$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

4 stars
1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
62 reviews
Great girls weekend!!!

Loved the hotel!! I was worried with the location that we would miss out on the downtown area feel-... See full review

  • BBorchers
  • Aug 18, 2014
Will stay again

My Wife and I are local business owners in Asheville and we had a water main issue at our home so... See full review

  • Caffeind
  • Aug 9, 2014
Ashville resort features 20 tennis courts and a golf course
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville take advantage of on-site indoor and outdoor tennis courts, two outdoor swimming pools, a 9-hole golf course and palatial fitness facility. On-site fitness instructors and tennis pros help keep guests in top condition. Fine and casual dining is available at The Pro's Table and Mulligan's Bar and Grille. The attractions, dining and shopping of downtown Asheville are one mile from the resort. On-site parking and Wi-Fi Internet access is free.


Highlights
  • Asheville Racquet Club with 20 tennis courts, 9-hole golf course and fitness facilities
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms
Guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville feature traditional decor, with poster beds and crisp linens, as well as private balconies or patios. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all rooms, along with 32-inch flat-panel TVs, cable channels, coffee makers and refrigerators. Several suite options are available.


Dining
The Pro's Table at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and features intimate seating around a large granite fireplace. Mulligan's Bar and Grille serves light fare and features TVs, a pool table and fireplace in an Old World pub atmosphere. Room service is available.


Recreation
The Asheville Racquet Club at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville features four indoor tennis courts, 10 outdoor clay courts and six hard outdoor courts. Two outdoor swimming pools, a nine-hole golf course and walking/jogging trail are available. A playground includes a swing set and play gym.

An 8,000-square-foot fitness center features a cardio room, weight room, child care, teen recreation room and pro shop. On-site fitness instructors and tennis pros are available (fees apply).


Transportation
  • I-26 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)  
  • I-240 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • I-40 (2 mi/3.4 km)  
  • Greyhound bus station (2 mi/4 km)
  • Asheville Regional Airport (11 mi/18.2 km)


Attractions
  • Asheville Visitor Center (1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Grove Arcade (1 mi/2.1 km)   
  • Asheville Civic Center (1 mi/2.3 km)
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (2 mi/2.8 km)
  • Biltmore House (3 mi/4.4 km)
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (5 mi/8.2 km)
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

35.5904 -82.5783
Nearby airports
Asheville Regional Airport, (AVL), 15.00, MI, SE; Greenville-Spartanburg, (GSP), 77.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Pro's Table Restaurant
Enjoy our nightly features and dine in front of one of the largest fireplaces in town. Menu features American cuisine with an Appalachian flare.
Mulligans Lounge
Mulligans Lounge offers a variety of appetizers and light fare in a warm and cozy atmosphere.
Mulligans Bar and Grille
Relax with friends or co-workers after a busy day by the stone fireplace in Mulligans Lounge. It's the perfect atmosphere for watching a football, basketball or baseball game. The menu offers an assortment of appetizers and sandwiches and offers a pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Mar 29, 2010

Not as Advertised

My husband and I really don't see why this "hotel", I wouldn't call it a resort, was rated a 5 star. We have stayed in 4 stars in Asheville that outshined this hotel by far. It was just average, not what one would expect from a 5 star resort. If you are looking for just your average run of the mill hotel then stay here, if you are looking for luxery and romance, find another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bonita Springs, FL
Mar 7, 2010

Great Stay

Excellent service provided through-out our stay. Great room, good food, and nicely updated facility. Only negative was locating the building. Signage was not very obvious, especially at night. Heard other guest talk of circling around two and three times as well after missing the entrance!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irmo, SC
Oct 26, 2009

Asheville Stay

Just rested between doing all the fun things in Asheville. Also watched the Clemson-Miami football game. I was able to relax and enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Aug 31, 2009

