$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

4 stars
1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
84 reviews
Great Value, Easy Access to Downtown

The staff is too friendly and helpful. I originally booked this stay without looking at a map and... See full review

  • SmallTownCulturalist
  • Nov 25, 2013
Everything We Wanted

I'm going to start off buy saying that Asheville was the trip of pleasant surprises. The hotel is... See full review

  • Phil and Kris
  • Apr 22, 2014
Ashville resort features 20 tennis courts and a golf course
Guests of the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville take advantage of on-site indoor and outdoor tennis courts, two outdoor swimming pools, a 9-hole golf course and palatial fitness facility. On-site fitness instructors and tennis pros help keep guests in top condition. Fine and casual dining is available at The Pro's Table and Mulligan's Bar and Grille. The attractions, dining and shopping of downtown Asheville are one mile from the resort. On-site parking and Wi-Fi Internet access is free.


Highlights
  • Asheville Racquet Club with 20 tennis courts, 9-hole golf course and fitness facilities
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms
Guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville feature traditional decor, with poster beds and crisp linens, as well as private balconies or patios. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all rooms, along with 32-inch flat-panel TVs, cable channels, coffee makers and refrigerators. Several suite options are available.


Dining
The Pro's Table at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and features intimate seating around a large granite fireplace. Mulligan's Bar and Grille serves light fare and features TVs, a pool table and fireplace in an Old World pub atmosphere. Room service is available.


Recreation
The Asheville Racquet Club at the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville features four indoor tennis courts, 10 outdoor clay courts and six hard outdoor courts. Two outdoor swimming pools, a nine-hole golf course and walking/jogging trail are available. A playground includes a swing set and play gym.

An 8,000-square-foot fitness center features a cardio room, weight room, child care, teen recreation room and pro shop. On-site fitness instructors and tennis pros are available (fees apply).


Transportation
  • I-26 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)  
  • I-240 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • I-40 (2 mi/3.4 km)  
  • Greyhound bus station (2 mi/4 km)
  • Asheville Regional Airport (11 mi/18.2 km)


Attractions
  • Asheville Visitor Center (1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Grove Arcade (1 mi/2.1 km)   
  • Asheville Civic Center (1 mi/2.3 km)
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (2 mi/2.8 km)
  • Biltmore House (3 mi/4.4 km)
  • Blue Ridge Parkway (5 mi/8.2 km)
  • The North Carolina Arboretum (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.5904 -82.5783
Nearby airports
Asheville Regional Airport, (AVL), 15.00, MI, SE; Greenville-Spartanburg, (GSP), 77.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, resort

Dining

Pro's Table Restaurant
Enjoy our nightly features and dine in front of one of the largest fireplaces in town. Menu features American cuisine with an Appalachian flare.
Mulligans Lounge
Mulligans Lounge offers a variety of appetizers and light fare in a warm and cozy atmosphere.
Mulligans Bar and Grille
Relax with friends or co-workers after a busy day by the stone fireplace in Mulligans Lounge. It's the perfect atmosphere for watching a football, basketball or baseball game. The menu offers an assortment of appetizers and sandwiches and offers a pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asheville Native
Mount Airy, NC
Aug 19, 2013

Short Asheville Visit

The hotel location is very good. Easy access to downtown and other parts of Asheville. The room was average. Would have been nice to have some bottled water as found in other hotels. Other guests coming in late were very noisy and there was no sound barrier with the door. You felt like they were in the room with you. If you are a tennis player I believe this would be a great place to stay since they have great courts. Bottom line: I would stay here again because of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Asheville has a lot to offer with many good restaurants and local entertainment. Enjoyed the evening at Elaine's piano bar at the Grove Park Inn.

