$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Sun Suites of Gulfport

2 stars
9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
143 reviews
Getaway

I had a excellent stay nice and clean and friendly staff See full review

  • Michelle 37
  • Mar 17, 2014
9/8-9/10

I enjoyed it all!! Great customer service, cleanliness, & it was an overall good stay!!! See full review

  • Ms.Richmond
  • Sep 11, 2012
Gulf Coast hotel with apartment-style living

Sun Suites, a leading economy lodging chain, features clean, convenient rooms specially designed for the extended-stay guest. Sun Suites Gulfport features 128 guestrooms, complete with apartment-size kitchens and comfortable living areas. Guests enjoy easy access to the interstate, airport, and nearby restaurants and shops.

Highlights
  • Rooms with kitchens and living areas
  • Convenient access to airport and interstate
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

All 128 rooms, equipped with either a queen bed or two double beds, feature a full kitchen with refrigerator and stovetop, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, and utensils. Other amenities include free high-speed Internet access (wireless and dataport), cable television with free HBO, an alarm clock/radio, and personal voicemail.

Features

Coin-operated laundry adds to the extended-stay appeal of in-room kitchens. Pets up to 20 pounds are allowed (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (66.5 mi/109 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Beauvoir House (7.5 mi/12.3 km)
  • Gulfport Premium Outlets (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Gulfport Sportsplex (4 mi/6.6 km)
  • Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art (17.6 mi/28.9 km)

Hotel Map

30.4168 -89.0949
Nearby airports
(GPT), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Gulfport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Sun Suites of Gulfport Rooms

Two Double Beds Suite
2 Doubles-Kitchen w Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee
Queen Suite
1 Queen-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee
Run of House
Run of House
King Suite
1 King-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Gulfport

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Prissy Missy
Who Cares ?
Apr 29, 2010

Blegh

I was just visiting my husband at the base nearby. When I got to my room I found hairs all over the sink, soap & toothpaste scum. The room smelled like smoke in the nonsmoking room & also of aged mold. The shower didn't have good pressure. When you wanted cold water all you got was hot & vice versa. While I was checking in, they didn't even have my reservation ready, I had to wait 15minutes for them to redo it for me. It was and okay stay I guess but the maids do a horrible job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 14, 2008

Unpleasent All Around

The Sun Suites Hotel was not at all what I expected. I have stayed in many hotels in the area but by far, I wish I would have avoided staying at this hotel. The room was not really clean. First of all the bathroom or should I say bathtub had black film in the bottom of the tub. The upkeep of the hotel was horrible (garbage was piled up in garbage bins that smelled rather rank), it appeared as if the garbage had not been taken out in several weeks. The other guest in the hotel would basically go from door to door banging and asking for assistance or money. I felt rather unsafe staying at this hotel. I witnessed a security guard breaking up a fight outside. The hotel seemed ghetto to say the least. The air conditioning in the room barely if any cooled the room. But the most humerous if I would say is at 3:00AM in the morning I awoke to a loud booming/crashing sound--The garbage was finally being collected..... The sheets on the bed were stained but I am not one to readily complain, I booked this hotel as a last minute deal, but I have learned my lesson, avoid this hotel at all cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The only thing positive about this hotel was the short driving distance to the Outlet Mall.

Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
w2wage
Frederick, Maryland
Feb 5, 2013

Big Disappointment

We arrived at the hotel about 10 p.m. and were assigned a room. When we got to the room, the door was ajar. We opened the door and looked inside. The room had not been cleaned, the beds had not been made and dirty dishes were in the kitchenette sink. We went back to the front desk to arrange for another room, but were told that no other rooms were available. We were given clean sheets and towels and we returned to the room and made our own beds. When we returned to the room the next evening, there were still dirty dishes in the sink. Although the beds had been made, the room was not as clean as we would have expected it would be. I would not recommend this hotel unless you are really desperate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Blue Runner
Gulfport, MS, USA
Sep 12, 2011

If cheap is what you want, cheap is what you get.

Pretty nasty, guys. Even though I asked for a non-smoking room it smelled like smoke and urine. The freezer didn't get cold enough to freeze anything and was louder than the AC. The hotel ice machine was broken. I was afraid to walk without shoes and worried that I might bring home creatures from the bed and bedding. Getting home felt like the real vacation and I had to wash my clean clothes to get the smell out. On the plus side, the internet access was good and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Trashy at best

Motel staff allowed low lifes to hang around rooms. Felt very unsafe. Needed handicap room which I reserved but they did not have one when I checked in. I could not even shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
pine Grove La.
Oct 12, 2009

very hard beds

ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mlvn
Birmingham,al
Jun 1, 2010

low star oldish environment

The staff was very accommodating. However, the smoke smell mentioned in other reviews is totally true. Our non-smoking room reeked. Smoke? or cleaning products? Will not stay there with the smell the way it was. Room was clean but showed signs of age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 9, 2008

Worse Stay Ever

Very unsafe area!! I was scared for my safety. Police were in and out of the parking lot. I checked in at 7. Left the hotel on my own. I would NEVER stay in this place again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Close to I-10

Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HaDizzle
New Orleans
Apr 8, 2013

Royal Rumble

I always enjoy staying at Sun Suites' extended stays, but this was the worse experience ever. My check-in was great, the front desk agent was attentive and polite. Once I was in my room around 9pm massive noise above my head began, I allowed it to continue until 10:30 and called the operator, who said she'd call the room. They began to get louder as if they were being spiteful, called again no answer, called a third time and got the worse attitude from the person who was polite at one point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Prime Outlets, awesome shopping experience. As well as across the highway at Hudson's Treasure Hunt.

Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
anakin12
gulfport,ms
Mar 26, 2014

poor stay

this was a poor visit, room wasnt that clean, had hair on the floor and on toilet seat, remote for tv never worked and staff wasnt friendly about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top