$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

3 stars
42 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
88 reviews
Overnight stay

A great experience. Comfortable room, good value and helpful staff. Will definitely stay again when... See full review

  • Wolfpack 2
  • Jul 10, 2013
Pam Tourist

Very close to downtown and nice for the price. Even thought it was raining they did have some... See full review

  • Pam tourist
  • Jul 5, 2013
Convenient access to Asheville attractions and shopping
Located a mile from the city center, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown provides convenient access to the Asheville Art Museum, Asheville Mall and Biltmore House. Minutes from the hotel, the Blue Ridge Parkway offers breathtaking views for guests taking day trips from the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown. At the hotel, guest rooms feature complimentary Internet access. Jacuzzi suites are available. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown features an indoor/outdoor mineral pool and on-site restaurant and lounge.
Highlights
  • Free Internet access 
  • On-site restaurant and lounge 
  • 24-hour business center
  • Indoor/outdoor mineral pool
Location

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown has a prime downtown location, close to shops, restaurants, museums and more. Stroll the galleries of Grove Arcade or tour the stunning Biltmore Estate. Road-trippers take note: the hotel is minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway. 

 

Rooms

All guest rooms at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown feature up-to-date technology such as 32-inch LCD TVs, cable channels and in-room movies, voicemail and free local calls. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access is available. Coffee-makers, microwaves and refrigerators provide additional convenience. Hair-dryers, irons and ironing boards are provided.

Jacuzzi suites are available. Executive suites feature two bedrooms, an extra half bath and a separate living area with sofa sleeper. 

Features

A fitness center at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown features an elliptical machine, exercise bike and treadmill. An indoor/outdoor mineral pool and whirlpool are also available. 

Dining
Chef's Corner Lounge & Grille serves breakfast and dinner, while Hersh's Lounge features a full bar and several flat-panel TVs. Kids eat free.
Transportation
  • Adjacent to I-240 
  • Greyhound bus station (0.2 mi/0.4 km) 
  • I-26 (2 mi/3.3 km) 
  • I-40 (3 mi/4.4 km) 
  • Asheville Regional Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Asheville Art Museum (1 mi/1.7 km) 
  • Asheville Mall (1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • Asheville Civic Center (1 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Grove Arcade (1 mi/2.2 km) 
  • Biltmore House (2 mi/3.5 km) 
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (2 mi/3.8 km) 
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (2 mi/3.9 km) 
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (8 mi/13.2 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • 1,500 square feet of function space 
  • Free Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Valid credit card required upon check in 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.5969 -82.5347
Nearby airports
Asheville Regional Airport, (AVL), 15.00, MI, SE; Greenville/Spatanburg International Airport, (GSP), 75.00, MI, SE; Douglas Int Airport (Charlotte, NC), (CLT), 120.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Dining

Chef's Corner Lounge & Grille
Enjoy a delicious dinner or evening cocktail at our in house restaurant.
Chef's Corner Lounge & Bar
After a long day of traveling come down to the Chef's Corner Lounge and watch a game/match on one of our flat screen HDTV. We offer daily drink and food specials seven days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Aug 14, 2009

Clean and Friendly

I was in Asheville for a house hunting trip and I decided to stay at this Holiday Inn. I wanted somewhere quiet, clean, and no more than 5 minutes away from town. It was perfect for what I needed. Also, the staff was really friendly and helpful. I even elected to stay an extra night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely check out Early Girl. The food is pretty great. The menu includes everything from breakfast (banana blueberry pancakes) to dinner (lamb shank in a port wine reduction).

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Martinez, CA
Aug 8, 2009

Holiday Inn In Asheville, NC

The only thing I would've have liked is a hotel shuttle service from the hotel to the downtown area. Otherwise, we drove and that wasn't a problem. The other thing that we really liked was that the pool was mineral water and not chlorinated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping in Biltmore Village was so fun as there are lots of unique and reasonably priced arts and crafts stores there. We wished we had had more time to look around!

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte,nc
Aug 7, 2009

Fantastic getaway

It was great except for the pool was small and whirlpool jets are not very strong. Everything else was great the mall isn't that far from the hotel. dowtown ASHEVILLE IS A FEW MINUTES AWAY NAD THE BARS ARE GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BBQ place in the parking lot is great.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest
Aug 6, 2009

Absolutely stay here again

I chose this hotel after reading others reviews and even then was pleasantly surprised to see how nice the rooms were and the gorgeous views we had from our suite room. There is a nasty looking very run down property next door, however, we had no problems with that at all and the staff agreed they would love to acquire the property but the price seems to have gone up since the Holiday Inn and Homewood Suites opened up. The area is a mix of fast food, chain restraunts and has a great grocery store across the street. It is minutes from downtown and in the other direction there are your typical shopping areas. I would certainly stay here again and encourage others to do so. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful, the rooms were nice and clean and although it is a bit small the pool was also clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fiddlin Pig was great - food was amazing and even from someone who isn't crazy about bluegrass music it was fun. Highly recommend a visit. Also try Limones restraunt in downtown Ashville - excellent food.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cimmydog
Louisville, KY
Jul 27, 2009

Great stay in Asheville

Our stay was a layover on our way to the beach. Easy location off the interstate, tho not ON the interstate. Tons of places around the hotel to eat and a grocery store directly across the road. Rooms were immaculate, nicely decorated, and quiet. Beds were very comfortable, and the flat screen TV was a nice addition. Tho it is on the pricey side to not be right downtown (tho very close), it was worth it. Going cheap with rooms in always dicey and my wife wasn't gonna be having another cheap hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring, MD
Jul 25, 2009

Good hote; good location

New hotel. Everything was clean and worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many good restaurants within a five minute drive

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte, nc
Jul 16, 2009

nice hotel

Just stayed for the night, but had a very nice meal in downtown asheville. The room was fine as was the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jul 6, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Convenient location just a few minutes from downtown and Biltmore Mansion. Very friendly and accommodating staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Jun 29, 2009

nice new place

I liked the indoor-outdoor pool, just wish it was larger. Next door is a great barbeque/bluegrass family restaurant. Not a lot of nice scenery out the windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try the Fiddlin Pig, for Southern entertainment and food.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ASHEVILLE DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
art4chris
Canton, GA
Jun 20, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!!

My husband and I were looking for an affordable place to stay downtown Asheville.....there was nothing that we considered affordable. This hotel was VERY close to downtown and was an excellent value. The room was very comfortable, large, and well-kept. Maid service was great. Room was quiet and restful at all times. Many restaurants in walking distance with a nice grocery store across the street with a Starbucks in it. We did not eat at any of the establishments but there were plenty. We did use the grocery store. Downtown Asheville is about a mile away, not a bad walk in nice weather...there are sidewalks going through the tunnel to downtown so it is a safe walk. We will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Asheville Visitors Center for all the information you could think about wanting to know about the area shopping, dining, attractions, tours, etc. You can totally plan your trip at this location!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search