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom the nurse
Orange Park, FL
Aug 1, 2013

Was not what we expected

The staff was great. The individuals who cleaned our room, left pillows on the floor, never replaced the room service breakfast sign. The room was never finished to the level of our first day. Leave the menu in the lounge, but CHANGE the menu for the dining room. Everything was highly spiced, and not everyone likes highly spiced foods. The menu did not give us the selections that we expected from a 4 star hotel. Where was the Seafood, the Prime Rib and selection of a variety of steaks? Where was the selection of a house tossed salad, or Ceaser Salad? Everything was spread out. For handicapped indivduals the walking was too much. The step outside the sliding doors was too high for a handicapped individual. We were not helped with our bags, and had to get them to our room by ourselves, nor was any help offered. Also, the TV service did not offer a variety of movie channels. We only had HBO. We would have thought that we could have paid for a movie that is still in the theater, but that was not offered. Outside our room door in building A, were rather large carpet stains. We are sure that many people enjoyed the site with the tennis and racket ball courts, and swimming pools, however, individuals our age usually do not take advantage of these. We really expected a lot more that what we got. We did visit friends and relatives, and did some side trips on our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Lobster Trap is excellent in downtown Asheville. A free parking lot is just across the street.

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. Nolan
Cape Coral, FL
Apr 10, 2013

Excellent location, Clean, Comfortable

We stayed here for 5 days and it was conveniently located very close to downtown, without being right in the mix of everything. There were plenty of places to dine, shop, and play nearby. The room was very roomy, comfortable, and clean. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful in referring things to do and places to eat. We were thoroughly impressed with our stay and would definitely stay there again. Well worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Mexican food you must go to El Que Pasa, if you like Thai, you must go to Thai Orchid, and if you like burgers you must go to Burger Worx. There are many other excellent restaurants that you will be referred to, but these are ones we never heard of, but were very good!

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
swan pond farmer
E TN
Apr 1, 2013

would prefer to have taken a mulligan

We got to the hotel at 6PM, went out on the town, came back late and found no signal on the TV, no internet wi fi, and even the radio didn't work. Told the front desk the next morning and was told we should have called the night before. Took it to the manager and was told the same thing. After a bit of a fuss, was offered a partial refund. Would prefer to take a mulligan and try it again someday as it's s sports complex nearly within walking distance of downtown Asheville. It's quirky and complex to get there--on and off exit ramps, city streets, interstate--would be difficult to explain without GPS. Eggs benedict took 20 minutes to arrive and was hard boiled and cool, but otherwise tasty. But, the bed was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Support independent book stores. Malaprops in Asheville is such a fine place to have a cup of coffee, find a fine book, people watch, listen to music, and simply enjoy the feel of Asheville...

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AGWeiss
Atlanta, GA
Mar 4, 2013

Good compromise

The location is convenient, easily accessible to downtown. room were clean, and the staff were unbelievably helpful, both at the front desk and the restaurant. We had 30 minutes for dinner, and the hostess got us in and out and served us a great meal. I'll come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VTWoodchuck
Burlington, Vermont
Mar 3, 2013

Excellent stay

The accommodations at the Crowne Plaza were wonderful I wish that the promotional material had made it clear that the indoor tennis courts were an extra fee, but otherwise, a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RyleeRoq
Birmingham, AL
Dec 18, 2012

Great spot!

I was in town for Christmas Jam, and I was primarily looking for a cheap hotel for my one night stay. Crowne Plaza Resort was the cheapest I found in Asheville that was in close proximity to the Civic Center. When I arrived, I was pleasantly surprised what all the hotel offered but yet was my cheapest option. Cozy lobby fireplace, bar & grill, golf course, tennis courts, etc. Great find! I will definitely come back here the next time I come to Asheville.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captain JackA
North Carolina
Dec 17, 2012

Ashville stay

Hotel was average but staff were not available early in the morning (4AM)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glen K
Chicago
Nov 12, 2012

Lovely place, but bring earplugs

Gorgeous grounds, beautiful stone fireplace in the lobby, very picturesque. The Pro Shop restaurant had some very nice selections for breakfast, especially the Crab Benedict, but the breakfast buffet was lacking, with food that was over-cooked and drying out. Our room was above an open corridor and elevator lobby and was exceptionally noisy, although it was comfortable. I travel constantly and always carry earplugs, so that was no bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bistro 1896 has a terrific, eclectic menu, nice wine list and a great vibe. Thumbs up!

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Sep 24, 2012

Disappointing 4 Star Experience

Unable to use sliding door; would not close completely; called maintenance to fix it (all they did was secure the door). Found the following in the room on different days: lizard, caterpillar and spider (all were alive). Sounded like the toilet never stopped running. The air conditioning in the fitness center (the small one on the 3rd floor) wasnt working correctly. It was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Biltmore Estate

Back to menu Return to top