$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

4 stars
View map of 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Jun 3, 2010

Great price, great time!

My only issue was that when we arrived on Sunday evening, there was a half eaten food tray outside our room on the floor. We had to call twice to ask them to remove it. Other than that, the staf was friendly and helpful with all requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Asheville to visit the Biltmore Estate. This hotel was very nice and a great choice for the money. A short, easy drive that morning to the Estate. Great food at Mulligan's in the hotel. Room service food was pretty good for room service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hitn4par
Business
Portsmouth, VA
Apr 9, 2010

NOT TRULY A RESORT

The location of the hotel was very nice, it was in a quiet and comfortable location. My issue was, this was not a resort or at least a resort I am accustomed to, for a hotel that has been around for the last 30+ years, upgrades could have been inplace. The breakfast staff was exceptional, however, the regular staff was not as friendly or helpful. Being a frequent traveler to many locations, I have encountered many staffs that went out of the way to help you. It didn't happen here. Because of the cost I would recommend, but the tag resort needs to be removed. Finally, the golf course was truly not a golf course, but a practice facility for the non serious golfer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monie
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Apr 9, 2010

A wonderful place for a romantic getaway

This weekend get away was well worth going to. My husband and I when horseback riding (which we never done before).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Mar 29, 2010

Not as Advertised

My husband and I really don't see why this "hotel", I wouldn't call it a resort, was rated a 5 star. We have stayed in 4 stars in Asheville that outshined this hotel by far. It was just average, not what one would expect from a 5 star resort. If you are looking for just your average run of the mill hotel then stay here, if you are looking for luxery and romance, find another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bonita Springs, FL
Mar 7, 2010

Great Stay

Excellent service provided through-out our stay. Great room, good food, and nicely updated facility. Only negative was locating the building. Signage was not very obvious, especially at night. Heard other guest talk of circling around two and three times as well after missing the entrance!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irmo, SC
Oct 26, 2009

Asheville Stay

Just rested between doing all the fun things in Asheville. Also watched the Clemson-Miami football game. I was able to relax and enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Aug 31, 2009

The Crowne Plaza experience

Location - the location of the resort was convenient to every place I visited. It is very close to downtown Asheville two exits away on I 240. I also visited the NC arboretum, and Mount Mitchell. Rooms - The rooms are big. I stayed in a room with two Queen sized beds, a table, two chairs, a large armoir, and a dresser. There was a small fridge to store food in (convenient since there is no complimentary breakfast). The beds and pillows were very comfortable. There was a small balcony with a table and two chairs that faced the golf course. The door to the balcony was difficult to open and close. The lighting in the room was very dim. The bathroom was very clean with a very large elegant mirror. The shower had an adjustable head for the water and the water got hot. lots of room to put toiletries in the bathroom. Lighting in bathroom good. Full length mirror mounted on the wall in the room was nice. Adjustable thermostat worked well but the AC unit was noisy. The area outside my room (inside the hotel) was noisy. I could hear people doors opening and closing all the time. The WIFI was kinda slow and difficult to access. Service - below average. There was a man or boy just outside the front entrance who stood behind a podium. I am not sure what his job was but he said hello when he saw me then made a pithy comment when he saw me go in and out the front doors for my things instead of helping me. No one offered to help me in any way with my bags. Moreover, the man/boy who checked me in at the front desk told me to bring my bags through the front entrance even though that was the longest route to my room! The hotel bar smelled like an ashtray. The pool was not heated (as claimed on the website) and it was TINY!!!! The resort is apparently building a new outdoor pool and indoor pool but the site is about 600 yards from the main building and down a steep hill. There are signs directing people to these pools even thought they are no where near finished. Major Mistakes- My third day there an employee walked into my room without knocking first. He had a master key and just walked right in. When he saw the room was occupied he left immediately. I told the front desk about it the next day when I checked out. She asked me if I had told anyone about it after it had happened. Wasn't I doing that now? I thought. Then she said that she couldn't do anything about my bill because it was prepaid through Orbitz. She did not apologize and did not seem to think it was in any way a big deal. Well I thought who wants to stay in a resort where any stranger can walk in your room at any time. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant. Room service is very expensive. There is no complimentary breakfast of any kind. Would it be so difficult to provide coffee, fruit, and oatmeal? Thank goodness there is a supermarket nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The NC Arboretum is a short drive and it is absolutely beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
gilmanton,n.h.
Aug 16, 2009

over-rated

We spent most of our time visiting my sons but enjoyed exploring downtown asheville and the biltmore estate was impressive.The room was a little below the standard we expected.We've been to better and worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

tupelo honey cafe was worth the trip to town, but it was just one of many eateries and shops available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 7, 2009

Not what I was expecting!

This hotel was a three star at best! The person that checked us in was not knowledgeble and he did not tell us about some rules regarding the amenities that would have been helpful to know up front. This hotel was rated as a five star, but it was a three at best in my book. We actually left this hotel and went to the Rennessance, which was much nicer. I do have to say that [...],(the guy at the front counter when we decided to leave), was extremely customer service oriented, and he did try very hard to make us happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Aug 3, 2009

Very Disappointing

I would encourage anyone considering this hotel to spend a few bucks more and stay at Renaissance Asheville or save a few bucks and stay at another 2 or 3 star hotel. The rooms are old, musty smelling. Very low ceilings. Balconies are in rough shape. The location is not that convenient to downtown Asheville. The website makes the hotel look terrific but the actual property seems like it hasn't been upgraded much since the mid 1970's. Finally, the website and the staff actively support the notion that tennis is included with your room rate. It is not. My brother and I were summarily kicked off the court in a middle of a set, told we did not "pay to play". This is despite having been told by the front desk before I booked the room that "tennis was included". When I went back to the front desk after having been kicked off the court to question this, I was told "Yes, tennis is included, for a daily fee of $9.50 per person per hour". My attempt to point out that "tennis is included" could leave a person to believe they would get to play tennis without paying extra was met with stony silence. In the room is a laminated letter prominently displayed asking guests to call the manager with any concerns that would leave them to not rank their experience as "very satisfactory". When I called to report the above, I got a voice mail. My message pleasantly but clearly reporting the above was never returned. I stayed here because the website made it look comparable to Renaissance Asheville and the price was about 35% less. Will definitely not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top