sunday mornings, no pancakes or omelets to order, but good nevertheless. The staff was more than attentive to us. The property is nice and I would definitely recommend it. It was more than sufficient for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Winter Haven, FL
Dec 28, 2009

My Christmas vacation

It was a very nice place to get away from it all with my family. I was told by another couple staying at the hotel they were able to stay for $79 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Asheville Mall is a wonderful place to shop, eat, and hang out.

Back to menu Return to top