$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

4 stars
View map of 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
USAF SFS Guy
Business
Knoxville
May 20, 2014

Not worth the price

The staff wasn't very nice or helpful. When I asked the location of my room, the desk clerk replied, "just walk that way you'll find it." I had to rearrange the power plugs to get the TV to turn on and if I had wanted to shower in a closet, I would've joined the army. Thoroughly disappointed in the price of this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil and Kris
Business
New York
Apr 22, 2014

Everything We Wanted

I'm going to start off buy saying that Asheville was the trip of pleasant surprises. The hotel is conveniently located to the rest of the city (approximately 10-15 min depending on where you want to go), the staff is friendly, and the room we had exceeded our expectations. Two of us were at the hotel for one night (just passing through) however for the extra $10 we opted for a King Exec over the standard King room. This turned out to be a great choice. After driving 10 hours from New Orleans we arrived at the check in desk around 9pm. We were able to get our belongings to our room, two stools at the bar, and dinner (food is served until 10pm). The bar tender was approachable and friendly. Some of the furnishings in the room were dated (hair dryer in the bathroom and the lamp styles) but otherwise the room was extremely clean. We are planning another trip to Asheville and will definitely reserve a room at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can build your own burger at the bar after the restaurant closes and they have Zombie beer!

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UGA DAWG
Business
Goldsboro, NC, USA
Jan 12, 2014

Return customer

Have stayed here prior to any rennovation and twice afterwards. This property is unique and has character and qualities not found in newer hotels. The rooms are spacious and have quality furnishings, however bathrooms are small ...similiar to older properties..rooms and bath are extremely clean. Food was delicious with a classy dining area. Did not use pool, business center or fittness center. I realize it is off-season with slow traffic but found only one staff person who seemed remotely interested in customer service and she was the food server who was very pleasant. Staff needs some training or changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CBallin
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Dec 23, 2013

Nice and Secluded

Stayed here just for a brief stay while visiting the Biltmore. The staff was very helpful with tips on where to eat and what to visit while in town. The room was large and clean. The TV volume was very low even on the loudest setting but that's a pretty minor problem. There were very few other guests there during our stay so it was almost like we had the whole hotel to our selves. Complimentary access to the nearby Racquet Club was a definite added bonus. Would definitely stay here again, especially if I could get that amazing price again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the front desk about Nine Mile. It's a local's restaurant nearby that offers some pretty unique Caribbean cuisine. It's away from downtown so not terribly crowded at peak hours.

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DirtyMiss
Business
Portland, Maine
Dec 3, 2013

Easy Breezy

Great amenities and a more then roomy room! However, as always when traveling, you rely in information. The front desk and hostess were not reading off the same page. We were told there was a holiday dinner, but then denied that dinner when we went to sit and order. So it goes....but the pillows were great! Just wish the staff had all their ducks in row because we were let down by misinformation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SmallTownCulturalist
Business
Raleigh, NC
Nov 25, 2013

Great Value, Easy Access to Downtown

The staff is too friendly and helpful. I originally booked this stay without looking at a map and being my first stay in Asheville I was disappointed. Luckily the hotel provided a shuttle service ($5/person) that ran until about midnight which if you're going out late and don't want to have to drive, it's an excellent service since they drop you off and pick you up downtown. The accommodations were average but the room was spacious and the staff very friendly and helpful. It's location is great if you're visiting the area. It's a couple minutes to downtown and a short trip to the Parkway. There are other hotels that are more centrally located to the town of Asheville. If you're budgeting and want a nice place to stay consider this as an alternative to the pricy downtown stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dupont Park. Pack a picnic basket and prepare for a short hike to view a number of waterfalls.

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morchi
Business
Charlotte NC
Nov 25, 2013

Beautifull view from my room

Everything was nice but the Bathroom was too small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Drive to the Downtown it takes no more than 5 minutes.

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rebound
Business
Lenoir, NC
Oct 19, 2013

Week-day Golf

Short, but enjoyable 9 holes. Hotel room was average but the newly hired chef was wonderful! Valet is always running the shuttle so be prepared to carry your own clubs & bags....maybe that's why they don't lock the baggage room. Truly a pet friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
123macman
Business
Charleston, SC
Oct 7, 2013

Beware

We visited the Crowne Plaza, Asheville, NC site last winter to check it out for our daughter who was planning an October 2013 wedding in Asheville. We advised her that the place was showing its age and was in need of updating. The main hotel has been updated at sometime in the not so recent past, but the villas are still mostly 1960 vintage with old furniture, outdated TVs, etc.. The bottom line is that they use the term "Resort" in a very liberal manner since most would not consider this a resort property. The rates are much too high for the facility quality. They have a nine hole par 34 course that is in worse condition than most municipal courses. Even with this advice they selected the location because couples could double up in the villas to reduce their costs and the hotel promised a nice discount if they booked and committed to a set number of night bookings. When we received the notice that we should book we went online and booked the room for us and another room for my wife's Father. Then we started getting comments from family members that they checked the hotel website and found they could book the same nights at a lower rates. Of course this would reduce the group bookings and might cost our daughter if the minimum nights were not booked so they went ahead. When I arrived I pointed this out to Guest Service Manager and she promised to reduce the rates to at least what the website rates were, even though AARP members and other discounts would have been cheaper. When I received my bill no discount was listed so I complained and they gave a $70 credit off a large bill. I am too embarrassed to ask others if they received any reduction in their bills. The hotel staff was friendly and helped when they could, but they constantly explained that they were understaffed, especially in the dining area. I waited 50 minutes for two take out sandwiches I ordered to take to Spa for my wife and the bride. The Wi-Fi is free and worth about what they charged with speed about equal to the old dial up speeds we all hated. I would caution anyone that might be considering staying here and especially any group planning to book a block of rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Resort ASHEVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asheville Native
Business
Mount Airy, NC
Aug 19, 2013

Short Asheville Visit

The hotel location is very good. Easy access to downtown and other parts of Asheville. The room was average. Would have been nice to have some bottled water as found in other hotels. Other guests coming in late were very noisy and there was no sound barrier with the door. You felt like they were in the room with you. If you are a tennis player I believe this would be a great place to stay since they have great courts. Bottom line: I would stay here again because of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Asheville has a lot to offer with many good restaurants and local entertainment. Enjoyed the evening at Elaine's piano bar at the Grove Park Inn.

Back to menu Return to top