The Crowne Plaza experience

Location - the location of the resort was convenient to every place I visited. It is very close to downtown Asheville two exits away on I 240. I also visited the NC arboretum, and Mount Mitchell. Rooms - The rooms are big. I stayed in a room with two Queen sized beds, a table, two chairs, a large armoir, and a dresser. There was a small fridge to store food in (convenient since there is no complimentary breakfast). The beds and pillows were very comfortable. There was a small balcony with a table and two chairs that faced the golf course. The door to the balcony was difficult to open and close. The lighting in the room was very dim. The bathroom was very clean with a very large elegant mirror. The shower had an adjustable head for the water and the water got hot. lots of room to put toiletries in the bathroom. Lighting in bathroom good. Full length mirror mounted on the wall in the room was nice. Adjustable thermostat worked well but the AC unit was noisy. The area outside my room (inside the hotel) was noisy. I could hear people doors opening and closing all the time. The WIFI was kinda slow and difficult to access. Service - below average. There was a man or boy just outside the front entrance who stood behind a podium. I am not sure what his job was but he said hello when he saw me then made a pithy comment when he saw me go in and out the front doors for my things instead of helping me. No one offered to help me in any way with my bags. Moreover, the man/boy who checked me in at the front desk told me to bring my bags through the front entrance even though that was the longest route to my room! The hotel bar smelled like an ashtray. The pool was not heated (as claimed on the website) and it was TINY!!!! The resort is apparently building a new outdoor pool and indoor pool but the site is about 600 yards from the main building and down a steep hill. There are signs directing people to these pools even thought they are no where near finished. Major Mistakes- My third day there an employee walked into my room without knocking first. He had a master key and just walked right in. When he saw the room was occupied he left immediately. I told the front desk about it the next day when I checked out. She asked me if I had told anyone about it after it had happened. Wasn't I doing that now? I thought. Then she said that she couldn't do anything about my bill because it was prepaid through Orbitz. She did not apologize and did not seem to think it was in any way a big deal. Well I thought who wants to stay in a resort where any stranger can walk in your room at any time. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant. Room service is very expensive. There is no complimentary breakfast of any kind. Would it be so difficult to provide coffee, fruit, and oatmeal? Thank goodness there is a supermarket nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The NC Arboretum is a short drive and it is absolutely beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
gilmanton,n.h.
Aug 16, 2009

over-rated

We spent most of our time visiting my sons but enjoyed exploring downtown asheville and the biltmore estate was impressive.The room was a little below the standard we expected.We've been to better and worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

tupelo honey cafe was worth the trip to town, but it was just one of many eateries and shops available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 7, 2009

Not what I was expecting!

This hotel was a three star at best! The person that checked us in was not knowledgeble and he did not tell us about some rules regarding the amenities that would have been helpful to know up front. This hotel was rated as a five star, but it was a three at best in my book. We actually left this hotel and went to the Rennessance, which was much nicer. I do have to say that [...],(the guy at the front counter when we decided to leave), was extremely customer service oriented, and he did try very hard to make us happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Aug 3, 2009

Very Disappointing

I would encourage anyone considering this hotel to spend a few bucks more and stay at Renaissance Asheville or save a few bucks and stay at another 2 or 3 star hotel. The rooms are old, musty smelling. Very low ceilings. Balconies are in rough shape. The location is not that convenient to downtown Asheville. The website makes the hotel look terrific but the actual property seems like it hasn't been upgraded much since the mid 1970's. Finally, the website and the staff actively support the notion that tennis is included with your room rate. It is not. My brother and I were summarily kicked off the court in a middle of a set, told we did not "pay to play". This is despite having been told by the front desk before I booked the room that "tennis was included". When I went back to the front desk after having been kicked off the court to question this, I was told "Yes, tennis is included, for a daily fee of $9.50 per person per hour". My attempt to point out that "tennis is included" could leave a person to believe they would get to play tennis without paying extra was met with stony silence. In the room is a laminated letter prominently displayed asking guests to call the manager with any concerns that would leave them to not rank their experience as "very satisfactory". When I called to report the above, I got a voice mail. My message pleasantly but clearly reporting the above was never returned. I stayed here because the website made it look comparable to Renaissance Asheville and the price was about 35% less. Will definitely not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morganton, NC
Jul 18, 2009

overnight stay

The views of mountains and surrounding golf course is beautiful. The beds are the most comfortable we've experienced in any hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The meal at Carabba's Italian restaurant was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hickory, NC
Jun 8, 2009

Nice hotel bad service

Had a nice room great facilities service staff was lacking double charged me for my room and then while trying to resolve the issue I repeatedly left unanswered messages and was never able to reach a manager. Overall was a nice hotel but I will not be staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 28, 2008

lovely hotel with excellent service

We were quite pleased with the Crowne Plaza Asheville. It was beautifully decorated for the holidays and we had consistently wonderful service. The food in the restaurant was delicious and we particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which included waffles and omelets made to order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive to the Biltmore and much more affordable than staying on site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top