$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 18, 2015 Check-out: Feb 19, 2015

Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

4 stars
1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
64 reviews
Great girls weekend!!!

Loved the hotel!! I was worried with the location that we would miss out on the downtown area feel-... See full review

  • BBorchers
  • Aug 18, 2014
Will stay again

My Wife and I are local business owners in Asheville and we had a water main issue at our home so... See full review

  • Caffeind
  • Aug 9, 2014
Ashville resort features 20 tennis courts and a golf course
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville take advantage of on-site indoor and outdoor tennis courts, two outdoor swimming pools, a 9-hole golf course and palatial fitness facility. On-site fitness instructors and tennis pros help keep guests in top condition. Fine and casual dining is available at The Pro's Table and Mulligan's Bar and Grille. The attractions, dining and shopping of downtown Asheville are one mile from the resort. On-site parking and Wi-Fi Internet access is free.


Highlights
  • Asheville Racquet Club with 20 tennis courts, 9-hole golf course and fitness facilities
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms
Guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville feature traditional decor, with poster beds and crisp linens, as well as private balconies or patios. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all rooms, along with 32-inch flat-panel TVs, cable channels, coffee makers and refrigerators. Several suite options are available.


Dining
The Pro's Table at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and features intimate seating around a large granite fireplace. Mulligan's Bar and Grille serves light fare and features TVs, a pool table and fireplace in an Old World pub atmosphere. Room service is available.


Recreation
The Asheville Racquet Club at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville features four indoor tennis courts, 10 outdoor clay courts and six hard outdoor courts. Two outdoor swimming pools, a nine-hole golf course and walking/jogging trail are available. A playground includes a swing set and play gym.

An 8,000-square-foot fitness center features a cardio room, weight room, child care, teen recreation room and pro shop. On-site fitness instructors and tennis pros are available (fees apply).


Transportation
  • I-26 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)  
  • I-240 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • I-40 (2 mi/3.4 km)  
  • Greyhound bus station (2 mi/4 km)
  • Asheville Regional Airport (11 mi/18.2 km)


Attractions
  • Asheville Visitor Center (1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Grove Arcade (1 mi/2.1 km)   
  • Asheville Civic Center (1 mi/2.3 km)
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (2 mi/2.8 km)
  • Biltmore House (3 mi/4.4 km)
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (5 mi/8.2 km)
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Pro's Table Restaurant
Enjoy our nightly features and dine in front of one of the largest fireplaces in town. Menu features American cuisine with an Appalachian flare.
Mulligans Lounge
Mulligans Lounge offers a variety of appetizers and light fare in a warm and cozy atmosphere.
Mulligans Bar and Grille
Relax with friends or co-workers after a busy day by the stone fireplace in Mulligans Lounge. It's the perfect atmosphere for watching a football, basketball or baseball game. The menu offers an assortment of appetizers and sandwiches and offers a pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom the nurse
Business
Orange Park, FL
Aug 1, 2013

Was not what we expected

The staff was great. The individuals who cleaned our room, left pillows on the floor, never replaced the room service breakfast sign. The room was never finished to the level of our first day. Leave the menu in the lounge, but CHANGE the menu for the dining room. Everything was highly spiced, and not everyone likes highly spiced foods. The menu did not give us the selections that we expected from a 4 star hotel. Where was the Seafood, the Prime Rib and selection of a variety of steaks? Where was the selection of a house tossed salad, or Ceaser Salad? Everything was spread out. For handicapped indivduals the walking was too much. The step outside the sliding doors was too high for a handicapped individual. We were not helped with our bags, and had to get them to our room by ourselves, nor was any help offered. Also, the TV service did not offer a variety of movie channels. We only had HBO. We would have thought that we could have paid for a movie that is still in the theater, but that was not offered. Outside our room door in building A, were rather large carpet stains. We are sure that many people enjoyed the site with the tennis and racket ball courts, and swimming pools, however, individuals our age usually do not take advantage of these. We really expected a lot more that what we got. We did visit friends and relatives, and did some side trips on our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Lobster Trap is excellent in downtown Asheville. A free parking lot is just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asheville Native
Business
Mount Airy, NC
Aug 19, 2013

Short Asheville Visit

The hotel location is very good. Easy access to downtown and other parts of Asheville. The room was average. Would have been nice to have some bottled water as found in other hotels. Other guests coming in late were very noisy and there was no sound barrier with the door. You felt like they were in the room with you. If you are a tennis player I believe this would be a great place to stay since they have great courts. Bottom line: I would stay here again because of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Asheville has a lot to offer with many good restaurants and local entertainment. Enjoyed the evening at Elaine's piano bar at the Grove Park Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rebound
Business
Lenoir, NC
Oct 19, 2013

