$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Days Inn Asheville/Mall

3 stars
201 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
178 reviews
a haven in a storm

After driving through an intense rainfall that lasted more than an hour as I drove to Asheville, NC... See full review

  • TedN
  • Dec 1, 2014
Perfect Stay

This motel is located close to many of the sites in the area. Also easy to find and close to many... See full review

  • BRANDONFLORIDA
  • Nov 28, 2014
Free hot breakfast buffet and seasonal outdoor pool near Asheville Mall

The Days Inn Asheville/Mall is located two miles from downtown Asheville and within walking distance of a wide range of restaurants and shopping. Asheville Mall features Belk, Dillard's, JCPenney and Sears department stores. The hotel provides easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway, a National Scenic Byway. At the  Days Inn Asheville/Mall, guests take advantage of a free hot breakfast buffet and free Internet access. A fitness center and seasonal outdoor pool are on site.

Highlights
  • Free DayBreak Breakfast served daily, including make-your-own waffles
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Located within walking distance of Asheville Mall, and close to Blue Ridge Parkway
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool, open during Spring, Summer and Fall

 

 

Rooms

Free Wi-Fi is included in all guest rooms at the  Days Inn Asheville/Mall. Cable channels feature HBO. Coffee-makers, microwaves and refrigerators provide additional convenience. Also included are bath amenities, hair-dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms feature sofas with coffee tables. Jacuzzi suites are available. Suites have standard amenities, plus a welcome pack and bottled water.

Features

A complimentary hot breakfast buffet at the Days Inn Asheville/Mall includes morning favorites like biscuits and gravy, eggs, grits, hash browns, pancake and more. Spend warmer days outdoors here, the hotel has a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and a courtyard. Tickets for the Biltmore Estate are available at the front desk. Free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles.

Days Inn Asheville/Mall is pet friendly (fees apply), and wireless Internet access is free.

Transportation
  • I-240 (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Greyhound bus station (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • I-40 (2 mi/3.6 km)
  • I-26 (2 mi/3.8 km)
  • Asheville Regional Airport (10 mi/16.9 km)
Attractions
  • Asheville Mall (0.4 mi/0.6 km)  
  • Asheville Art Museum (1 mi/2.3 km)
  • Biltmore House (2 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grove Arcade (2 mi/2.7 km)
  • Asheville Civic Center (2 mi/2.8 km)
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (8 mi/12.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Free USA Today newspapers

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Asheville/Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 178
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TedN
Business
Berlin Md
Dec 1, 2014

a haven in a storm

After driving through an intense rainfall that lasted more than an hour as I drove to Asheville, NC and found a haven in the storm upon arrival. Not only was i welcomed warmly, I was provided a lovely new room on the ground floor and excellent assistance to get to my dinner reservation in Asheville. Bravo!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark Anshel
Business
Murfreesboro, TN
Oct 21, 2014

Very convenient and good value

My partner and I were very grateful that hotel staff allowed us to check in early (we arrived at 11 a.m. local time) instead of waiting until the normal 3 p.m. check-in. Thank you. The bed, pillows, lighting, and other aspects of the room was superb. Hotel location was very convenient for travel downtown Asheville and touring the Biltmore Estate. Plenty of restaurants and the Mall were close, as well. I strongly recommend the Asian Bistro Restaurant at the Mall; superb Asian cuisine. Two problems, however. (a) The hotel's one computer located in the lobby was very, very slow and needed maintenance. I informed desk staff and that was done within 24 hours. But regular (monthly) computer maintenance is advised. (b) The room water tap (sink) was difficult to manage, and it was impossible to regulate hot and cold water. Also, there was no designation which direction was "hot" and which was "cold." The sink plumbing needs attention. Other than that, the hotel was excellent and good value. Thank you. Mark Anshel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

I drove to The Asian Bistro located at the Asheville Mall and for many people will require car travel, but is only a 15 min. walk. Also liked that several restaurants were within a 15 min. walk, as well, such as Chili's, Int'l House of Pancakes, and others. Also, the hotel had a superb in-house breakfast buffet. Thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoosier boy
Business
Indianapolis
Sep 15, 2014

road stop

hotel seemed old, but was clean and comfortable. Nothing spectacular, but worked well for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brewery Hopping Student
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 4, 2014

