$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

2 stars
250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
30 reviews
Comfortable and affordable

Best place to stay for great value. Loved the pool and hot tub! See full review

  • Austibe37
  • Jan 31, 2014
Great and Unexpected

I didn't expect such a nice hotel in this location and with this price. EVerything is perfect -... See full review

  • Violetxujing
  • Oct 5, 2013
Comfortable stay just two blocks from the West Yellowstone entrance
The Gray Wolf Inn and Suites is conveniently located just two blocks from Yellowstone National Park's west entrance at the Madison Junction. Stop at the Grizzly & Wolf Discovery Center to learn more about two of the park's most charismatic creatures. Hike or bike along miles of trails. Enjoy unforgettable skiing or take a guided fly-fishing tour in pristine waters. Guests enjoy free hot breakfast, in-room microwaves and refrigerators. Unwind from a busy day of sightseeing in the pool, hot tub and sauna.
Highlights
  • Excellent location in West Yellowstone and just minutes from the park's West entrance
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Indoor pool, hot tub and sauna
  • In-room microwaves and refrigerators 
Rooms
All guest rooms at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites are non-smoking. Wake and brew a fresh cup of coffee with the in-room, coffee-maker. All rooms also include microwaves and refrigerators, perfect for budget-friendly meals and late-night snacks. Jump online with free Wi-Fi Internet access. Local calls are also free. Accessible rooms are available.
Features
The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites is conveniently located near the west entrance of Yellowstone National Park. Get briefed on area wildlife with a visit the neighboring Grizzly & Wolf Discovery Center or head to Yellowstone's IMAX Theatre to watch a stunning film on the history of the park. Guests enjoy access to the area's many outdoor recreational opportunities. Hike, bike or cross country ski along miles of trails or fish in pristine waters. Parking at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites is free.
Transportation
  • West Yellowstone Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Gallatin Airport (92 mi/148 km)
Attractions
  • Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Excelsior Geyser (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
  • Grand Prismatic Spring (15.7 mi/25.3 km) 
  • Grand Geyser (18.4 mi/29.6 km) 
  • Castle Geyser (18.6 mi/29.9 km)
  • Old Faithful (19 mi/30.6 km)
  • Mammoth Hot Springs (28.9 mi/46.6 km)
  • Lower Falls (30 mi/48.2 km)
Business
  • PC with Internet access 
  • Free local calls 
  • Free wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

44.6565 -111.0997
Area served
West Yellowstone
Nearby airports
Gallatin Field Airport in Bozeman, Montana is 100 miles, Idaho Falls Regional Airport in Idaho Falls, Idaho is 108 miles and Jackson Hole Airport in Jackson, Wyoming is 118 miles.
Area description
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites is located in West Yellowstone, Montana. This lovely property is just 3 blocks from the West Gate Entrance to Yellowstone National Park, and a short 30 minute drive from the world renowned Old Faithful Geyser. The Grizzly & Wolf Discovery Center as well as the IMAX Theatre are across the street and just a short walking distance from the hotel. Located in West Yellowstone, Montana and 3 blocks from the West Gate entrance to Yellowstone National Park

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gray Wolf Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Gray Wolf Inn & Suites Rooms

DELUXE - QUEEN
The Deluxe Room with two queen Beds features Free Continental Breakfast, Free Wireless Internet access, Mini-Refrigerator and Microwave
DELUXE - KING
The Deluxe Room with one king Bed features Free Continental Breakfast, Free Wireless internet access, TV, Mini Regrigerator and Microwave

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Branch Restaurant & Bar
The Branch Restaurant and Bar features Open Range Cuising, where traditional classics are infused with local flavor and enhanced with micro breas and hand crafted cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florida cruiser
South Florida
Oct 15, 2012

No hassle accommodation

The site was easy to find and quiet , clean , modern. I would recomened it to anyone, It also offered an inside heated pool , and uderground parking, also the room was roomy and large, Granite counters double sinks ,over all nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A little place called G___hers great food and reassembly priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scooter Man
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 11, 2012

Poor Housekeeping

Office staff was very good and responded to dirty room condition with moving to another room and a discount. The housekeeping is pathetic. No bed skirts on platforms, dirty comforters, and poor shower heads. Hotel is not worth the cost. It has a great location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Channah14
Business
Virginia
Jul 24, 2014

Dirty room

Room smelled like cigarette smoke and the curtains were covered in dust.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TSoldier
Business
Chicago
Jul 9, 2012

Gray Wolf has faded

No where to sit for breakfast. Very little to eat when you came early. Forget going in the last half hour, because everything is gone. Hotel seemed past its prime with maintenance designed to just hold it together. For example, odd screw sticking and inch and a half out of the bathtub facet to hold on the handle on. TV could not get all the channels, even though the staff tried repeatedly to make it do so. I will say that the people that worked there tried to do what they could to help the guests and make things work for them..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aemmanuel
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 26, 2009

Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Hotel all in all is OK. Very pricey for the service and quality of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montana
Oct 5, 2009

Not Bad

Rooms were clean and breakfast was good. Front desk staff was courteous. Pool was dirty. Hot tub was cold and Sauna was out-of-order. Stairwells looked like they had not been vacuumed in ages and wall paper was pealing off the walls in the stairwell. Apparently, they assume everyone takes the elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas
Sep 1, 2009

less than expected

bed clothing was worn and marked up. Wireless was not workinf in room. overall hotel was not well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yellowstoner
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 10, 2011

Grey Wolf Inn

We stayed two nights at the Grey Wolf. The staff was very pleasant and the room was large, clean and comfortable. The 'free' breakfasts were the usual motel stuff. Difficult to find anything healthy to eat. Did enjoy the heated garage though. It snowed and it was nice to have the car in a a warm protected place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried three restaurants in West Yellowstone and thought McDonald's would have been a better choice than any of them. They were all over priced and food was pretty bad. Best advice, bring your own!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelin
Business
Massachusetts
Aug 5, 2013

Good for families

The rooms were reasonably spacious for a family of 4 with teens. There were 2 sinks--one in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom, which helps when getting ready. The breakfast was fine (we want skim milk!); it did include pancakes and fresh fruit. We didn't use the pool. The location was right outside Yellowstone, and across the street from the Grizzly & Wolf Discovery Center (which we enjoyed, since we saw many bison, but no grizzly bears or wolves in the park). It was a bit pricey for the room, but in-line with everything else at peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
National Park Fan
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 5, 2010

Nothing Special One Way or the Other

My wife & I stayed two nights prior to Independence Day. When we checked in we were first given a room that smelled of stale cigarette smoke [...]. The staff relocated us to another room, but the key cards we were given wouldn't open the door. It took two more attempts before the cards were programed correctly. The room and hotel in general was perfectly acceptable, the room was clean and quiet. The only other problem we encountered was poor wireless coverage. The signal was so weak at our end of the building that we had to go to the lobby to get on-line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wild West Pizza and Saloon was a pleasant surprise. In addition to a spacious bar area with two billiard tables, a large separate family room served excellent pizza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gray Wolf Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa, CA
Jul 1, 2009

We lucked out!

We arrived around 6pm to check into the hotel. The clerk at the desk was new, and kind of slow, and in the time it took him to find our reservation, another clerk had sold our room out from under us. We were upgraded to a suite, for our 2 nights, and when we asked for another night, they gave us the suite for the same price as the original booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Off the beaten track from the traffic going into Yellowstone Nat'l Park, but near enough to the town for all the shopping, dining, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top