$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 10, 2015

Sun Suites of Gulfport

2 stars
9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
92 reviews
Nice hotel for price

Got there about 5pm on a Saturday, check in took less than 5 minutes. Non Smoking rooming, had... See full review

  • Ambrose D.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Getaway

I had a excellent stay nice and clean and friendly staff See full review

  • Michelle 37
  • Mar 17, 2014
Gulf Coast hotel with apartment-style living

Sun Suites, a leading economy lodging chain, features clean, convenient rooms specially designed for the extended-stay guest. Sun Suites Gulfport features 128 guestrooms, complete with apartment-size kitchens and comfortable living areas. Guests enjoy easy access to the interstate, airport, and nearby restaurants and shops.

Highlights
  • Rooms with kitchens and living areas
  • Convenient access to airport and interstate
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

All 128 rooms, equipped with either a queen bed or two double beds, feature a full kitchen with refrigerator and stovetop, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, and utensils. Other amenities include free high-speed Internet access (wireless and dataport), cable television with free HBO, an alarm clock/radio, and personal voicemail.

Features

Coin-operated laundry adds to the extended-stay appeal of in-room kitchens. Pets up to 20 pounds are allowed (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (66.5 mi/109 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Beauvoir House (7.5 mi/12.3 km)
  • Gulfport Premium Outlets (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Gulfport Sportsplex (4 mi/6.6 km)
  • Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art (17.6 mi/28.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Gulfport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Sun Suites of Gulfport Rooms

1 King Bed Studio Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Queen Beds Studio No Smoking
2 Queen beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/ Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Queen Beds Studio ADA Accessib
2 Queen Beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Queen Beds Studio Smoking
2 Queen Beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
Run of House
Run of House
1 Full Bed Studio No Smoking
Full bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio No Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Full Bed Studio Smoking
Full bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Gulfport

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east liverpool,ohio
Jul 2, 2009

just ok

my room was outside off the employee lounge, so there was always employees hanging around ,even at two in the morning,making plenty of noise.Guest would hang around my room all hours of the day and night to smoke and just gather because my room was under shelter from the sun and rain..No one freshened up the room the entire time of my stay had to go find garbage bags and fresh towels, the staff wouldn,t give them to me, had to go to the office to get what I needed, even though it stated that the staff would clean and freshen up the room once during the week while i was there.Had a wonderful vacation, didnt let the hoel ruin my time spent in gulfport....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to the beaches,restraunts and other attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cotton Top
Business
Mobile, AL
Aug 4, 2009

Restless In Gulfport

Thank goodness we only stayed ONE night! We thought we'd never get to sleep because the beds sqeeked loudly every time movement was made trying to get comfortable, the refrigerator POPPED every few minutes during the night and there were waterbugs in the bathroom. Hopefully next time we stay in Gulfport we can make a better choice in motels. Also, the accomadations requested were not the same as the accomadations we got! We asked for one queen bed and got two double beds. Since we are use to a queen at home, we slept in two separate beds trying for more comfort(but that didn't happen).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were here to play at the casinos so the distance to the casinos was very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shrumper
Business
tupelo
Oct 23, 2011

get a vacum that works

glad it was just for a brief night. room needed cleaning bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jcpr
Business
gulfport, ms
Aug 13, 2012

insulation

The room lacked insulation severly. You could hear every foot step from the room overhead, people walking and talking right outside and in the rooms next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tbellknight
Business
boyce,louisiana
Nov 5, 2012

night layover

workingman hotel- complete kitchen bed not very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patricia on the Road
Business
Alaska
Mar 7, 2014

Pretty nice room, with bugs!

The room was actually pretty nice. Smelled ok, appeared clean, bed was comfortable. No insulation between floors, so you can hear every footstep. But I can live with that too. But I woke in the morning covered in bug bites! Not just one or 2, dozens! The front desk thought perhaps the previous guest had a dog with fleas. But these were definitely not fleas. They got in my clothes and continued to bite me that day on my road trip! I don't know what kind of bug it was. By the time I felt a bite, it would be gone. Never did see the little boogers. Just the large welts that appeared with itching. The next night, I had to spend hours de-bugging my suitcase and clothes. I've stayed at over 3 dozen budget motels on this road trip. This is the first one with bugs. And THAT is unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
annoyed and unimpressed
Business
Gulfport, mississippi
Mar 10, 2014

needs improvement

When we arrived we were told that we could have a queen or double, not the king that we had booked. We chose the queen, but I believe we were given a double. The lights did not work on the three lamps. When I informed office I was told maintenance would fix it next day.....after we checked out. The bed and pillows were like rocks and the room had a stale smell to it. While it was cheap, it was not worth what I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jacksonville fl
Nov 26, 2010

handy for airport travel

very basic,could use a little updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

handy for airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MS
Jul 23, 2010

It was so...basic.

It is very "low budget" (moreso than I expected), the bed creaked but the linens were at least clean. Towels were very thin poor quality, one very thin bar of soap on vanity, none in shower. Bathroom floor need a mop! Had burners to cook with, but no cooking utensils. Coffee maker but no coffee. (But did get some from office.) VERY loud group of men outside door were talking at 4 in the morning!! But...it was convenient to the airport and restaurants. Thank God.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 6, 2009

For the hotel warrior on a budget

Hotel staff was very polite and helpful hotel room was neat but a bit on the dirty side ei mildewy shower curtain dust carpet a roach or two thick smoke smell in a non smoking room and it seemed to be on the noisy side in the day time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There's ton of great restaurants in the area the most I've ever seen in the span of of a 3 mile radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top