Week-day Golf

Short, but enjoyable 9 holes. Hotel room was average but the newly hired chef was wonderful! Valet is always running the shuttle so be prepared to carry your own clubs & bags....maybe that's why they don't lock the baggage room. Truly a pet friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morchi
Business
Charlotte NC
Nov 25, 2013

Beautifull view from my room

Everything was nice but the Bathroom was too small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Drive to the Downtown it takes no more than 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DirtyMiss
Business
Portland, Maine
Dec 3, 2013

Easy Breezy

Great amenities and a more then roomy room! However, as always when traveling, you rely in information. The front desk and hostess were not reading off the same page. We were told there was a holiday dinner, but then denied that dinner when we went to sit and order. So it goes....but the pillows were great! Just wish the staff had all their ducks in row because we were let down by misinformation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Aug 31, 2009

The Crowne Plaza experience

Location - the location of the resort was convenient to every place I visited. It is very close to downtown Asheville two exits away on I 240. I also visited the NC arboretum, and Mount Mitchell. Rooms - The rooms are big. I stayed in a room with two Queen sized beds, a table, two chairs, a large armoir, and a dresser. There was a small fridge to store food in (convenient since there is no complimentary breakfast). The beds and pillows were very comfortable. There was a small balcony with a table and two chairs that faced the golf course. The door to the balcony was difficult to open and close. The lighting in the room was very dim. The bathroom was very clean with a very large elegant mirror. The shower had an adjustable head for the water and the water got hot. lots of room to put toiletries in the bathroom. Lighting in bathroom good. Full length mirror mounted on the wall in the room was nice. Adjustable thermostat worked well but the AC unit was noisy. The area outside my room (inside the hotel) was noisy. I could hear people doors opening and closing all the time. The WIFI was kinda slow and difficult to access. Service - below average. There was a man or boy just outside the front entrance who stood behind a podium. I am not sure what his job was but he said hello when he saw me then made a pithy comment when he saw me go in and out the front doors for my things instead of helping me. No one offered to help me in any way with my bags. Moreover, the man/boy who checked me in at the front desk told me to bring my bags through the front entrance even though that was the longest route to my room! The hotel bar smelled like an ashtray. The pool was not heated (as claimed on the website) and it was TINY!!!! The resort is apparently building a new outdoor pool and indoor pool but the site is about 600 yards from the main building and down a steep hill. There are signs directing people to these pools even thought they are no where near finished. Major Mistakes- My third day there an employee walked into my room without knocking first. He had a master key and just walked right in. When he saw the room was occupied he left immediately. I told the front desk about it the next day when I checked out. She asked me if I had told anyone about it after it had happened. Wasn't I doing that now? I thought. Then she said that she couldn't do anything about my bill because it was prepaid through Orbitz. She did not apologize and did not seem to think it was in any way a big deal. Well I thought who wants to stay in a resort where any stranger can walk in your room at any time. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant. Room service is very expensive. There is no complimentary breakfast of any kind. Would it be so difficult to provide coffee, fruit, and oatmeal? Thank goodness there is a supermarket nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The NC Arboretum is a short drive and it is absolutely beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Mar 29, 2010

Not as Advertised

My husband and I really don't see why this "hotel", I wouldn't call it a resort, was rated a 5 star. We have stayed in 4 stars in Asheville that outshined this hotel by far. It was just average, not what one would expect from a 5 star resort. If you are looking for just your average run of the mill hotel then stay here, if you are looking for luxery and romance, find another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whitetornado
Business
Greenville, MS
Aug 23, 2010

not worth the money

Thought the golf course was terrible. Area was under construction with no signage. Thought the room charges were too high for the condition of the hotel and the grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tupelo Honey Cafe in downtown was an excellent restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KCF
Business
Atlanta
Jul 26, 2010

Crowne Plaza NC

Mainly there for Bele Chere. CP had water issues the night before and delayed clean up and check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 7, 2009

Not what I was expecting!

This hotel was a three star at best! The person that checked us in was not knowledgeble and he did not tell us about some rules regarding the amenities that would have been helpful to know up front. This hotel was rated as a five star, but it was a three at best in my book. We actually left this hotel and went to the Rennessance, which was much nicer. I do have to say that [...],(the guy at the front counter when we decided to leave), was extremely customer service oriented, and he did try very hard to make us happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top