$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Sun Suites of Gulfport

2 stars
9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
143 reviews
Getaway

I had a excellent stay nice and clean and friendly staff See full review

  • Michelle 37
  • Mar 17, 2014
9/8-9/10

I enjoyed it all!! Great customer service, cleanliness, & it was an overall good stay!!! See full review

  • Ms.Richmond
  • Sep 11, 2012
Gulf Coast hotel with apartment-style living

Sun Suites, a leading economy lodging chain, features clean, convenient rooms specially designed for the extended-stay guest. Sun Suites Gulfport features 128 guestrooms, complete with apartment-size kitchens and comfortable living areas. Guests enjoy easy access to the interstate, airport, and nearby restaurants and shops.

Highlights
  • Rooms with kitchens and living areas
  • Convenient access to airport and interstate
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

All 128 rooms, equipped with either a queen bed or two double beds, feature a full kitchen with refrigerator and stovetop, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, and utensils. Other amenities include free high-speed Internet access (wireless and dataport), cable television with free HBO, an alarm clock/radio, and personal voicemail.

Features

Coin-operated laundry adds to the extended-stay appeal of in-room kitchens. Pets up to 20 pounds are allowed (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (66.5 mi/109 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Beauvoir House (7.5 mi/12.3 km)
  • Gulfport Premium Outlets (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Gulfport Sportsplex (4 mi/6.6 km)
  • Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art (17.6 mi/28.9 km)

Sun Suites of Gulfport Rooms

Two Double Beds Suite
2 Doubles-Kitchen w Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee
Queen Suite
1 Queen-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee
Run of House
Run of House
King Suite
1 King-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Gulfport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.4168 -89.0949
Nearby airports
(GPT), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Gulfport

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 143
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dandan3
pearl ms
Feb 17, 2014

Total Nightmare

Awful dirty gave our room away couldn't get in the other

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Trashy at best

Motel staff allowed low lifes to hang around rooms. Felt very unsafe. Needed handicap room which I reserved but they did not have one when I checked in. I could not even shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 14, 2008

Unpleasent All Around

The Sun Suites Hotel was not at all what I expected. I have stayed in many hotels in the area but by far, I wish I would have avoided staying at this hotel. The room was not really clean. First of all the bathroom or should I say bathtub had black film in the bottom of the tub. The upkeep of the hotel was horrible (garbage was piled up in garbage bins that smelled rather rank), it appeared as if the garbage had not been taken out in several weeks. The other guest in the hotel would basically go from door to door banging and asking for assistance or money. I felt rather unsafe staying at this hotel. I witnessed a security guard breaking up a fight outside. The hotel seemed ghetto to say the least. The air conditioning in the room barely if any cooled the room. But the most humerous if I would say is at 3:00AM in the morning I awoke to a loud booming/crashing sound--The garbage was finally being collected..... The sheets on the bed were stained but I am not one to readily complain, I booked this hotel as a last minute deal, but I have learned my lesson, avoid this hotel at all cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The only thing positive about this hotel was the short driving distance to the Outlet Mall.

Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
w2wage
Frederick, Maryland
Feb 5, 2013

Big Disappointment

We arrived at the hotel about 10 p.m. and were assigned a room. When we got to the room, the door was ajar. We opened the door and looked inside. The room had not been cleaned, the beds had not been made and dirty dishes were in the kitchenette sink. We went back to the front desk to arrange for another room, but were told that no other rooms were available. We were given clean sheets and towels and we returned to the room and made our own beds. When we returned to the room the next evening, there were still dirty dishes in the sink. Although the beds had been made, the room was not as clean as we would have expected it would be. I would not recommend this hotel unless you are really desperate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Trashy at best

Motel staff allowed low lifes to hang around rooms. Felt very unsafe. Needed handicap room which I reserved but they did not have one when I checked in. I could not even shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
pine Grove La.
Oct 12, 2009

very hard beds

ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New orleans, LA
Apr 20, 2010

The bad and really bad

Requested non-smoking room, when arrived room smelled of smoke spoke with desk. Attendant came in and sprayed with air freshener did not help so left for a period of time. Also bathroom and kitchen area not very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Along Beach Boulevard

Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tricia super aunt
Stockton, Kansas
Jul 5, 2012

Why are you staying there?

Sun Suites is not where the average traveler wants to stay. I went through 3 rooms before landing in the 4th in a room that was just subpar. While driving through a mandatory police stop, the policeman asked me for my car rental papers. When I told him I was staying at Sun Suites he asked me, "Why are you staying there?" I didn't have an answer to give him... No, don't stay at Sun Suites ever!!! Pay the extra and stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 14, 2008

Unpleasent All Around

The Sun Suites Hotel was not at all what I expected. I have stayed in many hotels in the area but by far, I wish I would have avoided staying at this hotel. The room was not really clean. First of all the bathroom or should I say bathtub had black film in the bottom of the tub. The upkeep of the hotel was horrible (garbage was piled up in garbage bins that smelled rather rank), it appeared as if the garbage had not been taken out in several weeks. The other guest in the hotel would basically go from door to door banging and asking for assistance or money. I felt rather unsafe staying at this hotel. I witnessed a security guard breaking up a fight outside. The hotel seemed ghetto to say the least. The air conditioning in the room barely if any cooled the room. But the most humerous if I would say is at 3:00AM in the morning I awoke to a loud booming/crashing sound--The garbage was finally being collected..... The sheets on the bed were stained but I am not one to readily complain, I booked this hotel as a last minute deal, but I have learned my lesson, avoid this hotel at all cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The only thing positive about this hotel was the short driving distance to the Outlet Mall.

Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New orleans, LA
Apr 20, 2010

The bad and really bad

Requested non-smoking room, when arrived room smelled of smoke spoke with desk. Attendant came in and sprayed with air freshener did not help so left for a period of time. Also bathroom and kitchen area not very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Along Beach Boulevard

Back to menu Return to top