$83 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

4 stars
1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
62 reviews
Great girls weekend!!!

Loved the hotel!! I was worried with the location that we would miss out on the downtown area feel-... See full review

  • BBorchers
  • Aug 18, 2014
Will stay again

My Wife and I are local business owners in Asheville and we had a water main issue at our home so... See full review

  • Caffeind
  • Aug 9, 2014
Ashville resort features 20 tennis courts and a golf course
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville take advantage of on-site indoor and outdoor tennis courts, two outdoor swimming pools, a 9-hole golf course and palatial fitness facility. On-site fitness instructors and tennis pros help keep guests in top condition. Fine and casual dining is available at The Pro's Table and Mulligan's Bar and Grille. The attractions, dining and shopping of downtown Asheville are one mile from the resort. On-site parking and Wi-Fi Internet access is free.


Highlights
  • Asheville Racquet Club with 20 tennis courts, 9-hole golf course and fitness facilities
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms
Guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville feature traditional decor, with poster beds and crisp linens, as well as private balconies or patios. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all rooms, along with 32-inch flat-panel TVs, cable channels, coffee makers and refrigerators. Several suite options are available.


Dining
The Pro's Table at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and features intimate seating around a large granite fireplace. Mulligan's Bar and Grille serves light fare and features TVs, a pool table and fireplace in an Old World pub atmosphere. Room service is available.


Recreation
The Asheville Racquet Club at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville features four indoor tennis courts, 10 outdoor clay courts and six hard outdoor courts. Two outdoor swimming pools, a nine-hole golf course and walking/jogging trail are available. A playground includes a swing set and play gym.

An 8,000-square-foot fitness center features a cardio room, weight room, child care, teen recreation room and pro shop. On-site fitness instructors and tennis pros are available (fees apply).


Transportation
  • I-26 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)  
  • I-240 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • I-40 (2 mi/3.4 km)  
  • Greyhound bus station (2 mi/4 km)
  • Asheville Regional Airport (11 mi/18.2 km)


Attractions
  • Asheville Visitor Center (1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Grove Arcade (1 mi/2.1 km)   
  • Asheville Civic Center (1 mi/2.3 km)
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (2 mi/2.8 km)
  • Biltmore House (3 mi/4.4 km)
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (5 mi/8.2 km)
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

35.5904 -82.5783
Nearby airports
Greenville-Spartanburg, (GSP), 77.00, MI; Asheville Regional Airport, (AVL), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Pro's Table Restaurant
Enjoy our nightly features and dine in front of one of the largest fireplaces in town. Menu features American cuisine with an Appalachian flare.
Mulligans Lounge
Mulligans Lounge offers a variety of appetizers and light fare in a warm and cozy atmosphere.
Mulligans Bar and Grille
Relax with friends or co-workers after a busy day by the stone fireplace in Mulligans Lounge. It's the perfect atmosphere for watching a football, basketball or baseball game. The menu offers an assortment of appetizers and sandwiches and offers a pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shawfamily
Johnson City, TN
Mar 2, 2011

Crowne Plaza Asheville scummy

Felt like we were in a basement. Sheets and comforter covered in little hairs. Could see where the wall had been poorly patched from a hole? Small & felt very dingy. I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Richmond, va. It was nice and clean. that is why we chose this one. I will never stay here again! very disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bistro 1896 & french broad chocolate lounge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ouch
New York, NY, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Overpriced dilapidated and musty

Check in took forever even though there were only two patrons in front of me, staff was undertrained at their computer system. The "Villa" was old and musty, with a horribly unappealing decor, and impossible to get warm even with both of the ancient heaters on full blast. Oh, and the 'extra blanket' was dry rotted!! Actually turned to dusty flakes when I touched it. Also, checking in after dark- you better bring a flashlight, as the Villa driveway and walkways are pitchblack and slippery. The only redeeming factor is the location. Hard to believe this is a Crowne Plaza. More like an 1980's haunted flophouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
swan pond farmer
E TN
Apr 1, 2013

would prefer to have taken a mulligan

We got to the hotel at 6PM, went out on the town, came back late and found no signal on the TV, no internet wi fi, and even the radio didn't work. Told the front desk the next morning and was told we should have called the night before. Took it to the manager and was told the same thing. After a bit of a fuss, was offered a partial refund. Would prefer to take a mulligan and try it again someday as it's s sports complex nearly within walking distance of downtown Asheville. It's quirky and complex to get there--on and off exit ramps, city streets, interstate--would be difficult to explain without GPS. Eggs benedict took 20 minutes to arrive and was hard boiled and cool, but otherwise tasty. But, the bed was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Support independent book stores. Malaprops in Asheville is such a fine place to have a cup of coffee, find a fine book, people watch, listen to music, and simply enjoy the feel of Asheville...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chapel Hill, NC
Aug 3, 2009

