$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

4 stars
View map of 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KCF
Business
Atlanta
Jul 26, 2010

Crowne Plaza NC

Mainly there for Bele Chere. CP had water issues the night before and delayed clean up and check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Jun 3, 2010

Great price, great time!

My only issue was that when we arrived on Sunday evening, there was a half eaten food tray outside our room on the floor. We had to call twice to ask them to remove it. Other than that, the staf was friendly and helpful with all requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Asheville to visit the Biltmore Estate. This hotel was very nice and a great choice for the money. A short, easy drive that morning to the Estate. Great food at Mulligan's in the hotel. Room service food was pretty good for room service.

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hitn4par
Business
Portsmouth, VA
Apr 9, 2010

NOT TRULY A RESORT

The location of the hotel was very nice, it was in a quiet and comfortable location. My issue was, this was not a resort or at least a resort I am accustomed to, for a hotel that has been around for the last 30+ years, upgrades could have been inplace. The breakfast staff was exceptional, however, the regular staff was not as friendly or helpful. Being a frequent traveler to many locations, I have encountered many staffs that went out of the way to help you. It didn't happen here. Because of the cost I would recommend, but the tag resort needs to be removed. Finally, the golf course was truly not a golf course, but a practice facility for the non serious golfer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monie
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Apr 9, 2010

A wonderful place for a romantic getaway

This weekend get away was well worth going to. My husband and I when horseback riding (which we never done before).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hitn4par
Business
Portsmouth, VA
Apr 9, 2010

NOT TRULY A RESORT

The location of the hotel was very nice, it was in a quiet and comfortable location. My issue was, this was not a resort or at least a resort I am accustomed to, for a hotel that has been around for the last 30+ years, upgrades could have been inplace. The breakfast staff was exceptional, however, the regular staff was not as friendly or helpful. Being a frequent traveler to many locations, I have encountered many staffs that went out of the way to help you. It didn't happen here. Because of the cost I would recommend, but the tag resort needs to be removed. Finally, the golf course was truly not a golf course, but a practice facility for the non serious golfer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monie
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Apr 9, 2010

A wonderful place for a romantic getaway

This weekend get away was well worth going to. My husband and I when horseback riding (which we never done before).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Mar 29, 2010

Not as Advertised

My husband and I really don't see why this "hotel", I wouldn't call it a resort, was rated a 5 star. We have stayed in 4 stars in Asheville that outshined this hotel by far. It was just average, not what one would expect from a 5 star resort. If you are looking for just your average run of the mill hotel then stay here, if you are looking for luxery and romance, find another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bonita Springs, FL
Mar 7, 2010

Great Stay

Excellent service provided through-out our stay. Great room, good food, and nicely updated facility. Only negative was locating the building. Signage was not very obvious, especially at night. Heard other guest talk of circling around two and three times as well after missing the entrance!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irmo, SC
Oct 26, 2009

Asheville Stay

Just rested between doing all the fun things in Asheville. Also watched the Clemson-Miami football game. I was able to relax and enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Aug 31, 2009

The Crowne Plaza experience

Location - the location of the resort was convenient to every place I visited. It is very close to downtown Asheville two exits away on I 240. I also visited the NC arboretum, and Mount Mitchell. Rooms - The rooms are big. I stayed in a room with two Queen sized beds, a table, two chairs, a large armoir, and a dresser. There was a small fridge to store food in (convenient since there is no complimentary breakfast). The beds and pillows were very comfortable. There was a small balcony with a table and two chairs that faced the golf course. The door to the balcony was difficult to open and close. The lighting in the room was very dim. The bathroom was very clean with a very large elegant mirror. The shower had an adjustable head for the water and the water got hot. lots of room to put toiletries in the bathroom. Lighting in bathroom good. Full length mirror mounted on the wall in the room was nice. Adjustable thermostat worked well but the AC unit was noisy. The area outside my room (inside the hotel) was noisy. I could hear people doors opening and closing all the time. The WIFI was kinda slow and difficult to access. Service - below average. There was a man or boy just outside the front entrance who stood behind a podium. I am not sure what his job was but he said hello when he saw me then made a pithy comment when he saw me go in and out the front doors for my things instead of helping me. No one offered to help me in any way with my bags. Moreover, the man/boy who checked me in at the front desk told me to bring my bags through the front entrance even though that was the longest route to my room! The hotel bar smelled like an ashtray. The pool was not heated (as claimed on the website) and it was TINY!!!! The resort is apparently building a new outdoor pool and indoor pool but the site is about 600 yards from the main building and down a steep hill. There are signs directing people to these pools even thought they are no where near finished. Major Mistakes- My third day there an employee walked into my room without knocking first. He had a master key and just walked right in. When he saw the room was occupied he left immediately. I told the front desk about it the next day when I checked out. She asked me if I had told anyone about it after it had happened. Wasn't I doing that now? I thought. Then she said that she couldn't do anything about my bill because it was prepaid through Orbitz. She did not apologize and did not seem to think it was in any way a big deal. Well I thought who wants to stay in a resort where any stranger can walk in your room at any time. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant. Room service is very expensive. There is no complimentary breakfast of any kind. Would it be so difficult to provide coffee, fruit, and oatmeal? Thank goodness there is a supermarket nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The NC Arboretum is a short drive and it is absolutely beautiful.

Back to menu Return to top