$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Days Inn Asheville/Mall

3 stars
View map of 201 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sister Smith
Business
Asheville, NC
Aug 29, 2014

Needs serious attention

Traveled w/ a friend to visit Asheville as a possible re-location spot. Reserved a room at the Days Inn based on the cost of the room and location and it had a 3.2 rating. The pool was clean and sparkled. The breakfast was excellent and offered a nice variety of traditional breakfast items, especially the fact that fresh eggs were scrambled up and served as opposed to reconstituted eggs. Sadly, this is where the 3 rating ends. The room has a different story. The linens were clean, bed and bath, and I give them that. The renovation done to the room, however many years ago, was falling apart. The wall paper in the bathroom was peeling off and sagging due to water damage; the light grill over the vanity was rusting; the light switch did not work properly and came on unexpectedly; the sink faucet did not shut off completely; the laminate flooring was splitting at seams and curling up; the tub appeared to have been repainted 2 or 3 times and was peeling. It looked awful; There was mold growing on the tile grout in the tub surround; the mattresses were...I can't hardly explain...about as cheap as you can get. So few inner-springs that when you sat down/lied down it felt like it was a water bed; and lastly the room was musty smelling due to water/ventilation issues. This was not a 3.2 rating. The best I can give it is a rating of 1.5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Asheville has a wide variety of foods and eateries to satisfy just about any food wish.

Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Really needed a break lad
Business
Florida
Aug 6, 2014

Staff is great but rooms could use some updating and breakfast buffet could be better on weekdays.

We stayed a week at this hotel in the summer months. Our room was standard fare - a king size bed, desk chair, one other upholstered chair, TV, microwave, small fridge, safe, closet space and places to put our suitcases. The bed was absolutely worn out - it sagged and had no support. When we took a shower, the water would come out of the tub spigot with good pressure but when you switched it to the shower head it was a bit more than a trickle. On the weekends, the breakfast buffet is GREAT: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, cottage cheese, assorted fresh and canned fruits, cereal, bagels, breads, sweet rolls, coffee, tea, juice(s), sausage gravy, bisquits and some other items. This variety allows a diabetic to eat enough protein and avoid carbs and have a healthy breakfast. However, once you get into the weekdays, things change greatly. You only get about 1/2 of the choices and most of them are not good for a diabetic to eat. I'm not sure why the variety changes so much on the weekdays but it was disappointing. Overall, it was an OK place for what we used it for - a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Asheville on Friday nights - the drum group in the park is great.

Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler to the limit
Business
Asheville, NC
Aug 5, 2014

Okay for the price

It was pretty good for the money & I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hermano M
Business
Powder Springs, Georgia
Jul 27, 2014

Expected More

Stayed during my trip to the Biltmore Estate making the location a plus. This is an older motel which has been redone. While it is clean, the walls seemed paper thin and it was fairly noisy preventing a good night sleep.. I misled myself into thinking I was getting something different from the nice pictures. Breakfast was okay at best. I would have preferred to pay a little more to not stay in a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuckie I
Business
Asheville, NC
Jul 24, 2014

Bad bed

The bed was very uncomfortable.. There was no soap in room. Activities In neighboring room were clear and interesting. BR eakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
erica loves ca
Business
Michigan
Jul 13, 2014

good value

we stayed at the hotel for 6 days and was pretty happy with the accommodations. Nice pool area, room was average (nothing special but comfortable), breakfast was good but nothing special - better offerings on the week-end. Location was very convenient to downtown and attractions. we went to Biltmore, Chimney Rock, Mt. Pisgah, Brevard, Hendersonville, downtown, the Grove Inn, among other stops and hikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tupelo Honey Café - very good food and nice place to people watch

Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zhaangty
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 7, 2014

a good choice to you

It has a good swimming pool. The free breakfast is good too. Drain is a bit old but works well. If you want a worthwhile hotel, it is a good choice to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzie h
Business
Central Wisconsin
Jul 2, 2014

Overall good experience

Room was clean, the bathroom is very small, door didn't close all the way, probably warped. Shower low ceiling and chipped. A spider was in the corner. The breakfast had a good variety of food. Staff was extremely friendly. Large outside pool looked clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling LynnP
Business
Ashville
Jun 30, 2014

Vacation

Served its purpose. Beds need to be at least full size . Double a little small for the wife and I. Room could use a facelift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Asheville/Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SC work traveller
Business
Clemson, SC
Jun 30, 2014

So disappointing

After reading reviews online I thought this hotel would be at least average but it was far below that. The first room we were sent to had such a horrible smell that we had to ask for another room. We were given another room with no problem but no one at the front desk ever said they were sorry for the inconvenience or cared in any way. The rooms are very basic, old, and dingy. The only modern thing in the room is a smallish flat screen tv. The bathtub was so incredibly narrow it actually made it difficult to have a shower. It was really just such a depressing room that we could not wait to leave. The only positive is that the room was quiet. I would only recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a very basic, budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is a short drive from The Orange Peel.

Back to menu Return to top