Very Disappointing

I would encourage anyone considering this hotel to spend a few bucks more and stay at Renaissance Asheville or save a few bucks and stay at another 2 or 3 star hotel. The rooms are old, musty smelling. Very low ceilings. Balconies are in rough shape. The location is not that convenient to downtown Asheville. The website makes the hotel look terrific but the actual property seems like it hasn't been upgraded much since the mid 1970's. Finally, the website and the staff actively support the notion that tennis is included with your room rate. It is not. My brother and I were summarily kicked off the court in a middle of a set, told we did not "pay to play". This is despite having been told by the front desk before I booked the room that "tennis was included". When I went back to the front desk after having been kicked off the court to question this, I was told "Yes, tennis is included, for a daily fee of $9.50 per person per hour". My attempt to point out that "tennis is included" could leave a person to believe they would get to play tennis without paying extra was met with stony silence. In the room is a laminated letter prominently displayed asking guests to call the manager with any concerns that would leave them to not rank their experience as "very satisfactory". When I called to report the above, I got a voice mail. My message pleasantly but clearly reporting the above was never returned. I stayed here because the website made it look comparable to Renaissance Asheville and the price was about 35% less. Will definitely not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hitn4par
Portsmouth, VA
Apr 9, 2010

NOT TRULY A RESORT

The location of the hotel was very nice, it was in a quiet and comfortable location. My issue was, this was not a resort or at least a resort I am accustomed to, for a hotel that has been around for the last 30+ years, upgrades could have been inplace. The breakfast staff was exceptional, however, the regular staff was not as friendly or helpful. Being a frequent traveler to many locations, I have encountered many staffs that went out of the way to help you. It didn't happen here. Because of the cost I would recommend, but the tag resort needs to be removed. Finally, the golf course was truly not a golf course, but a practice facility for the non serious golfer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
USAF SFS Guy
Knoxville
May 20, 2014

Not worth the price

The staff wasn't very nice or helpful. When I asked the location of my room, the desk clerk replied, "just walk that way you'll find it." I had to rearrange the power plugs to get the TV to turn on and if I had wanted to shower in a closet, I would've joined the army. Thoroughly disappointed in the price of this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
123macman
Charleston, SC
Oct 7, 2013

Beware

We visited the Crowne Plaza, Asheville, NC site last winter to check it out for our daughter who was planning an October 2013 wedding in Asheville. We advised her that the place was showing its age and was in need of updating. The main hotel has been updated at sometime in the not so recent past, but the villas are still mostly 1960 vintage with old furniture, outdated TVs, etc.. The bottom line is that they use the term "Resort" in a very liberal manner since most would not consider this a resort property. The rates are much too high for the facility quality. They have a nine hole par 34 course that is in worse condition than most municipal courses. Even with this advice they selected the location because couples could double up in the villas to reduce their costs and the hotel promised a nice discount if they booked and committed to a set number of night bookings. When we received the notice that we should book we went online and booked the room for us and another room for my wife's Father. Then we started getting comments from family members that they checked the hotel website and found they could book the same nights at a lower rates. Of course this would reduce the group bookings and might cost our daughter if the minimum nights were not booked so they went ahead. When I arrived I pointed this out to Guest Service Manager and she promised to reduce the rates to at least what the website rates were, even though AARP members and other discounts would have been cheaper. When I received my bill no discount was listed so I complained and they gave a $70 credit off a large bill. I am too embarrassed to ask others if they received any reduction in their bills. The hotel staff was friendly and helped when they could, but they constantly explained that they were understaffed, especially in the dining area. I waited 50 minutes for two take out sandwiches I ordered to take to Spa for my wife and the bride. The Wi-Fi is free and worth about what they charged with speed about equal to the old dial up speeds we all hated. I would caution anyone that might be considering staying here and especially any group planning to book a block of rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Sep 24, 2012

Disappointing 4 Star Experience

Unable to use sliding door; would not close completely; called maintenance to fix it (all they did was secure the door). Found the following in the room on different days: lizard, caterpillar and spider (all were alive). Sounded like the toilet never stopped running. The air conditioning in the fitness center (the small one on the 3rd floor) wasnt working correctly. It was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Biltmore Estate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hickory, NC
Jun 8, 2009

Nice hotel bad service

Had a nice room great facilities service staff was lacking double charged me for my room and then while trying to resolve the issue I repeatedly left unanswered messages and was never able to reach a manager. Overall was a nice hotel but I will not be staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whitetornado
Greenville, MS
Aug 23, 2010

not worth the money

Thought the golf course was terrible. Area was under construction with no signage. Thought the room charges were too high for the condition of the hotel and the grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tupelo Honey Cafe in downtown was an excellent restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search