Affordable weekend getaway

Booked this hotel for a last-minute weekend trip with my partner to visit several local craft breweries. We're on a fairly tight budget but wanted to stay downtown, so we opted for Days Inn expecting the usual "budget hotel" experience. Wrong! The hotel was well-maintained for the most part, stellar proximity to downtown, friendly staff, and a great value. Although the bathroom was fairly outdated and tiny, the extraordinary comfort of the bed, pillows, etc. more than made up for the bathroom's shortcomings. Definitely a great place for those looking to stay within easy driving distance from downtown and on a budget!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Wicked Weed, located just downtown, for great food and craft beer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Simpsons
Business
Augusta, Georgia
Aug 26, 2014

Worst hotel ever!

The nightmare began at check in. The clerk never smiled, thanked us, or told us there was a hot breakfast included. The rooms are not carpeted, and there are no rugs on the floor, either. The paint was coming off the walls, and the grout in the bathrooms was molded. At 2:30 a.m. I called the front desk to report loud talking and drinking at the pool (which was directly in front of us) and was told, "That's the owner." I answered, "I paid $100 to sleep tonight." To which the clerk replied, "I don't know what to say. We can maybe give you a discount tomorrow or something." I had prepaid for the room, and a discount was not helping me sleep at 2:30 in the morning. I was dumbfounded! And to top it off, the hairdryer in the room did not work!! Worst hotel experience I ever had! DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!!!! I would give it NEGATIVE STARS if I could!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Really needed a break lad
Business
Florida
Aug 6, 2014

Staff is great but rooms could use some updating and breakfast buffet could be better on weekdays.

We stayed a week at this hotel in the summer months. Our room was standard fare - a king size bed, desk chair, one other upholstered chair, TV, microwave, small fridge, safe, closet space and places to put our suitcases. The bed was absolutely worn out - it sagged and had no support. When we took a shower, the water would come out of the tub spigot with good pressure but when you switched it to the shower head it was a bit more than a trickle. On the weekends, the breakfast buffet is GREAT: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, cottage cheese, assorted fresh and canned fruits, cereal, bagels, breads, sweet rolls, coffee, tea, juice(s), sausage gravy, bisquits and some other items. This variety allows a diabetic to eat enough protein and avoid carbs and have a healthy breakfast. However, once you get into the weekdays, things change greatly. You only get about 1/2 of the choices and most of them are not good for a diabetic to eat. I'm not sure why the variety changes so much on the weekdays but it was disappointing. Overall, it was an OK place for what we used it for - a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Asheville on Friday nights - the drum group in the park is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hermano M
Business
Powder Springs, Georgia
Jul 27, 2014

Expected More

Stayed during my trip to the Biltmore Estate making the location a plus. This is an older motel which has been redone. While it is clean, the walls seemed paper thin and it was fairly noisy preventing a good night sleep.. I misled myself into thinking I was getting something different from the nice pictures. Breakfast was okay at best. I would have preferred to pay a little more to not stay in a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuckie I
Business
Asheville, NC
Jul 24, 2014

Bad bed

The bed was very uncomfortable.. There was no soap in room. Activities In neighboring room were clear and interesting. BR eakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
erica loves ca
Business
Michigan
Jul 13, 2014

good value

we stayed at the hotel for 6 days and was pretty happy with the accommodations. Nice pool area, room was average (nothing special but comfortable), breakfast was good but nothing special - better offerings on the week-end. Location was very convenient to downtown and attractions. we went to Biltmore, Chimney Rock, Mt. Pisgah, Brevard, Hendersonville, downtown, the Grove Inn, among other stops and hikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tupelo Honey Café - very good food and nice place to people watch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SC work traveller
Business
Clemson, SC
Jun 30, 2014

So disappointing

After reading reviews online I thought this hotel would be at least average but it was far below that. The first room we were sent to had such a horrible smell that we had to ask for another room. We were given another room with no problem but no one at the front desk ever said they were sorry for the inconvenience or cared in any way. The rooms are very basic, old, and dingy. The only modern thing in the room is a smallish flat screen tv. The bathtub was so incredibly narrow it actually made it difficult to have a shower. It was really just such a depressing room that we could not wait to leave. The only positive is that the room was quiet. I would only recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a very basic, budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is a short drive from The Orange Peel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top