Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

3 stars
22 Woodfin Street, 22 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
84 reviews
Great Location

The hotel was right off the interstate and also walking distance to all the shops and restaurants... See full review

  • Green vacationers
  • Aug 19, 2013
weekend getaway

Was there for a weekend getaway to experience the Asheville micro brewery scene and the nightlife.... See full review

  • another Jim
  • Sep 8, 2014
Comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown Asheville
With bright, fresh guest rooms and cozy common areas, the Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown provides a comfortable stay for both business and leisure travelers. A lobby gathering space offers comfy seating around a stone fireplace. Free Internet access is available in all guest rooms at the Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown. Families enjoy the nearby Colburn Earth Science Museum, with its exhibits of mineral crystals and gemstones, as well as The Health Adventure, which focuses on health and science education. 
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Concierge service 
  • On-site Chop House restaurant 
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool
  • 24-hour fitness center, plus free passes to local YMCA
Rooms
Guest rooms at the Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown are decorated in neutral tones, with crisp bedding and wall-mounted 32-inch LCD TVs. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is included, along with voicemail and free local phone calls. Coffee-makers, hair-dryers, irons and ironing boards provide additional convenience. Some rooms overlook the outdoor pool or Asheville skyline.  Pet-friendly rooms are available (fees apply).
Features

The Chop House restaurant serves breakfast and dinner in a warm setting, with hardwood floors and a stone fireplace. Dinner entrees include a range of steak, chicken and seafood dishes. 


A 24-hour fitness center at the Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown features cardiovascular and strength training equipment. Guests also take advantage of free passes to the local YMCA, located one block from the hotel. A seasonal outdoor pool is available at the Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown.
Transportation
  • Adjacent to I-240 
  • Greyhound bus station (0.8 mi/1.4 km) 
  • I-26 (1 mi/1.7 km) 
  • I-40 (3 mi/4.6 km) 
  • Asheville Regional Airport (11 mi/18.5 km) 


Attractions
  • Asheville Civic Center (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Asheville Art Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Colburn Earth Science Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)  
  • The Health Adventure (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Grove Arcade (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (1 mi/2.4 km) 
  • Asheville Mall (2 mi/3 km) 
  • Biltmore House (2 mi/3.7 km) 
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (8 mi/12.6 km) 
Business
  • Business center 
  • 2,400 square feet of meeting space 
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Free local calls

Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Air conditioned
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings

Hotel Map

35.5985 -82.5517
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Asheville Regional Airport, (AVL), 24.14, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HIcking Jan
Business
North Carolina
Jan 21, 2014

Pretty Terrible

Loads of cockroaches on the bottom floor, everything was dirty. The location is the only plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Limones, great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Garce
Business
Milwaukee WI
Aug 13, 2012

Bad experience

My room was below level with one small window four feet from parked cars that came and all night with slamming of doors and revving of engines. The first night a loud fight went on exactly outside my window. It lasted an hour. The whole lower level was damp and smelled terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Benjammmin
Business
southern Indiana
Jun 15, 2013

Not a bad hotel

If you're looking for a downtown Asheville hotel this is not a bad option. Even though its in downtown don't let that fool you. Most places still need a short car ride or a good walk to get to. Pros: location, outdoor pool, right off interstate Cons: mildew smell, view was HORRIBLE (asked for a city view and literally looking straight at A/C unit and wall, laughable)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Biltmore and allow at least one full day or two days if possible. The grounds alone are enough to take a full day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
asheville, nc
Jan 1, 2011

horrible check in

horrible check in experience. arrived at 430 and was told that our king room was not available[...]. We didn't really care but ended up with 2 doubles. Then, we had to wait 45 minutes to get in our room while room was being cleaned. Another 5 or 6 guts were in the same boat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

really good location to downtown bars/restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DGWJ
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 15, 2010

Don't prepay for this hotel!

We purchased a nonrefundable King room for a weekend stay at the Four Points [...]. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a room with two double beds rather than a king (note the hotel called them two queen beds. They were definitely NOT queens). We immediately called the front desk to tell them their mistake and they told us there were no kings available [...] We booked the room more than two weeks in advance and assumed we'd get what we booked. Instead my husband and I had to sleep in tiny beds with our feet hanging off the end. The second night we slept separately because we were so cramped the first night. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. And our room was located on the basement level so we got a lovely view of the parking lot and the highway. And then to make matters worse we were right next to one of the loudest elevators ever. I'm pretty sure we got the worst room at the hotel. [...] We asked to change rooms (even to another room with double beds) to avoid the noise and the basement but were told the hotel was full. [...] On the bright side, the location was great and the staff was nice. We didn't eat at the restaurant but did have our "free" beer at the bar there. Don't get excited people...it's just a two ounce pour to taste the local beer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great restaurants, shops, and bars within walking distance of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jun 27, 2009

Ok

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding. The location was within walking distance to great dining, bars, and shopping. However, the hotel itself left a lot to be desired. The bed was uncomfortable with a terrible roll to the center and it was impossible to wash your face in the bathroom sink due to the design of the faucet. The cost for what should have been a continental breakfast was $10! The nightly rate for the room far exceeded the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
g35girl
Business
North Carolina
Jul 6, 2009

Inconsistent...

Every aspect of this hotel is hit or miss. The staff is inconsistent. Checking in we had a "trainee" who apparently needs a lot more training – she was very rude and seemed to be bothered by our presence. The 2nd person we dealt with, when we had a problem with our room and asked for a new room after the 1st night, was the complete opposite; she was terrific, very helpful and professional!! The rooms are inconsistent. The first room we had, we had a lumpy soft bed and AC that didn't work. The 2nd room we had the bed was better and the AC at least functioning and controllable. What was consistent? Very small, somewhat dirty rooms, tiny bathrooms with no ventilation whatsoever (don't take a hot shower; everything gets wet!), flat pillows, sheets that don't fit the bed and rickety old elevators. Although the furniture has been recently updated, the entire place feels like a motel from the 70s. For the price we paid for it, I would not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do NOT eat at the Chop House! It is way overpriced for steak I can get at any chain steak house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
See Ya
Business
North Carolina
Aug 5, 2009

Challenging due to Orbitz and the Hotel

We booked the room specifically for a concert at the Biltmore Estate. However, the show was cancelled due to an illness by the performer. I e-mailed Orbitz explaning the situation and requested a refund or some other form or consideration. In responce, Orbitz indicated that the rooms cancellation was per the hotels and nothing could be done. Upon arriving, the hotel understood the cicumstances, I was disappointed that Orbitz did not understand and not willing to work with me on the situation. Also, as mentioned above the bath tub began to fill with water and debris late at night. This not only woke us up but we could not use the tub/shower in the morning due to the condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, MD
Oct 6, 2008

No hot water for 2 days

Stayed 3 nights at hotel. For two of the mornings there was no hot water. Staff said it was a broken coupling on the water heater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gebeth29
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 22, 2014

Stuck in the basement

Because we booked through a travel site, they put us in a handicapped room in the basement of the hotel. We paid a good rate for the hotel, the same rate that was available booking directly on their site, so it was infuriating to know that we were put in a handicapped room deliberately because we booked through a travel site. I would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top