Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

3 stars
42 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
145 reviews
Overnight stay

A great experience. Comfortable room, good value and helpful staff. Will definitely stay again when... See full review

  • Wolfpack 2
  • Jul 10, 2013
Pam Tourist

Very close to downtown and nice for the price. Even thought it was raining they did have some... See full review

  • Pam tourist
  • Jul 5, 2013
Convenient access to Asheville attractions and shopping
Located a mile from the city center, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown provides convenient access to the Asheville Art Museum, Asheville Mall and Biltmore House. Minutes from the hotel, the Blue Ridge Parkway offers breathtaking views for guests taking day trips from the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown. At the hotel, guest rooms feature complimentary Internet access. Jacuzzi suites are available. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown features an indoor/outdoor mineral pool and on-site restaurant and lounge.
Highlights
  • Free Internet access 
  • On-site restaurant and lounge 
  • 24-hour business center
  • Indoor/outdoor mineral pool
Location

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown has a prime downtown location, close to shops, restaurants, museums and more. Stroll the galleries of Grove Arcade or tour the stunning Biltmore Estate. Road-trippers take note: the hotel is minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway. 

 

Rooms

All guest rooms at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown feature up-to-date technology such as 32-inch LCD TVs, cable channels and in-room movies, voicemail and free local calls. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access is available. Coffee-makers, microwaves and refrigerators provide additional convenience. Hair-dryers, irons and ironing boards are provided.

Jacuzzi suites are available. Executive suites feature two bedrooms, an extra half bath and a separate living area with sofa sleeper. 

Features

A fitness center at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown features an elliptical machine, exercise bike and treadmill. An indoor/outdoor mineral pool and whirlpool are also available. 

Dining
Chef's Corner Lounge & Grille serves breakfast and dinner, while Hersh's Lounge features a full bar and several flat-panel TVs. Kids eat free.
Transportation
  • Adjacent to I-240 
  • Greyhound bus station (0.2 mi/0.4 km) 
  • I-26 (2 mi/3.3 km) 
  • I-40 (3 mi/4.4 km) 
  • Asheville Regional Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Asheville Art Museum (1 mi/1.7 km) 
  • Asheville Mall (1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • Asheville Civic Center (1 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Grove Arcade (1 mi/2.2 km) 
  • Biltmore House (2 mi/3.5 km) 
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (2 mi/3.8 km) 
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (2 mi/3.9 km) 
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (8 mi/13.2 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • 1,500 square feet of function space 
  • Free Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Valid credit card required upon check in 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Hotel Map

35.5969 -82.5347
Nearby airports
Greenville/Spatanburg International Airport, (GSP), 75.00, MI, SE; Douglas Int Airport (Charlotte, NC), (CLT), 120.00, MI, SW; Asheville Regional Airport, (AVL), 15.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Dining

Chef's Corner Lounge & Grille
Enjoy a delicious dinner or evening cocktail at our in house restaurant.
Chef's Corner Lounge & Bar
After a long day of traveling come down to the Chef's Corner Lounge and watch a game/match on one of our flat screen HDTV. We offer daily drink and food specials seven days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Jun 28, 2010

great room- service & pool lacking

Downtown parking stinks and the hotel is too far to walk there. Have the hotel call a cab for $6 (be aware the cabbies all smoke). The pics of the pool is extremely misleading- the outdoor portion of the pool is about 10x5ft and there's room for one table- no lounge chairs or towels. the front desk staff were friendly except for the short haired clerk who was rude and would not allow us to check in 2 hrs early after driving 4 hrs to get there. The maid service was great! the room was excellent! we did ask for a mtn view & reserved a king room with in-room whirlpool! highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We hit all the hot spots DT and were disappointed in the food. The best meal was breakfast at the Early Girl Eatery.Check out the drum circle on friday night early- it gets very crowded late night but worth checking out.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Jun 28, 2010

great room- service & pool lacking

Downtown parking stinks and the hotel is too far to walk there. Have the hotel call a cab for $6 (be aware the cabbies all smoke). The pics of the pool is extremely misleading- the outdoor portion of the pool is about 10x5ft and there's room for one table- no lounge chairs or towels. the front desk staff were friendly except for the short haired clerk who was rude and would not allow us to check in 2 hrs early after driving 4 hrs to get there. The maid service was great! the room was excellent! we did ask for a mtn view & reserved a king room with in-room whirlpool! highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We hit all the hot spots DT and were disappointed in the food. The best meal was breakfast at the Early Girl Eatery.Check out the drum circle on friday night early- it gets very crowded late night but worth checking out.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte, nc
Jun 13, 2010

downtown asheville

great hotel, couple miles from downtown asheville, so close u can walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte, nc
Jun 13, 2010

downtown asheville

great hotel, couple miles from downtown asheville, so close u can walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Limodriver706
Duluth, GA
Jun 8, 2010

Great Hotel for a cool city.

My stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Asheville was a pleasant experience. The room was absolutely spacious and clean! It was in a perfect location within walking distance to most restaurants nearby such as Outback and Cracker Barrel. It wasn't quite within walking distance to the main area of Asheville, but it was close. My only complaint would be is that the hot tub is not hot enough and both the pool and hot tub are too salty for a saltwater pool and tub. Other than that, this hotel is perfect for yours truly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Limodriver706
Duluth, GA
Jun 8, 2010

Great Hotel for a cool city.

My stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Asheville was a pleasant experience. The room was absolutely spacious and clean! It was in a perfect location within walking distance to most restaurants nearby such as Outback and Cracker Barrel. It wasn't quite within walking distance to the main area of Asheville, but it was close. My only complaint would be is that the hot tub is not hot enough and both the pool and hot tub are too salty for a saltwater pool and tub. Other than that, this hotel is perfect for yours truly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bd2trp
Washington, DC
May 20, 2010

Graduation

It was graduation weekend and I booked hotel about 7-10 days before my trip. The staff was very friendly. Didn't arrive until 9:25pm, and the front desk staff made sure we knew kitchen closed at 10pm. Our group of 9 were only customers in restaurant, but we never felt rushed to order and go. The food was good, much better than expected for hotel food. (My sister-in-law loved the mashed potatoes.) My only complaint is that, although we requested and got a wheelchair accessible room, the accommodations in the room were not for the handicapped. The room was wheelchair accessible. It was on the first floor and the doorways into the room and bathroom were wide enough for a wheelchair, but the bathroom door is not a pocket door and there is only 1 support bar, a small one, in the tub. As a general tip, wheelchair accessible and handicapped accessible are different. Make sure the room itself is equipped to accommodate the handicapped. That is the only reason I did not give a 5-star rating. On our 2nd night, our party of 9 didn't get to the restaurant until about 9:20, and again we were never rushed to order, eat and run. Our waitress was also manning the bar, and she was never distracted. We all had a relaxed meal. They get some of their desserts from The Cheesecake Factory. No complaint with that. There is a buffet brunch on Sunday mornings, no pancakes or omelets to order, but good nevertheless. The staff was more than attentive to us. The property is nice and I would definitely recommend it. It was more than sufficient for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bd2trp
Washington, DC
May 20, 2010

Graduation

It was graduation weekend and I booked hotel about 7-10 days before my trip. The staff was very friendly. Didn't arrive until 9:25pm, and the front desk staff made sure we knew kitchen closed at 10pm. Our group of 9 were only customers in restaurant, but we never felt rushed to order and go. The food was good, much better than expected for hotel food. (My sister-in-law loved the mashed potatoes.) My only complaint is that, although we requested and got a wheelchair accessible room, the accommodations in the room were not for the handicapped. The room was wheelchair accessible. It was on the first floor and the doorways into the room and bathroom were wide enough for a wheelchair, but the bathroom door is not a pocket door and there is only 1 support bar, a small one, in the tub. As a general tip, wheelchair accessible and handicapped accessible are different. Make sure the room itself is equipped to accommodate the handicapped. That is the only reason I did not give a 5-star rating. On our 2nd night, our party of 9 didn't get to the restaurant until about 9:20, and again we were never rushed to order, eat and run. Our waitress was also manning the bar, and she was never distracted. We all had a relaxed meal. They get some of their desserts from The Cheesecake Factory. No complaint with that. There is a buffet brunch on Sunday mornings, no pancakes or omelets to order, but good nevertheless. The staff was more than attentive to us. The property is nice and I would definitely recommend it. It was more than sufficient for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly in Wilmington
Business
Wilmington, NC
Apr 13, 2010

comfy cozy, great location

Smooth check in/check out. Clean room, big for 2. Comfy King bed. Conveniently located close to downtown and to the mall/Barnes and Noble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the Hotel is The Fiddlin' Pig: Blue Grass Barbeque. Delicious, great blue grass, fun local crowd.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly in Wilmington
Business
Wilmington, NC
Apr 13, 2010

comfy cozy, great location

Smooth check in/check out. Clean room, big for 2. Comfy King bed. Conveniently located close to downtown and to the mall/Barnes and Noble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the Hotel is The Fiddlin' Pig: Blue Grass Barbeque. Delicious, great blue grass, fun local crowd.

Back to menu Return to top